MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#22
Nick Markakis
AVG HR RBI
.276 14 50
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-1 / 190 NFBC ADP: 263.14
Position: RFBorn: 11/17/1983 Birthplace: Glen Cove, New York
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Orioles (2003)


Latest News
Dec. 3 5:25 PM PT6:25 PM MT7:25 PM CT8:25 PM ET20:25 ET1:25 GMT9:25 6:25 PM MST8:25 PM EST8:55 PM VEN5:25 UAE (+1)7:25 PM CT-Markakis and the Atlanta Braves have agreed to a four-year contract, pending a physical. The team announced the move Wednesday night.
Analysis: The 31-year-old Markakis spent the first nine years of his career with the Baltimore Orioles. This past season, he batted .276 with 14 homers and 50 RBIs. Markakis fills a void left by the recent trade of right fielder Jason Heyward to St. Louis. Also, it will surely step up talks on a potential deal for slugger Justin Upton, who is entering the final year of his contract, or perhaps Evan Gattis, who could move from catcher to left field if he stays in Atlanta.
Sep. 24 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Markakis had four hits Tuesday.
Analysis: Markakis should be licking his chops at facing Shane Greene on Wednesday.
Sep. 22 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Baltimore right fielder Nick Markakis rejoined the Orioles' starting lineup Monday, six days after his right shoulder was bruised when hit by a pitch from Aaron Loup during the AL East-clinching win over Toronto.
Analysis: Markakis had missed four consecutive games. Orioles manager Buck Showalter had prepared an alternate lineup with Markakis at designated hitter, just in case he wasn't able to play the field.
Aug. 19 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Markakis went 3 for 5 with a two-run homer in Monday's win over the Chicago White Sox.
Analysis: Markakis has a 10-game hitting streak, but his .415 average in that time extends back an additional six games to the beginning of August.
Aug. 11 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Markakis went 4 for 5 with an RBI in Baltimore's 8-3 loss to St. Louis on Sunday.
Analysis: Markakis is off to a good start in August, hitting .436 with two homers and three RBIs in the first 10 games.
Aug. 6 12:03 PM PT1:03 PM MT2:03 PM CT3:03 PM ET15:03 ET19:03 GMT3:03 12:03 PM MST2:03 PM EST2:33 PM VEN23:03 UAE2:03 PM CT-Markakis was 2 for 5 and scored a run in a 9-3 win at Toronto on Tuesday.
Analysis: Markakis is 10 for 21 over his last five games.
Aug. 5 10:11 AM PT11:11 AM MT12:11 PM CT1:11 PM ET13:11 ET17:11 GMT1:11 10:11 AM MST12:11 PM EST12:41 PM VEN21:11 UAE12:11 PM CT-Markakis homered for the second straight game and was 2 for 5 in a 7-3 win at Washington on Monday.
Analysis: Markakis is batting .323 over his last seven games with three homers.
Aug. 4 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Markakis was 3 for 4 with his 22nd double and ninth homer of the year in a 1-0 win over Seattle on Sunday.
Analysis: Markakis was 6 for 11 as Baltimore took two of three from Seattle.
July 30 12:17 PM PT1:17 PM MT2:17 PM CT3:17 PM ET15:17 ET19:17 GMT3:17 12:17 PM MST2:17 PM EST2:47 PM VEN23:17 UAE2:17 PM CT-Markakis had a pair of hits, including a three-run homer, in a 7-6 win in 12 innings against the Los Angeles Angels on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Markakis, batting .285, was 3 for 24 (.125) with two RBIs in his prior six games.
July 8 12:40 PM PT1:40 PM MT2:40 PM CT3:40 PM ET15:40 ET19:40 GMT3:40 12:40 PM MST2:40 PM EST3:10 PM VEN23:40 UAE2:40 PM CT-Markakis had three hits Monday.
Analysis: Markakis has 10 hits in his last 33 at-bats so he is starting to heat up.
June 26 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Markakis had four hits Wednesday night.
Analysis: Markakis had four hits for the second time this season.
May 24 5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 PM CT-Markakis went 4 for 5 in Friday's win over Cleveland.
Analysis: He's hit safely in five straight games to boost his average to .306.
May 16 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Markakis went 3 for 4 in Thursday's win in Kansas City.
Analysis: The Baltimore right fielder broke out of a 0-for-13 stretch from the previous series against Detroit.
May 11 10:33 AM PT11:33 AM MT12:33 PM CT1:33 PM ET13:33 ET17:33 GMT1:33 10:33 AM MST12:33 PM EST1:03 PM VEN21:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Markakis went 2 for 5 on Saturday.
Analysis: Markakis, who has a 17-game hitting streak, has a .787 OPS and is hitting .317.
May 10 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Markakis went 3 for 4 and extended his hitting streak to 16 games in a 4-3 win over Houston on Friday night.
Analysis: Markakis, now batting .314, is hitting .354 (23 for 65) with three doubles, two homers and eight RBIs during his streak. He has a .363 average in his last 20 games.
May 8 11:05 AM PT12:05 PM MT1:05 PM CT2:05 PM ET14:05 ET18:05 GMT2:05 11:05 AM MST1:05 PM EST1:35 PM VEN22:05 UAE1:05 PM CT-Markakis extended his hitting streak to 14 games with a first-inning single in a 4-3 win over Tampa Bay on Wednesday.
Analysis: Markakis, batting .305, is 19 for 56 (.339) during his streak with two doubles, two homers and seven RBIs.
May 7 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Markakis both drove in a run after a power outage delay in the eighth inning and extended his hit streak to 13 games in a 5-3 win over Tampa Bay on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Markakis, batting .304 this season, is hitting .340 (18 for 53) with seven RBIs during his streak.
May 5 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Markakis singled in Sunday's 5-2 loss to Minnesota to extend his hit streak to 12 games.
Analysis: Markakis, batting .306, is 17 for 49 (.347) during his streak.
May 4 12:14 PM PT1:14 PM MT2:14 PM CT3:14 PM ET15:14 ET19:14 GMT3:14 12:14 PM MST2:14 PM EST2:44 PM VEN23:14 UAE2:14 PM CT-Markakis had two hits Saturday.
Analysis: Markakis is hitting .364 during an 11-game run.
May 2 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Markakis hit his first and second homers of the season during Thursday's doubleheader against Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Markakis has hit safely in each of the last nine games, going 13 for 36 with eight runs and six RBIs.
Apr. 27 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Markakis had two hits and two RBIs on Saturday.
Analysis: Markakis is hitting .361 in his last nine.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Bal 147 491 72 143 25 2 16 62 43 72 2 0 .291 .351 .448
2007 Bal 161 637 97 191 43 3 23 112 61 112 18 6 .300 .362 .485
2008 Bal 157 595 106 182 48 1 20 87 99 113 10 7 .306 .406 .491
2009 Bal 161 642 94 188 45 2 18 101 56 98 6 2 .293 .347 .453
2010 Bal 160 629 79 187 45 3 12 60 73 93 7 2 .297 .370 .436
2011 Bal 160 641 72 182 31 1 15 73 62 75 12 3 .284 .351 .406
2012 Bal 104 420 59 125 28 3 13 54 42 51 1 1 .298 .363 .471
2013 Bal 160 634 89 172 24 0 10 59 55 76 1 2 .271 .329 .356
2014 Bal 155 642 81 177 27 1 14 50 62 84 4 2 .276 .342 .386
Career 1365 5331 749 1547 316 16 141 658 553 774 61 25 .290 .358 .435

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Bal Total 7 31 4 8 1 0 1 3 1 3 1 0 .258 .281 .387
    LDS 3 12 3 3 0 0 1 3 1 2 0 0 .250 .308 .500
    LCS 4 19 1 5 1 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 .263 .263 .316
Career 7 31 4 8 1 0 1 3 1 3 1 0 .258 .281 .387


w11 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.