MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#44
Ross Detwiler
ERA S K
5.79 0 3
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-5 / 210
Position: RPBorn: 3/6/1986 Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 1st Round by Nationals (2007)


Latest News
Dec. 22 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Detwiler has agreed to a minor league contract with the Cleveland Indians and will attend big league spring training.
Analysis: Detwiler, who turns 30 on March 6, was 1-5 with a 7.25 ERA this year in seven starts and 34 relief appearances for Texas and Atlanta. He is 21-37 with a 4.20 ERA over eight major league seasons, making 76 starts and 97 relief appearances.
July 17 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-The Braves have added experience to their bullpen by signing Detwiler and right-hander Jason Frasor for the remainder of the season. Detwiler and Frasor are with the team for Friday night's game against the Cubs.
Analysis: The 29-year-old Detwiler was 0-5 with a 7.12 ERA in 17 games, including seven starts, with Texas before his release on Wednesday. He pitched for Washington from 2007-14.
July 15 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-The Rangers waived Detwiler after the left-hander rejected an outright assignment to the minor leagues. The move Wednesday came four days after Texas designated Detwiler for assignment. He will be a free agent Friday if he clears waivers.
Analysis: Detwiler started the season in the rotation after an offseason trade with Washington for two Texas prospects. The 29-year-old went 0-5 with a 6.95 ERA in seven starts and was sent to the bullpen after a stint on the disabled list with shoulder inflammation. After 10 more appearances as a reliever, Detwiler's 7.12 ERA was highest in the majors among pitchers with at least 40 innings at the time Texas dumped him.
June 22 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Detwiler suffered his first blown save Sunday.
Analysis: Detwiler failed to protect a two-run lead in the sixth inning.
June 4 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-Detwiler was activated from the disabled list.
Analysis: Detwiler was activated after an injury rehabilitation assignment with Double-A Frisco. He was 0-5 in seven starts before left shoulder inflammation. He will work out of the Rangers bullpen after being a reliever last season for Washington.
May 17 11:55 AM PT12:55 PM MT1:55 PM CT2:55 PM ET14:55 ET18:55 GMT2:55 11:55 AM MST1:55 PM EST2:25 PM VEN22:55 UAE1:55 PM CT-The Texas Rangers have placed left-handed starter Ross Detwiler on the 15-day disabled list.
Analysis: Detwiler (0-5 in seven starts) reported soreness in his left shoulder after Thursday's start against Kansas City.
Apr. 9 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Detwiler was ripped to shreds on Wednesday.
Analysis: Detwiler was done after 4 1-3 innings in his first start since July 3, 2013, with the Nationals in a season cut short by back problems. He was tagged for eight runs - seven earned - and nine hits with two strikeouts and two walks. "Command was terrible today," Detwiler said. "If I want to help this team compete, I need to be a lot better."
Mar. 27 8:06 AM PT9:06 AM MT10:06 AM CT11:06 AM ET11:06 ET15:06 GMT23:06 8:06 AM MST10:06 AM EST10:36 AM VEN19:06 UAE9:06 AM CT-Detwiler has earned a spot in the Texas rotation.
Analysis: Detwiler was acquired in an offseason trade with Washington after being a reliever last season.

w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.