MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Joey Votto
AVG HR RBI
.271 17 50
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 221 NFBC ADP: 36.25
Position: 1BBorn: 9/10/1983 Birthplace: Toronto, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 2nd Round by Reds (2002)


Latest News
July 23 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)10:43 PM CT-Votto had two hits Saturday.
Analysis: He's 14 for 26 with 10 runs scored while hitting safely in eight consecutive games.
July 22 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Votto extended his post-All Star break surge with a three-run homer, leading the Cincinnati Reds to a 6-2 victory over the slumping Arizona Diamondbacks.
Analysis: Votto has hit safely in all seven games since the All-Star break, going 12 for 23 with a double, three homers, eight RBIs and seven walks.
July 20 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Votto homered for the second time in three games Wednesday, a two-run shot.
Analysis: He's hit safely in all six games since the All-Star break and is 10 for 16 with five RBIs in the last five.
July 20 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-Votto reached base in all five plate appearances in Tuesday's loss to Atlanta, finishing 2 for 2 with three walks and a run scored.
Analysis: Votto continues to be an on-base machine of late, having drawn a .569 on-base percentage over his last 15 games. He's hitting .426 over that stretch, albeit with just six RBIs and six extra-base hits.
July 18 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Votto came up big Monday when he went 2 for 3 with his 15th home run in an 8-2 win over the Braves.
Analysis: Votto has gone 7 for 11 with a home run and a double in his last three games.
July 16 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Votto was a bright spot in the Reds' 9-1 loss to Milwaukee on Saturday, recording four of his team's nine hits.
Analysis: Votto had a career-high four hits for the 17th time, and first since April 15, 2014, against Pittsburgh. He entered Saturday in a 5-for-23 rut.
July 5 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Votto doubled, drove in two runs, scored twice and walked three times Tuesday.
Analysis: Votto is 9 for 17 with nine walks in his last six games, pushing his average to a season-best .260.
July 4 5:37 PM PT6:37 PM MT7:37 PM CT8:37 PM ET20:37 ET0:37 GMT8:37 5:37 PM MST7:37 PM EST8:07 PM VEN4:37 UAE (+1)7:37 PM CT-Votto had two hits Monday.
Analysis: Votto is 12 for 33 in his last nine games.
July 2 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Votto has been scratched from the lineup due to a sore right shoulder.
Analysis: He is day-to-day after banging his shoulder diving into second base during Friday night's game.
July 1 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-Votto had three hits for the Reds on Friday.
Analysis: Votto is batting .404 in his last 13 road contests.
July 1 7:44 AM PT8:44 AM MT9:44 AM CT10:44 AM ET10:44 ET14:44 GMT22:44 7:44 AM MST9:44 AM EST10:14 AM VEN18:44 UAE9:44 AM CT-Votto finished with a home run and a double in Thursday's 13-4 loss at Washington.
Analysis: Votto has come alive after a slow start as he's batting .324 over his last 21 games.
June 29 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Votto was 0 for 6 Tuesday against the Cubs – the first time he failed to get a hit when having at least six at-bats since going 0 for 7 against St. Louis on Sept. 4, 2013.
Analysis: On Wednesday, he’ll face Kyle Hendricks, against whom he is 3 for 5 with a pair of homers.
June 28 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Votto hit a two-run homer off Jake Arrieta and also added a solo shot in the Reds' 11-8 loss to the Cubs on Monday.
Analysis: Votto had gone 16 games without hitting a homer, a stretch in which he only drove in two runs.
June 24 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Votto returned Friday and went 0 for 3 with a pair of walks in the Reds' 13-4 loss to the Padres.
Analysis: Votto missed two games and was limited to a pinch-hit appearance in the third game because of a stomach ailment.
June 22 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Votto was held out of a second straight game Wednesday due to a stomach bug.
Analysis: The Cincinnati slugger should be ready to return when the Reds host San Diego on Thursday night.
June 17 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Votto continues to reach base at an impressive rate, finishing with three singles and a walk in Thursday's loss to the Braves.
Analysis: Votto, who has reached in 18 straight games, is 9 for 18 with seven walks over his last five contests.
June 14 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET16:18 GMT0:18 9:18 AM MST11:18 AM EST11:48 AM VEN20:18 UAE11:18 AM CT-Votto singled, doubled, drew two walks and scored twice in the Reds' 9-8 win over the Braves.
Analysis: Votto has reached base safely in 14 consecutive games, posting a .468 OBP while raising his season batting average 30 points to .237.
June 13 10:12 AM PT11:12 AM MT12:12 PM CT1:12 PM ET13:12 ET17:12 GMT1:12 10:12 AM MST12:12 PM EST12:42 PM VEN21:12 UAE12:12 PM CT-The Reds - and fantasy owners - hope Votto can get back on track after Sunday's performance. The star first baseman went 2 for 4 in a 6-1 loss to the A's.
Analysis: Votto had been 1 for 8 over his previous three games. He's batting .231 on the season, but .319 with four home runs, five doubles and nine RBIs over his last 13.
June 7 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Votto homered with one out in the bottom of the ninth inning on Tuesday night, powering the Reds to a 7-6 victory over the St. Louis Cardinals after they blew a five-run lead for the second straight day.
Analysis: Nine of Votto's 12 hits in his last 40 at-bats have gone for extra bases.
June 5 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Votto extended his hitting streak to six games with a two-run homer in Saturday's win over Washington.
Analysis: The streak is a season high for Votto, who's still batting a disappointing .224 this season but has four homers and nine RBIs over his last nine games.
May 31 12:09 PM PT1:09 PM MT2:09 PM CT3:09 PM ET15:09 ET19:09 GMT3:09 12:09 PM MST2:09 PM EST2:39 PM VEN23:09 UAE2:09 PM CT-Votto had two hits - including his 200th career homer - and knocked in three runs in Monday's victory at Colorado.
Analysis: Though Votto is hitting a disappointing .213 this season, he's a .364 career hitter at Coors Field and the Reds play three more games there this week, so his short-term prospects appear promising.
May 20 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Votto hit a two-run homer in Thursday's loss to Cleveland, though he still remains in a slump.
Analysis: The hit was just Votto's third in his last 24 at-bats and he's struck out 11 times over that stretch. He's hitting just .215 during a highly disappointing first 1 1/2 months of the season.
May 10 12:03 PM PT1:03 PM MT2:03 PM CT3:03 PM ET15:03 ET19:03 GMT3:03 12:03 PM MST2:03 PM EST2:33 PM VEN23:03 UAE2:03 PM CT-Votto had a solo homer in Monday's win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Though his overall numbers have been disappointing, Votto is finally starting to look like his old self. He's 4 for 13 with two homers and five RBIs over his last four games.
May 3 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Votto had a three-run dinger during the Reds' loss Monday.
Analysis: Votto has been a fantasy flop with a .668 OPS.
Apr. 5 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Votto had a two-run single during the Reds' eighth-inning rally in Monday's season opener.
Analysis: He struck out in his first three at-bats but came through in a big way late.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Cin 24 84 11 27 7 0 4 17 5 15 1 0 .321 .360 .548
2008 Cin 151 526 69 156 32 3 24 84 59 102 7 5 .297 .368 .506
2009 Cin 131 469 82 151 38 1 25 84 70 106 4 1 .322 .414 .567
2010 Cin 150 547 106 177 36 2 37 113 91 125 16 5 .324 .424 .600
2011 Cin 161 599 101 185 40 3 29 103 110 129 8 6 .309 .416 .531
2012 Cin 111 374 59 126 44 0 14 56 94 85 5 3 .337 .474 .567
2013 Cin 162 581 101 177 30 3 24 73 135 138 6 3 .305 .435 .491
2014 Cin 62 220 32 56 16 0 6 23 47 49 1 1 .255 .390 .409
2015 Cin 158 545 95 171 33 2 29 80 143 135 11 3 .314 .459 .541
2016 Cin 93 317 56 86 16 0 17 50 69 92 6 1 .271 .406 .483
Career 1203 4262 712 1312 292 14 209 683 823 976 65 28 .308 .422 .530

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Cin Total 3 10 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .100 .091 .100
    LDS 3 10 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .100 .091 .100
2012 Cin Total 5 18 3 7 0 0 0 0 4 5 0 0 .389 .500 .389
    LDS 5 18 3 7 0 0 0 0 4 5 0 0 .389 .500 .389
2013 Cin Total 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 9 32 3 8 0 0 0 1 4 9 0 0 .250 .324 .250


w11 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.