MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Ben Zobrist
AVG HR RBI
.272 18 76
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 201.73
Position: 2BBorn: 5/26/1981 Birthplace: Eureka, Illinois
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 6th Round by Astros (2004)


Latest News
Nov. 3 10:29 PM PT11:29 PM MT12:29 AM CT1:29 AM ET1:29 ET5:29 GMT13:29 10:29 PM MST12:29 AM EST12:59 AM VEN9:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-Zobrist was named World Series MVP after delivering the tiebreaking hit in the 10th inning Wednesday in the Cubs' 8-7 victory that clinched the World Series.
Analysis: Zobrist only hit .250 in the postseason, but went 10 for 28 (.357) with two RBIs in the World Series. Zobrist can boast back-to-back World Series championships after winning it with Kansas City last season.
Oct. 27 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Zobrist had two more hits for the Cubs in Wednesday's 5-1 Game 2 win.
Analysis: Zobrist, who also walked, is now 5 for 8 with a triple and double in the World Series.
Oct. 25 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Zobrist was one of the lone bright spots with three hits in Chicago's 6-0 loss in Game 1 of the World Series on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Zobrist boosted his average from .167 to .225 in the postseason with this performance. Game 2 is Wednesday in Cleveland.
Sep. 30 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Zobrist notched his seventh career multihomer game and second of the season Friday, finishing 3 for 4 with three RBIs and three runs at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Zobrist had homered only once in his previous 31 games. However, he's 11 for 22 with eight RBIs and a .600 OBP in his last seven games.
Sep. 26 11:04 AM PT12:04 PM MT1:04 PM CT2:04 PM ET14:04 ET18:04 GMT2:04 11:04 AM MST1:04 PM EST1:34 PM VEN22:04 UAE1:04 PM CT-Zobrist had three hits and scored twice in the Cubs' 3-1 win over the Cardinals on Sunday.
Analysis: Zobrist has had 16 plate appearances in his last four games and he's reached 11 times.
Sep. 23 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Zobrist singled, walked, drove in two runs and stole a base Friday.
Analysis: Zobrist has three RBIs and three hits over the last two games after batting .130 with one RBI in his previous 21.
Sep. 22 10:57 AM PT11:57 AM MT12:57 PM CT1:57 PM ET13:57 ET17:57 GMT1:57 10:57 AM MST12:57 PM EST1:27 PM VEN21:57 UAE12:57 PM CT-Zobrist had three hits and scored twice in Wednesday's 9-2 win over the Reds.
Analysis: Zobrist, who was 2 for 21 in his previous six games, is batting .315 in 15 matchups this season with the Cardinals, whom the Cubs face on Friday.
Sep. 13 10:16 AM PT11:16 AM MT12:16 PM CT1:16 PM ET13:16 ET17:16 GMT1:16 10:16 AM MST12:16 PM EST12:46 PM VEN21:16 UAE12:16 PM CT-Zobrist took a big step forward Monday when he finished with his 15th home run and a double in a 4-1 win over the Cards.
Analysis: Zobrist had been just 3 for 36 over his previous 12 games.
Sep. 7 7:23 AM PT8:23 AM MT9:23 AM CT10:23 AM ET10:23 ET14:23 GMT22:23 7:23 AM MST9:23 AM EST9:53 AM VEN18:23 UAE9:23 AM CT-Zobrist got back on track with two hits - including a double - in Tuesday's 12-5 loss to the Brewers.
Analysis: Zobrist had gone 1 for 22 over his previous eight games.
Aug. 24 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Zobrist had two hits with two RBIs on Thursday.
Analysis: Zobrist is 10 for 22 with six RBIs in five games.
Aug. 24 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Zobrist had his second three-hit effort in four games on Tuesday night when he went 3 for 5 with a double in a 5-3 win over the Padres.
Analysis: Zobrist has gone 8 for 18 with four RBIs over his last four games.
Aug. 21 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Zobrist went 3 for 5 with a home run and a double in Saturday's 9-2 win over the Rockies.
Analysis: After a rough stretch in July, Zobrist is batting .322 over his last 25 games. However, this was his first home run since July 9.
Aug. 17 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Zobrist went 2 for 6 with a double, two walks and two runs scored in Tuesday's doubleheader sweep of the Brewers.
Analysis: Zobrist is batting .382 with seven walks in 10 games against Milwaukee this season.
Aug. 6 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Zobrist's hot stretch continued in Saturday's win as he went 2 for 5 with two RBIs.
Analysis: Zobrist is batting .371 (13 for 35) with seven RBIs and six runs in his last nine games.
July 29 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Zobrist had another productive day Friday, going 2 for 3 with a double and two runs scored in a 12-1 win over the Mariners.
Analysis: Zobrist has gone 4 for 7 with two doubles in his last two games after he had been hitting .136 over his previous 18.
July 28 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Zobrist came up big with two hits - including a double - and an RBI in Thursday's 3-1 loss to the Cubs.
Analysis: Zobrist has heated back up of late, hitting .333 with two doubles and four RBIs in his last six games.
July 27 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Zobrist's rough month continued with an 0-for-3 performance in Tuesday's loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Zobrist put together an outstanding May but is hitting .186 since June 1. He's 4 for 31 since the All-Star break and batting .136 in July.
July 25 9:08 AM PT10:08 AM MT11:08 AM CT12:08 PM ET12:08 ET16:08 GMT0:08 9:08 AM MST11:08 AM EST11:38 AM VEN20:08 UAE11:08 AM CT-Zobrist helped the Cubs post a 6-5 come-from-behind win Sunday at Milwaukee with a pair of RBI singles.
Analysis: After going 0 for 18 out of the All-Star break, Zobrist went 4 for 7 over the series' final two games. He's still hitting .150 with a .250 on-base percentage in July.
July 5 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)6:35 PM CT-Zobrist earned the All-Star nod as a starter for the Mid-Summer Classic. Zobrist won the closest race by finishing 88 votes ahead of Washington's Daniel Murphy.
Analysis: The versatile Zobrist., who was hitting .354 in late May, will take part in his third All-Star Game, and first for the NL.
July 1 9:32 AM PT10:32 AM MT11:32 AM CT12:32 PM ET12:32 ET16:32 GMT0:32 9:32 AM MST11:32 AM EST12:02 PM VEN20:32 UAE11:32 AM CT-Zobrist went 2 for 5 with a double in Thursday's 4-3 loss to the Mets.
Analysis: Zobrist has heated back up with three straight multihit games. He's been a great addition for the Cubs - and fantasy owners - hitting .301 with 10 home runs and 42 RBIs while playing multiple positions.
June 29 9:24 PM PT10:24 PM MT11:24 PM CT12:24 AM ET0:24 ET4:24 GMT12:24 9:24 PM MST11:24 PM EST11:54 PM VEN8:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-Zobrist homered for one of his two hits Tuesday.
Analysis: He's just 4 for 29 in his last eight contests.
June 25 5:24 PM PT6:24 PM MT7:24 PM CT8:24 PM ET20:24 ET0:24 GMT8:24 5:24 PM MST7:24 PM EST7:54 PM VEN4:24 UAE (+1)7:24 PM CT-Zobrist, who was forced out of Friday's game after getting hit in the left ankle by a pitch, didn't start but pinch-hit in the eighth inning of Saturday's loss to Miami.
Analysis: Zobrist walked Saturday and is 1 for 14 with a pair of walks in his last five games.
June 24 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Zobrist exited Friday's game at Miami in the seventh inning after being hit by a pitch in his left ankle.
Analysis: Mike Dunn's offering struck Zobrist in the leg on a bounce, though the Chicago second baseman took his base and remained in the game until being replaced in the field to start the bottom of the second. Consider Zobrist questionable to start Saturday's day game between the teams.
June 8 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-Zobrist broke out of a slump Wednesday by going 2 for 4 with a solo home run.
Analysis: Zobrist was 0 for 16 over his previous six games following a 16-game hitting streak.
May 31 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Zobrist singled in the fifth inning of Monday's win over the Dodgers to extend his hitting streak to 16 games.
Analysis: Zobrist, third in the NL with a .351 average, is hitting a robust .426 with seven RBIs and 12 runs scored during his impressive run.
May 30 11:51 AM PT12:51 PM MT1:51 PM CT2:51 PM ET14:51 ET18:51 GMT2:51 11:51 AM MST1:51 PM EST2:21 PM VEN22:51 UAE1:51 PM CT-Zobrist extended his hitting streak to 15 games with a three-run homer Sunday.
Analysis: Zobrist is hitting .431 in his run.
May 28 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Zobrist extended his hitting streak to 13 games with a double and single Friday.
Analysis: Zobrist is hitting .440 in his run.
May 26 11:54 AM PT12:54 PM MT1:54 PM CT2:54 PM ET14:54 ET18:54 GMT2:54 11:54 AM MST1:54 PM EST2:24 PM VEN22:54 UAE1:54 PM CT-Zobrist extended his hit streak to 12 games by going 3 for 5 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Zobrist has Thursday off before facing the Phils on Friday.
May 25 9:36 AM PT10:36 AM MT11:36 AM CT12:36 PM ET12:36 ET16:36 GMT0:36 9:36 AM MST11:36 AM EST12:06 PM VEN20:36 UAE11:36 AM CT-Zobrist extended his hit streak to 11 games with a double in a 12-3 rout of St. Louis on Tuesday.
Analysis: Zobrist, fourth in the NL with a .338 average, is batting .415 during his streak. He has also hit .427 while batting safely in 20 of his last 21 games and has reached base in 30 consecutive starts.
May 24 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Zobrist extended his hit streak to 10 games by going 3 for 4 in a 4-3 loss to St. Louis on Monday.
Analysis: Zobrist has a .421 average during his streak and is batting .431 while hitting safely in 19 of his last 20 contests. He has also reached base safely in each of his last 29 starts.
May 19 11:37 AM PT12:37 PM MT1:37 PM CT2:37 PM ET14:37 ET18:37 GMT2:37 11:37 AM MST1:37 PM EST2:07 PM VEN22:37 UAE1:37 PM CT-Zobrist had three hits in a 2-1 win over Milwaukee in 13 innings Wednesday.
Analysis: Zobrist is batting an incredible .500 (20 for 40) with three homers and 12 RBIs in his last 12 games. He's moved up to seventh in the NL with a .328 average thanks to that torrid stretch.
May 12 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Zobrist had his nine-game hit streak snapped Wednesday night by going 0 for 2 in a 1-0 loss to San Diego.
Analysis: Zobrist had two hits and drove in a run in the opening game to the doubleheader at Wrigley Field, a 7-4 defeat. He batted .469 with four homers and 18 RBIs during his streak.
May 11 9:07 AM PT10:07 AM MT11:07 AM CT12:07 PM ET12:07 ET16:07 GMT0:07 9:07 AM MST11:07 AM EST11:37 AM VEN20:07 UAE11:07 AM CT-Zobrist went 4 for 4, drove in two runs and scored three in an 8-7 win against San Diego on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Zobrist is batting .448 with four homers and 17 RBIs in an eight-game hit streak, raising his average from .250 to .305.
May 7 11:57 AM PT12:57 PM MT1:57 PM CT2:57 PM ET14:57 ET18:57 GMT2:57 11:57 AM MST1:57 PM EST2:27 PM VEN22:57 UAE1:57 PM CT-Zobrist continued his power surge with a pair of homers in an 8-6 win over Washington on Friday.
Analysis: Zobrist has hit four of his five homers in the past three games. He has 14 of his 24 RBIs in the Cubs' five consecutive wins.
May 6 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Zobrist drove in four runs with a jack Thursday.
Analysis: Zobrist has a tough matchup Friday against Max Scherzer so beware.
Apr. 29 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Zobrist went 2 for 5 and had a two-run single in a 7-2 victory against Milwaukee on Thursday.
Analysis: Zobrist is 7 for 18 (.389) with six RBIs in his last five games. He batted .212 and drove in four runs in his first 14 contests for the Chicago Cubs.
Apr. 22 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Zobrist broke out with three hits in Thursday's 16-0 win over the Reds.
Analysis: He only had three in 32 at-bats his previous nine games.
Apr. 10 6:27 PM PT7:27 PM MT8:27 PM CT9:27 PM ET21:27 ET1:27 GMT9:27 6:27 PM MST8:27 PM EST8:57 PM VEN5:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Zobrist went 3 for 4 with a double in Saturday's 4-2 win at Arizona.
Analysis: Zobrist is making an immediate impact for the Cubs, going 8 for 20 with three RBIs over his first five games.
Apr. 5 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Zobrist went 2 for 5 in his first game with the Cubs on Monday.
Analysis: He hit a bloop single and a sharp one and scored a run.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 TB 52 183 10 41 6 2 2 18 10 26 2 3 .224 .260 .311
2007 TB 31 97 8 15 2 0 1 9 3 21 2 0 .155 .184 .206
2008 TB 62 198 32 50 10 2 12 30 25 37 3 0 .253 .339 .505
2009 TB 152 501 91 149 28 7 27 91 91 104 17 6 .297 .405 .543
2010 TB 151 541 77 129 28 2 10 75 92 107 24 3 .238 .346 .353
2011 TB 156 588 99 158 46 6 20 91 77 128 19 6 .269 .353 .469
2012 TB 157 560 88 151 39 7 20 74 97 103 14 9 .270 .377 .471
2013 TB 157 612 77 168 36 3 12 71 72 91 11 3 .275 .354 .402
2014 TB 146 570 83 155 34 3 10 52 75 84 10 5 .272 .354 .395
2015 Oak 67 235 39 63 20 2 6 33 33 26 1 1 .268 .354 .447
2015 KC 59 232 37 66 16 1 7 23 29 30 2 3 .284 .364 .453
2015 Tot 126 467 76 129 36 3 13 56 62 56 3 4 .276 .359 .450
2016 ChC 147 523 94 142 31 3 18 76 96 82 6 4 .272 .386 .446
Career 1337 4840 735 1287 296 38 145 643 700 839 111 43 .266 .358 .433

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 TB Total 7 11 0 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 .091 .231 .091
    LCS 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .200 .000
    WS 4 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .143 .250 .143
2010 TB Total 5 20 2 6 2 0 1 2 2 6 0 0 .300 .364 .550
    LDS 5 20 2 6 2 0 1 2 2 6 0 0 .300 .364 .550
2011 TB Total 4 17 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .235 .278 .235
    LDS 4 17 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .235 .278 .235
2013 TB Total 5 18 3 3 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .167 .250 .333
    WC 1 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 4 14 2 2 0 0 1 1 2 4 0 0 .143 .250 .357
2015 KC Total 16 66 15 20 8 0 2 6 7 6 1 0 .303 .365 .515
    LDS 5 18 2 6 1 0 0 2 2 2 1 0 .333 .381 .389
    LCS 6 25 8 8 3 0 2 4 2 2 0 0 .320 .370 .680
    WS 5 23 5 6 4 0 0 0 3 2 0 0 .261 .346 .435
2016 ChC Total 17 64 9 16 5 1 0 5 7 11 0 0 .250 .319 .359
    LDS 4 16 1 3 2 0 0 2 0 4 0 0 .188 .188 .313
    LCS 6 20 3 3 1 0 0 1 4 3 0 0 .150 .280 .200
    WS 7 28 5 10 2 1 0 2 3 4 0 0 .357 .419 .500
Career 54 196 31 50 15 1 4 14 20 31 1 0 .255 .324 .403


w12 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.