MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#36
Edinson Volquez
ERA W-L K
3.21 10-5 95
Team: Kansas CityHt / Wt: 6-0 / 220 NFBC ADP: 371.11
Position: SPBorn: 7/3/1983 Birthplace: Barahona Province, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Rangers (2001)


Latest News
July 13 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Volquez was named the Royals' starter for Friday's road meeting with the Chicago White Sox in the opener of a doubleheader.
Analysis: Volquez has been solid in his first season with Kansas City, going 8-4 with a 3.31 ERA in 18 starts. He's won all four of his decisions over his last seven outings, with the Royals winning six.
June 27 6:01 PM PT7:01 PM MT8:01 PM CT9:01 PM ET21:01 ET1:01 GMT9:01 6:01 PM MST8:01 PM EST8:31 PM VEN5:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Volquez won for the sixth time in eight starts Friday, limiting Oakland to one run and three hits in seven innings of a 5-2 victory.
Analysis: Volquez owns a 2.96 ERA while winning his last four starts.
June 21 10:38 AM PT11:38 AM MT12:38 PM CT1:38 PM ET13:38 ET17:38 GMT1:38 10:38 AM MST12:38 PM EST1:08 PM VEN21:38 UAE12:38 PM CT-Volquez won his third straight start on Saturday.
Analysis: Volquez still wasn't good as he allowed four runs, eight hits and two walks in 5 1/3 innings. "I made mistakes when I was ahead in the count," Volquez said.
June 11 8:56 AM PT9:56 AM MT10:56 AM CT11:56 AM ET11:56 ET15:56 GMT23:56 8:56 AM MST10:56 AM EST11:26 AM VEN19:56 UAE10:56 AM CT-Volquez pitched the Royals to victory Wednesday by reaching the seven-inning mark for only the second time in his last nine starts. He scattered seven singles, walking two.
Analysis: The AL champs have won six of Volquez's last seven starts.
June 6 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Volquez fell to 4-4 on Friday.
Analysis: Volquez gave up four runs and six hits, while striking out six and walking three in 5 1-3 innings.
May 30 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Volquez didn't get a decision Friday.
Analysis: Volquez was making it look easy before Chicago's Jorge Soler chased him with a two-run homer with two out in the sixth. He was charged with three runs in 5 2-3 innings.
May 18 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Volquez dealt seven scoreless innings Sunday against the New York Yankees.
Analysis: Volquez had five strikeouts and allowed three hits in his third win of the year.
Apr. 25 10:03 AM PT11:03 AM MT12:03 PM CT1:03 PM ET13:03 ET17:03 GMT1:03 10:03 AM MST12:03 PM EST12:33 PM VEN21:03 UAE12:03 PM CT-Volquez has dropped his appeal of a five-game suspension for his involvement in a brawl with the Chicago White Sox last week.
Analysis: Volquez was to start serving his suspension against Cleveland on Monday night, and will miss at least one start.
Apr. 21 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Volquez gave up one run and five hits over seven innings in Monday's 7-1 win over Minnesota.
Analysis: Volquez has gone 2-1 with a 1.99 ERA over his first three starts.
Apr. 10 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Volquez allowed one run and four hits over eight innings to beat the White Sox 4-1 on Thursday.
Analysis: Volquez was dominant in his season debut, striking out five and walking one. He'll try to build on that gem at Minnesota next week.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 Tex 0 4 0 - 0 6 3 0 12.2 25 22 20 3 10 0 11 2.76 14.21
2006 Tex 1 6 0 - 0 8 8 0 33.1 52 28 27 7 17 0 15 2.07 7.29
2007 Tex 2 1 0 - 0 6 6 0 34.0 34 18 17 4 15 0 29 1.44 4.50
2008 Cin 17 6 0 - 0 33 32 0 196.0 167 82 70 14 93 5 206 1.33 3.21
2009 Cin 4 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 49.2 34 25 24 6 32 0 47 1.33 4.35
2010 Cin 4 3 0 - 0 12 12 0 62.2 59 30 30 6 35 0 67 1.50 4.31
2011 Cin 5 7 0 - 0 20 20 0 108.2 106 72 69 19 65 3 104 1.57 5.71
2012 SD 11 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 182.2 160 88 84 14 105 6 174 1.45 4.14
2013 SD 9 10 0 - 0 27 27 0 142.1 168 100 95 14 69 2 116 1.67 6.01
2013 LAD 0 2 0 - 0 6 5 0 28.0 25 14 13 5 8 0 26 1.18 4.18
2013 Tot 9 12 0 - 0 33 32 0 170.1 193 114 108 19 77 2 142 1.59 5.71
2014 Pit 13 7 0 - 0 32 31 1 192.2 166 75 65 17 71 6 140 1.23 3.04
2015 KC 10 5 0 - 0 21 21 1 126.0 114 52 45 9 47 0 95 1.28 3.21
Career 76 64 0 - 0 212 206 3 1168.2 1110 606 559 118 567 22 1030 1.43 4.30

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Cin 33 61 3 6 0 0 0 1 0 31 0 0 .098 .098 .098
2009 Cin 9 16 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .063 .063 .063
2010 Cin 12 17 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 7 0 0 .118 .167 .118
2011 Cin 20 26 2 3 0 0 0 0 1 13 0 0 .115 .148 .115
2012 SD 32 56 2 4 1 0 0 1 1 29 0 0 .071 .088 .089
2013 SD 27 34 3 4 1 0 1 4 1 20 0 0 .118 .143 .235
2013 LAD 6 8 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2013 Tot 33 42 4 5 1 0 1 4 1 23 0 0 .119 .140 .214
2014 Pit 32 53 3 2 0 0 0 2 3 27 0 0 .038 .089 .038
2015 KC 21 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 212 275 15 23 2 0 1 8 7 141 0 0 .084 .106 .102

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 Cin Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.2 4 4 4 0 2 0 0 21.60
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.2 4 4 4 0 2 0 0 21.60
2014 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 1 3 0 3 9.00
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 1 3 0 3 9.00
Career 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 9 9 9 1 5 0 3 12.15

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1072 97 90 93.6 52.47
Curveball 485 85 75 80.1 23.74
Changeup 486 88 81 84.9 23.79

w10 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.