MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#51
Alex Rios
AVG HR RBI
.280 4 54
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 6-5 / 210 NFBC ADP: 33.81
Position: RFBorn: 2/18/1981 Birthplace: Coffee, Alabama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Blue Jays (1999)


Latest News
Oct. 15 10:41 AM PT11:41 AM MT12:41 PM CT1:41 PM ET13:41 ET17:41 GMT1:41 10:41 AM MST12:41 PM EST1:11 PM VEN21:41 UAE12:41 PM CT-Rios will become a free agent after the World Series.
Analysis: After Wednesday's decision, Texas could still work out another deal for Rios to return next season. Rios hit .280 with four home runs and 54 RBIs in 131 games this year. He sprained his left ankle in August and didn't play after Sept. 4 because of an infected thumb.
Aug. 10 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Rios was out of the lineup Tuesday with a mildly sprained right ankle.
Analysis: The slugger should be back Wednesday for his fantasy owners.
July 30 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Rios left the Texas Rangers game Wednesday after getting hit by a pitch on the left quad.
Analysis: The Rangers called the move precautionary after Rios left against the New York Yankees. Rios, considered a potential trade possibility before Thursday's non-waiver trading deadline, stayed in the game to run after getting hit by a pitch thrown by Hiroki Kuroda in the third inning.
July 30 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Rios was 3 for 5 with a double in Tuesday's 12-11 loss to the Yankees.
Analysis: Rios continues to enjoy a solid season, batting a career-best .305, though he's hit just four homers in 103 games.
July 29 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)4:09 PM CT-Rios had two hits Monday.
Analysis: Rios is batting .304 in his last 21 games.
July 19 11:11 AM PT12:11 PM MT1:11 PM CT2:11 PM ET14:11 ET18:11 GMT2:11 11:11 AM MST1:11 PM EST1:41 PM VEN22:11 UAE1:11 PM CT-Rios left Saturday against the Blue Jays in the first inning after spraining his right ankle on a swing.
Analysis: Rios was left hopping in pain on his left foot after fouling off the first pitch he saw from Blue Jays rookie right-hander Marcus Stroman on Saturday. After a brief conversation with manager Ron Washington and the trainer, Rios limped back to the dugout and headed for the clubhouse. X-rays were negative. Daniel Robertson replaced Rios, who is batting .302 with four homers and 42 RBIs.
July 14 11:45 AM PT12:45 PM MT1:45 PM CT2:45 PM ET14:45 ET18:45 GMT2:45 11:45 AM MST1:45 PM EST2:15 PM VEN22:45 UAE1:45 PM CT-Rios was a bright spot Sunday against the Angels.
Analysis: Rios drove in three runs for the Rangers. He is hitting .351 in his last nine games for the AL's worst team.
July 12 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Rios was 2 for 4 on Friday.
Analysis: Rios did not strike out for the first time in six games so he is seeing the ball better.
July 8 3:01 PM PT4:01 PM MT5:01 PM CT6:01 PM ET18:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)5:01 PM CT-Rios had two hits Monday.
Analysis: Rios has seven hits in his last 19 at-bats.
July 6 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Rios went 3 for 4 with a run scored and an RBI in Saturday's 5-3 win at the Mets.
Analysis: Rios is batting .381 with three RBIs in five games this month.
June 29 10:54 AM PT11:54 AM MT12:54 PM CT1:54 PM ET13:54 ET17:54 GMT1:54 10:54 AM MST12:54 PM EST1:24 PM VEN21:54 UAE12:54 PM CT-Rios got Saturday off.
Analysis: Rios is hitless in his last 15 at-bats and had played all 126 games since being acquired last Aug. 9 from the Chicago White Sox
June 9 11:24 AM PT12:24 PM MT1:24 PM CT2:24 PM ET14:24 ET18:24 GMT2:24 11:24 AM MST1:24 PM EST1:54 PM VEN22:24 UAE1:24 PM CT-Rios continued his recent tear, going 2 for 3 with a triple and an RBI in Sunday's 3-2 win at Texas.
Analysis: Rios has gone 10 for 19 over his last five games, raising his average from .316 to .332 in the process.
June 8 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Rios stayed hot by going 3 for 4 in Saturday's 8-3 loss to Cleveland.
Analysis: Rios has gone 8 for 16 over his last four games.
May 25 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Rios went 3 for 5 in a 12-2 win at Detroit on Saturday.
Analysis: Rios is 9 for 18 over his last four games.
May 5 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Rios capped a stellar series against the Los Angeles Angels with a three-run triple in a 14-3 rout Sunday.
Analysis: Rios, batting .328, went 5 for 13 with a home run and five RBIs in the three-game set.
May 4 11:57 AM PT12:57 PM MT1:57 PM CT2:57 PM ET14:57 ET18:57 GMT2:57 11:57 AM MST1:57 PM EST2:27 PM VEN22:57 UAE1:57 PM CT-Rios had two hits Saturday.
Analysis: Rios is hitting .390 over his last 15 games.
May 3 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Rios finally homered again and drove in two runs Friday.
Analysis: Rios went deep for the first time since opening day with a two-run dinger.
Apr. 28 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Rios went 2 for 4 with two runs scored in Sunday's loss at Seattle.
Analysis: Rios is batting .330 on the season and .405 over his last 10 games. He's gone deep just once so far, though.
Apr. 20 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE2:33 PM CT-Rios was 3 for 4 against the White Sox for the second straight game Saturday.
Analysis: Rios is hitting .333 on the season and .423 during a six-game hitting streak.
Apr. 19 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Rios was 3 for 5 with two RBIs Friday against the White Sox to extend his hitting streak to five games.
Analysis: Rios, who hit his fifth double of the season, is batting .309.
Apr. 1 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Rios was 3 for 5 with a three-run homer in Texas' 14-10 loss to Philadelphia on Monday.
Analysis: Rios should benefit with the likes of Prince Fielder and Adrian Beltre batting in front of him.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2004 Tor 111 426 55 122 24 7 1 28 31 84 15 3 .286 .338 .383
2005 Tor 146 481 71 126 23 6 10 59 28 101 14 9 .262 .306 .397
2006 Tor 128 450 68 136 33 6 17 82 35 89 15 6 .302 .349 .516
2007 Tor 161 643 114 191 43 7 24 85 55 103 17 4 .297 .354 .498
2008 Tor 155 635 91 185 47 8 15 79 44 112 32 8 .291 .337 .461
2009 Tor 108 436 52 115 25 2 14 62 31 78 19 3 .264 .317 .427
2009 CWS 41 146 11 29 6 0 3 9 6 29 5 2 .199 .229 .301
2009 Tot 149 582 63 144 31 2 17 71 37 107 24 5 .247 .296 .395
2010 CWS 147 567 89 161 29 3 21 88 38 93 34 14 .284 .334 .457
2011 CWS 145 537 64 122 22 2 13 44 27 68 11 6 .227 .265 .348
2012 CWS 157 605 93 184 37 8 25 91 26 92 23 6 .304 .334 .516
2013 CWS 109 430 57 119 22 2 12 55 32 78 26 6 .277 .328 .421
2013 Tex 47 186 26 52 11 2 6 26 9 30 16 1 .280 .315 .457
2013 Tot 156 616 83 171 33 4 18 81 41 108 42 7 .278 .324 .432
2014 Tex 131 492 54 138 30 8 4 54 23 93 17 9 .280 .311 .398
Career 1586 6034 845 1680 352 61 165 762 385 1050 244 77 .278 .323 .439

Postseason


w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.