MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
John Means
ERA W-L K
3.62 6-9 134
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230
Position: SPBorn: 4/24/1993 Birthplace: Olathe, Kansas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 11th Round by Orioles (2014)


Latest News
Oct. 2 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST4:00 PM CST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-John Means fell to 6-9, allowing seven runs - six earned - on seven hits in 3.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 10-1 on Saturday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 26 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)2:22 PM CT-John Means fell to 6-8, allowing three runs on seven hits in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Texas Rangers 7-4 on Sunday. Means struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 20 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-John Means improved to 6-7, allowing four hits and one walk over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 2-0 on Monday. Means struck out six, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-John Means allowed two runs on four hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Wednesday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST7:54 PM CST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-John Means fell to 5-7, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-0 on Thursday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-John Means allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Friday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 3.47 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-John Means allowed two runs on five hits in 6.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Saturday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST2:07 PM CST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)2:07 PM CT-John Means fell to 5-6, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Sunday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 3.50 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-John Means fell to 5-5, allowing seven runs - four earned - on eight hits in 4.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-0 on Tuesday. Means struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-John Means fell to 5-4, allowing six runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-4 on Thursday. Means struck out three, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-John Means fell to 5-4, allowing six runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-4 on Thursday. Means struck out three, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-John Means fell to 5-4, allowing six runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-4 on Thursday. Means struck out three, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-John Means allowed two runs - one earned - on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-6 on Friday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
July 31 6:20 PM PT7:20 PM MT8:20 PM CT9:20 PM ET21:20 ET1:20 GMT9:20 6:20 PM MST8:20 PM EST7:20 PM CST8:50 PM VEN5:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-John Means improved to 5-3, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-2 on Saturday. Means struck out six, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
July 25 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)2:28 PM CT-John Means allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Sunday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
July 20 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-John Means fell to 4-3, allowing five runs on seven hits in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-3 on Tuesday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 2.72 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
June 6 9:13 AM PT10:13 AM MT11:13 AM CT12:13 PM ET12:13 ET16:13 GMT0:13 9:13 AM MST11:13 AM EST10:13 AM CST11:43 AM VEN20:13 UAE10:13 AM CT-Means (left shoulder strain) has been activated from the injured list and will start Tuesday night against the Rays.
Analysis: The left-hander, 4-2 with a 2.28 ERA in 12 starts this season, last pitched on June 5 against Cleveland. He made three minor league rehab outings, including a three-inning stint with Triple-A Norfolk last Thursday.
June 5 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST5:39 PM CST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-John Means fell to 4-2, allowing two runs on three hits in 0.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 10-4 on Saturday. Means struck out one, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
May 29 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST5:54 PM CST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-John Means fell to 4-1, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Saturday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.05 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
May 25 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-John Means allowed two runs on five hits in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Minnesota Twins 8-3 on Monday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 1.79 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 19 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-John Means allowed four runs on six hits and one walk in 6.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-7 on Wednesday. Means struck out six, ending the game with a 1.70 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 11 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-John Means allowed six hits without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Mets 3-2 on Tuesday. Means struck out three, ending the game with a 1.21 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
May 5 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST4:12 PM CST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-John Means improved to 4-0, allowing zero hits in a complete-game shutout, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Seattle Mariners 6-0 on Wednesday. Means struck out 12, ending the game with a 1.37 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
May 1 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST10:26 PM CST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE10:26 PM CT-John Means improved to 3-0, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Friday. Means struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.70 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST2:06 PM CST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)2:06 PM CT-John Means improved to 2-0, allowing one run on two hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-1 on Sunday. Means struck out six, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST3:47 PM CST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-John Means allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Texas Rangers 1-0 on Sunday. Means struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.52 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST4:36 PM CST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-John Means allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Tuesday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-John Means allowed one run on seven hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 4-3 on Wednesday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 0.77 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST3:28 PM CST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-John Means improved to 1-0, allowing one hit over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 3-0 on Friday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.14 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.1 6 5 5 1 0 0 4 1.80 13.50
2019 Bal 12 11 0 - 0 31 27 0 155.0 138 68 62 23 38 0 121 1.14 3.60
2020 Bal 2 4 0 - 0 10 10 0 43.2 36 22 22 12 7 0 42 0.98 4.53
2021 Bal 6 9 0 - 0 26 26 1 146.2 125 64 59 30 26 0 134 1.03 3.62
Career 20 24 0 - 0 68 63 1 348.2 305 159 148 66 71 0 301 1.08 3.82

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Bal 31 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2021 Bal 26 5 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .400
Career 68 6 0 2 1 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .333 .429 .500


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1117 95 89 92.8 47.98
Curveball 382 83 73 78.1 16.41
Slider 196 89 81 86.3 8.42
Changeup 633 88 80 83.4 27.19

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.