MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#17
Matt Holliday
AVG HR RBI
.269 9 30
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-4 / 240 NFBC ADP: 262.60
Position: LFBorn: 1/15/1980 Birthplace: Stillwater, Oklahoma
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 7th Round by Rockies (1998)


Latest News
May 27 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Holliday went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the New York Yankees topped the Oakland Athletics 3-2. The homer was his ninth of the season. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
Analysis: Oakland rookie Jharel Cotton held the Yankees hitless until Holliday launched a two-run homer with two outs in the sixth inning.
May 26 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-1. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
May 24 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 1 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the New York Yankees topped the Kansas City Royals 3-0. He ended the game with a .275 batting average.
May 23 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 2 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-2. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
Analysis: Holliday is 4 for 7 with a double and a walk in the first two games of this four-game series.
May 22 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 2 for 3 with a double Monday as the New York Yankees topped the Kansas City Royals 4-2. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
Analysis: Holliday didn't hit well at all during New York's just-completed road trip, but he's batting .345 (10 for 29) with two homers and nine RBIs during a seven-game hitting streak at home. The veteran slugger also owns very good numbers off Tuesday's starter Danny Duffy, having gone 3 for 8 with a homer lifetime off the left-hander.
May 21 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 0 for 4 Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
Analysis: Holliday didn't have a good road trip, finishing the six-game trek 4 for 24 with 12 strikeouts. He's hit safely in six straight at home, though, going 8 for 28 (.308) with two homers, nine RBIs and five runs scored during that stretch.
May 20 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 0 for 3 Saturday as the New York Yankees fell to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-5. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
May 19 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and two RBIs Friday as the New York Yankees fell to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Analysis: Six of those eight homers have come in Holliday's last 18 games, a stretch during which he's driven in 17 runs while batting .304.
May 19 8:58 AM PT9:58 AM MT10:58 AM CT11:58 AM ET11:58 ET15:58 GMT23:58 8:58 AM MST10:58 AM EST11:28 AM VEN19:58 UAE10:58 AM CT-Matt Holliday went 0 for 3 Thursday as the New York Yankees fell to the Kansas City Royals 5-1. He ended the game with a .265 batting average.
May 18 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-Matt Holliday went 2 for 5 Wednesday as the New York Yankees topped the Kansas City Royals 11-7. He ended the game with a .272 batting average.
May 17 9:36 AM PT10:36 AM MT11:36 AM CT12:36 PM ET12:36 ET16:36 GMT0:36 9:36 AM MST11:36 AM EST12:06 PM VEN20:36 UAE11:36 AM CT-Matt Holliday went 0 for 5 with an RBI Tuesday as the New York Yankees beat the Kansas City Royals 7-1. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
May 15 7:03 AM PT8:03 AM MT9:03 AM CT10:03 AM ET10:03 ET14:03 GMT22:03 7:03 AM MST9:03 AM EST9:33 AM VEN18:03 UAE9:03 AM CT-In the nightcap, Holliday went 1 for 5 with a home run and three RBIs Sunday as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 10-7. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
Analysis: Holliday had five RBIs for the doubleheader.
May 14 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 1 for 4 with two RBIs Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Houston Astros 11-6. Holliday scored twice. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
May 12 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 1 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 5-1. Holliday scored once. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
May 11 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 1 for 4 Thursday as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 3-2. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 8 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the New York Yankees topped the Cincinnati Reds 10-4. The homer was his sixth of the season. Holliday scored three times. He ended the game with a .287 batting average.
Analysis: The 37-year-old looked washed up at times during the season's first month, but he's locked in now with a .395 average (15 for 38), four homers and 11 RBIs over his last 10 games. Holliday has started only two of the Yankees' last four contests, though, with the team currently on a five-game road trip in NL parks.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Matt Holliday went 2 for 4 Sunday as the New York Yankees topped the Chicago Cubs 5-4. Holliday added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
May 5 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 0 for 1 Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Chicago Cubs 3-2. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
May 3 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 1 for 5 with a home run and three RBIs Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Toronto Blue Jays 8-6. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
Analysis: Holliday's fifth home run of the season was also the 300th of his career. He's 11 for 29 (.379) with three homers and 10 RBIs in his last seven games.
May 3 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 3 for 4 with two doubles and an RBI Tuesday as the New York Yankees topped the Toronto Blue Jays 11-5. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
Analysis: Holliday now has four multihit games in his last six contests, batting .417 with two homers and seven RBIs.
May 1 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 0 for 4 Monday as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-1. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Apr. 30 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the New York Yankees fell to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
Analysis: Holliday is 9 for 20 with three home runs, seven RBIs and nine walks in six games against the Orioles this season.
Apr. 29 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 0 for 4 Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 12-4. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Analysis: Holliday, who hit a three-run shot in the 10th inning Friday as the Yankees completed a stunning rally from an eight-run deficit, went 5 for 8 with five RBIs over his previous two games.
Apr. 29 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Matt Holliday went 3 for 5 with a double, a home run and three RBIs Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 14-11 in 10 innings. The homer was his third of the season. Holliday scored three times. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
Analysis: Holliday hit a three-run shot in the 10th inning as the Yankees completed a stunning rally from an eight-run deficit. He's 5 for 8 with five RBIs over his last two games after going 2 for 27 with 12 strikeouts in his previous 10 contests.
Apr. 28 6:54 AM PT7:54 AM MT8:54 AM CT9:54 AM ET9:54 ET13:54 GMT21:54 6:54 AM MST8:54 AM EST9:24 AM VEN17:54 UAE8:54 AM CT-Matt Holliday went 2 for 3 with two RBIs Thursday as the New York Yankees topped the Boston Red Sox 3-0. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
Apr. 15 9:47 AM PT10:47 AM MT11:47 AM CT12:47 PM ET12:47 ET16:47 GMT0:47 9:47 AM MST11:47 AM EST12:17 PM VEN20:47 UAE11:47 AM CT-Holliday was scratched from Saturday's lineup due to a stiff lower back.
Analysis: The 37-year-old is day to day and was replaced by Chris Carter in the DH spot for Saturday's game against St. Louis. Holliday is batting .242 with one home run through the season's first 10 games, but the former Cardinal is 0 for 11 over his last three and struck out three times in four at-bats on Friday.
Apr. 9 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-Holliday walked in all five of his plate appearances Sunday at Baltimore.
Analysis: Holliday became just the sixth player since 2000 to walk five times in a game.
Apr. 8 5:25 PM PT6:25 PM MT7:25 PM CT8:25 PM ET20:25 ET0:25 GMT8:25 5:25 PM MST7:25 PM EST7:55 PM VEN4:25 UAE (+1)7:25 PM CT-Holliday got his 2,000th career hit, an opposite-field single to right in the first inning on Saturday. He's 4 for 7 with a home run and three RBIs in his last two games.
Analysis: Knowing he was on the cusp of the milestone, Holliday said before the game: ''It's something to be pretty proud of. If you had told me as a kid that I would get 2,000 major league hits, I'd have been pretty thrilled with that idea.''

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2004 Col 121 400 65 116 31 3 14 57 31 86 3 3 .290 .349 .488
2005 Col 125 479 68 147 24 7 19 87 36 79 14 3 .307 .361 .505
2006 Col 155 602 119 196 45 5 34 114 47 110 10 5 .326 .387 .586
2007 Col 158 636 120 216 50 6 36 137 63 126 11 4 .340 .405 .607
2008 Col 139 539 107 173 38 2 25 88 74 104 28 2 .321 .409 .538
2009 Oak 93 346 52 99 23 1 11 54 46 58 12 3 .286 .378 .454
2009 StL 63 235 42 83 16 2 13 55 26 43 2 4 .353 .419 .604
2009 Tot 156 581 94 182 39 3 24 109 72 101 14 7 .313 .394 .515
2010 StL 158 596 95 186 45 1 28 103 69 93 9 5 .312 .390 .532
2011 StL 124 446 83 132 36 0 22 75 60 93 2 1 .296 .388 .525
2012 StL 157 599 95 177 36 2 27 102 75 132 4 4 .295 .379 .497
2013 StL 141 520 103 156 31 1 22 94 69 86 6 1 .300 .389 .490
2014 StL 156 574 83 156 37 0 20 90 74 100 4 1 .272 .370 .441
2015 StL 73 229 24 64 16 1 4 35 39 49 2 1 .279 .394 .410
2016 StL 110 382 48 94 20 1 20 62 35 71 0 0 .246 .322 .461
2017 NYY 43 145 18 39 7 0 9 30 21 53 1 0 .269 .365 .503
Career 1816 6728 1122 2034 455 32 304 1183 765 1283 108 37 .302 .382 .515

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Col Total 11 45 6 13 0 0 5 10 1 12 0 0 .289 .319 .622
    LDS 3 13 2 3 0 0 2 3 0 3 0 0 .231 .231 .692
    LCS 4 15 3 5 0 0 2 4 1 6 0 0 .333 .412 .733
    WS 4 17 1 5 0 0 1 3 0 3 0 0 .294 .294 .471
2009 StL Total 3 12 1 2 0 0 1 1 0 2 0 0 .167 .231 .417
    LDS 3 12 1 2 0 0 1 1 0 2 0 0 .167 .231 .417
2011 StL Total 16 51 13 15 3 0 1 5 10 14 0 1 .294 .419 .412
    LDS 4 9 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .222 .300 .222
    LCS 6 23 6 10 2 0 1 5 3 7 0 1 .435 .500 .652
    WS 6 19 5 3 1 0 0 0 7 4 0 0 .158 .385 .211
2012 StL Total 12 49 5 11 1 0 1 7 2 10 1 0 .224 .296 .306
    WC 1 3 2 2 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 .667 .750 1.667
    LDS 5 21 2 4 1 0 0 4 2 6 0 0 .190 .292 .238
    LCS 6 25 1 5 0 0 0 2 0 4 1 0 .200 .231 .200
2013 StL Total 17 69 10 17 4 1 4 10 2 11 0 0 .246 .268 .507
    LDS 5 20 4 6 1 0 1 2 1 2 0 0 .300 .333 .500
    LCS 6 25 2 5 2 0 1 3 0 4 0 0 .200 .200 .400
    WS 6 24 4 6 1 1 2 5 1 5 0 0 .250 .280 .625
2014 StL Total 9 37 5 9 1 0 1 3 1 6 0 0 .243 .263 .351
    LDS 4 15 3 4 0 0 1 3 1 5 0 0 .267 .313 .467
    LCS 5 22 2 5 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .227 .227 .273
2015 StL Total 4 16 2 2 0 0 0 1 1 3 0 0 .125 .176 .125
    LDS 4 16 2 2 0 0 0 1 1 3 0 0 .125 .176 .125
Career 72 279 42 69 9 1 13 37 17 58 1 1 .247 .305 .427


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.