MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Jordan Montgomery
ERA W-L K
3.74 5-4 71
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-6 / 225 NFBC ADP: 548.03
Position: SPBorn: 12/27/1992 Birthplace: Sumter, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Yankees (2014)


Latest News
June 22 8:30 AM PT9:30 AM MT10:30 AM CT11:30 AM ET11:30 ET15:30 GMT23:30 8:30 AM MST10:30 AM EST11:00 AM VEN19:30 UAE10:30 AM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 5-4, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 8-4 on Wednesday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Montgomery has been brutal on lefties, holding them to a .162 average.
June 16 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-7 on Thursday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 9 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 4-4, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-2 on Friday. Montgomery struck out a career-high eight, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie turned in a second straight impressive outing against an AL East rival, as he held the Blue Jays to three hits over six scoreless innings last Saturday. Montgomery continues to give the Yankees solid work, having compiled a 2-1 record with a 1.50 ERA and 24 strikeouts over his last four starts.
June 3 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 3-4, allowing three hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-0 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander has a 1.06 ERA in his last three starts while posting a 1-1 record.
May 29 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery fell to 2-4, allowing three runs - one earned - on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 3-2 on Monday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander is 0-3 with a 4.50 ERA in his last four starts.
May 23 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed one run on two hits in 6.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out six, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander bounced back after dropping his previous two starts behind a 7.36 ERA.
May 19 9:06 AM PT10:06 AM MT11:06 AM CT12:06 PM ET12:06 ET16:06 GMT0:06 9:06 AM MST11:06 AM EST11:36 AM VEN20:06 UAE11:06 AM CT-Jordan Montgomery fell to 2-3, allowing five runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-1 on Thursday. Montgomery struck out four, ending the game with a 4.81 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery fell to 2-2, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 5-1 on Friday. Montgomery struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Montgomery isn't putting up spectacular numbers, but he has lasted at least six innings in four of his last five starts. The rookie gets a seemingly easier spot when he faces the last-place Royals in Kansas City on Thursday.
May 6 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery improved to 2-1, allowing three runs - two earned - on three hits and four walks in 6.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago Cubs 11-6 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out three.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander may not have a ton of fantasy upside, but he's cementing a place in the Yankees' rotation by posting a respectable 3.81 ERA through his first five major league starts.
Apr. 30 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-Jordan Montgomery allowed three runs on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4 on Sunday. Montgomery struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Montgomery pitched well despite taking the loss Sunday in Pittsburgh, where he was touched for two runs on seven hits and struck out five in six innings.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander may not have a ton of fantasy upside, but he's cementing a place in the Yankees' rotation by posting a respectable 3.78 ERA through his first three major league starts. Next up is a first-ever meeting with the AL East-leading Orioles on Saturday at Yankee Stadium.
Apr. 17 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Montgomery took a shutout into the seventh inning for his first major league win and the Yankees romped to their eighth consecutive victory by beating the Chicago White Sox 7-4 on Monday night.
Analysis: Montgomery allowed a three-run home run to Yolmer Sanchez in the seventh among seven hits in six-plus innings. Possessing better fastball command than in his major league debut Wednesday against the Tampa Bay Rays, Montgomery threw first-pitch strikes to 19 hitters but appeared to tire in the seventh. The left-hander threw 88 pitches and helped the Yankees win eight straight for the first time since June 8-18, 2012.
Apr. 10 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Montgomery has earned the fifth starter's job in the New York Yankees' rotation and is scheduled to make his major league debut on Wednesday night against the Tampa Bay Rays.
Analysis: A 24-year-old left-hander selected in the fourth round of the 2014 amateur draft, Montgomery had a 3.20 ERA in two starts and four relief appearances during spring training, striking out 17 and walking three in 19 2/3 innings. Montgomery beat out more established pitchers in a group that included Luis Cessa, Chad Green and Bryan Mitchell.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 NYY 5 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 74.2 67 35 31 9 26 0 71 1.25 3.74
Career 5 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 74.2 67 35 31 9 26 0 71 1.25 3.74

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 NYY 13 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 0 0 .000 .400 .000
Career 13 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 0 0 .000 .400 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 510 95 89 91.9 42.15
Curveball 281 85 76 80 23.22
Slider 165 89 82 85.7 13.64
Changeup 254 87 81 84.2 20.99

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.