MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#56
J.P. Howell
ERA S K
8.31 0 5
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-0 / 180
Position: RPBorn: 4/25/1983 Birthplace: Modesto, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Supplemental Round by Royals (2004)


Latest News
June 5 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Howell has been placed on the 10-day disabled list due to a sore left shoulder.
Analysis: It's the second DL stint this season for the lefty reliever, who was sidelined a little over two weeks in April with a similar issue. With an 8.31 ERA and a 2.19 WHIP over 13 appearances, Howell's absence carries no fantasy significance.
June 3 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-J.P. Howell did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 7-0 on Saturday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.31 ERA and 2.19 WHIP on the season.
June 2 9:28 AM PT10:28 AM MT11:28 AM CT12:28 PM ET12:28 ET16:28 GMT0:28 9:28 AM MST11:28 AM EST11:58 AM VEN20:28 UAE11:28 AM CT-J.P. Howell allowed three runs on three hits in 1.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 12-2 on Thursday. Howell struck out three, ending the game with an 8.64 ERA and 2.28 WHIP on the season.
May 30 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE11:38 AM CT-J.P. Howell allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cincinnati Reds 17-2 on Monday. Howell struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 2.40 WHIP on the season.
May 28 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-J.P. Howell allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 3-1 on Sunday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.94 ERA and 2.65 WHIP on the season.
May 15 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-J.P. Howell allowed two runs on two hits in 0.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Atlanta Braves 10-6 on Monday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
May 9 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-J.P. Howell allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-0 on Tuesday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.67 WHIP on the season.
May 6 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-J.P. Howell did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-1 on Saturday. Howell struck out one, ending the game with a 10.13 ERA and 2.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-J.P. Howell did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-4 on Friday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 20.25 ERA and 3.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-J.P. Howell allowed one run on one hit without recording an out as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 8-4 on Thursday in the opener of a doubleheader. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 81.00 ERA and 15.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 9:31 AM PT10:31 AM MT11:31 AM CT12:31 PM ET12:31 ET16:31 GMT0:31 9:31 AM MST11:31 AM EST12:01 PM VEN20:31 UAE11:31 AM CT-Howell (sore left shoulder) was taken off the 10-day disabled list Tuesday.
Analysis: Howell was placed on the DL two days after failing to retire any of the four batters he faced while taking the loss at Tampa Bay on April 7 in his second appearance of the season.
Feb. 9 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET19:10 GMT3:10 12:10 PM MST2:10 PM EST2:40 PM VEN23:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Howell and the Toronto Blue Jays have finalized a $3 million, one-year contract.
Analysis: The 33-year-old pitched for the Blue Jays from 2006-12, then spent the last four seasons with the Los Angeles Dodgers. He was 1-1 last year with a 4.09 ERA, his highest since 2011. He struck out 44 and walked 15 in 50 2/3 innings. Howell started his big league career with Kansas City in 2005 and has a 35-29 record with a 3.77 ERA in 33 starts and 498 relief appearances.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 KC 3 5 0 - 0 15 15 0 72.2 73 55 50 9 39 0 54 1.54 6.19
2006 TB 1 3 0 - 0 8 8 0 42.1 52 25 24 4 14 0 33 1.56 5.10
2007 TB 1 6 0 - 0 10 10 0 51.0 69 45 43 8 21 0 49 1.76 7.59
2008 TB 6 1 3 - 5 64 0 0 89.1 62 29 22 6 39 1 92 1.13 2.22
2009 TB 7 5 17 - 25 69 0 0 66.2 47 22 21 7 33 3 79 1.20 2.84
2011 TB 2 3 1 - 2 46 0 0 30.2 30 24 21 5 18 1 26 1.57 6.16
2012 TB 1 0 0 - 0 55 0 0 50.1 39 17 17 7 22 2 42 1.21 3.04
2013 LAD 4 1 0 - 0 67 0 0 62.0 42 14 14 2 23 3 54 1.05 2.03
2014 LAD 3 3 0 - 0 68 0 0 49.0 31 14 13 2 25 1 48 1.14 2.39
2015 LAD 6 1 1 - 4 65 0 0 44.0 47 9 7 3 14 1 39 1.39 1.43
2016 LAD 1 1 0 - 0 64 0 0 50.2 56 23 23 4 15 2 44 1.40 4.09
2017 Tor 1 1 0 - 1 13 0 0 8.2 12 8 8 1 7 0 5 2.19 8.31
Career 36 30 22 - 37 544 33 0 617.1 560 285 263 58 270 14 565 1.34 3.83

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2005 KC 15 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2007 TB 10 6 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2008 TB 64 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 LAD 67 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 LAD 64 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 544 13 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .154 .154 .154

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 TB Total 0 3 0 - 0 12 0 0 12.0 9 4 4 0 4 1 17 2.84
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 4.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 6 0.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 6 0 0 5.1 5 2 2 0 3 1 6 3.38
    WS 0 2 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.1 2 2 2 0 1 0 5 7.71
2011 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 -
2013 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 6.0 5 1 1 1 3 0 6 1.35
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 3.2 4 1 1 1 2 0 3 2.45
2014 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 1 3 0 0 1.1 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 13.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 1 3 0 0 1.1 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 13.50
2015 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
Career 0 3 0 - 1 24 0 0 20.1 21 7 7 2 7 1 23 3.10

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 TB Total 12 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    WS 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
Career 24 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 103 87 82 84.9 63.19
Curveball 50 81 77 78.7 30.67
Changeup 10 81 78 79.4 6.13

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.