MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#12
Seth Smith
AVG HR RBI
.265 12 44
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 543.61
Position: LFBorn: 9/30/1982 Birthplace: Jackson, Mississippi
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Rockies (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 17 11:09 PM PT12:09 AM MT1:09 AM CT2:09 AM ET2:09 ET6:09 GMT14:09 11:09 PM MST1:09 AM EST1:39 AM VEN10:09 UAE1:09 AM CT-Smith didn't start Tuesday due to a sore right hamstring, although he walked as a pinch-hitter.
Analysis: The left-handed hitting Smith isn't scheduled to start on Wednesday night with Phillies lefty Cole Hamels on the mound.
Aug. 7 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Smith was 2 for 4 with his 23rd double and 12th home run of the season in a 5-4 win at Minnesota on Wednesday.
Analysis: Smith continues to quietly enjoy a successful year in San Diego, posting an .886 OPS in 97 games.
July 27 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Smith was 3 for 3 in a 5-3 loss at Atlanta on Saturday.
Analysis: Smith is 22 for 52 (.423) over his last 17 games.
July 25 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Smith was 3 for 4 and scored two runs in Thursday's 13-3 win over the Cubs.
Analysis: Smith owns a .388 batting average over his last 16 games.
July 21 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Smith had three hits Sunday.
Analysis: Smith is surprising fantasy owners with a .893 OPS.
July 10 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Smith was 2 for 4 with his 10th home run of the season in Wednesday's 6-3 loss at Colorado.
Analysis: Smith continues to enjoy a strong year, sporting a .510 slugging percentage that matches the highest of his career.
July 2 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Smith has signed a $13 million contract extension through 2016 after being told by ownership that it is committed to winning.
Analysis: The deal was announced before Wednesday's game against Cincinnati. It had been in the works since before general manager Josh Byrnes was fired on June 22 and it came together in the last few days. Smith will make $6 million in 2015 and $6.75 million in 2016. The Padres hold a $7 million option in 2017, or a $250,000 buyout.
May 22 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Smith had three hits Wednesday in a loss to Minnesota.
Analysis: The left fielder is batting .472 in his last 16 games.
May 14 10:55 AM PT11:55 AM MT12:55 PM CT1:55 PM ET13:55 ET17:55 GMT1:55 10:55 AM MST12:55 PM EST1:25 PM VEN21:55 UAE12:55 PM CT-Smith continued his scorching stretch at the plate with a 2-for-4 game in Tuesday's win at Cincinnati.
Analysis: The San Diego outfielder is batting .528 with 12 extra-base hits and a 1.585 OPS on a nine-game hitting streak.
May 12 9:27 PM PT10:27 PM MT11:27 PM CT12:27 AM ET0:27 ET4:27 GMT12:27 9:27 PM MST11:27 PM EST11:57 PM VEN8:27 UAE11:27 PM CT-Smith was a single shy of the cycle on Saturday, going 3 for 4 with his third homer of the season against Miami.
Analysis: Smith continues to enjoy a career year, boasting a ridiculous 1.736 OPS during a seven-game hitting streak. He has 10 extra-base hits in that stretch.
May 9 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Smith collected at least one hit for the fifth straight game Thursday, hitting his eighth double of the season against the Marlins.
Analysis: Smith is 9 for 18 during a five-game hitting streak after going 1 for 12 in his previous four games.
May 7 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Smith was 2 for 4 on Tuesday against Kansas City, marking his third straight multihit performance.
Analysis: Smith is 7 for 12 over his last three games after going 7 for 32 in his previous 10 contests.
Apr. 25 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Smith left Thursday's game against Washington with a groin injury.
Analysis: Smith says he's day to day.
Apr. 2 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Smith hit a solo homer in a 3-2 loss to the Los Angeles Dodgers on Tuesday night
Analysis: It was the second homer in as many games for Smith, who also singled in his three at-bats. Smith earned the start in left field against the right-handed Zack Greinke after homering to start an eighth-inning rally in a 3-1 win Sunday night.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Col 7 8 4 5 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 .625 .625 .875
2008 Col 67 108 13 28 7 0 4 15 15 23 1 0 .259 .350 .435
2009 Col 133 335 61 98 20 4 15 55 46 67 4 1 .293 .378 .510
2010 Col 133 358 55 88 19 5 17 52 35 67 2 1 .246 .314 .469
2011 Col 147 476 67 135 32 9 15 59 46 93 10 2 .284 .347 .483
2012 Oak 125 383 55 92 23 2 14 52 50 98 2 2 .240 .333 .420
2013 Oak 117 368 49 93 27 0 8 40 39 94 0 0 .253 .329 .391
2014 SD 128 415 51 110 28 5 12 44 65 81 1 1 .265 .368 .443
Career 857 2451 355 649 156 26 85 317 296 524 20 7 .265 .346 .454

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Col Total 6 6 2 3 1 0 0 2 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .667
    LDS 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
    LCS 2 2 1 1 1 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 1.000
    WS 2 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2009 Col Total 3 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .200 .333 .200
    LDS 3 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .200 .333 .200
2012 Oak Total 5 15 3 2 1 0 1 3 3 6 0 0 .133 .316 .400
    LDS 5 15 3 2 1 0 1 3 3 6 0 0 .133 .316 .400
2013 Oak Total 4 16 1 5 0 0 1 2 1 5 0 0 .313 .353 .500
    LDS 4 16 1 5 0 0 1 2 1 5 0 0 .313 .353 .500
Career 18 42 6 11 2 0 2 7 5 13 0 0 .262 .354 .452


126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.