MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Gio González
ERA W-L K
2.96 7-1 87
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-0 / 207 NFBC ADP: 285.54
Position: SPBorn: 9/19/1985 Birthplace: Hialeah, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Supplemental Round by White Sox (2004)


Latest News
June 20 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Gio Gonzalez improved to 7-1, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 12-3 on Tuesday. Gonzalez struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gonzalez notched his fifth straight quality start and 11th in 15 tries this season. He's 4-0 with a 3.06 ERA in his last five outings.
June 15 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Gio Gonzalez improved to 6-1, allowing two runs on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 8-3 on Thursday. Gonzalez struck out five, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gonzalez notched his fourth straight quality start and 10th in 14 tries this season. He's 3-0 with a 2.84 ERA in his last four starts.
June 10 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Gio Gonzalez allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Texas Rangers 6-3 on Saturday. Gonzalez struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The bullpen blew what would have been a third straight win for Gonzalez. He's struck out 20 in 18 1/3 innings in those outings - all quality starts.
June 6 9:51 AM PT10:51 AM MT11:51 AM CT12:51 PM ET12:51 ET16:51 GMT0:51 9:51 AM MST11:51 AM EST12:21 PM VEN20:51 UAE11:51 AM CT-Gio Gonzalez improved to 5-1, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Monday. Gonzalez struck out five, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gonzalez has allowed two runs or fewer in each of his last three starts, striking out 19 over 17.2 innings. He makes his next start Saturday against the Rangers.
May 31 9:45 AM PT10:45 AM MT11:45 AM CT12:45 PM ET12:45 ET16:45 GMT0:45 9:45 AM MST11:45 AM EST12:15 PM VEN20:45 UAE11:45 AM CT-Gio Gonzalez improved to 4-1, allowing three runs on eight hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-3 on Tuesday. Gonzalez struck out six, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gonzalez pitched at least six innings for the first time in three starts and earned his first win since April 27. Control has been an issue for Gonzalez, who leads the majors with 35 walks. His next start is Monday at Dodger Stadium, and Los Angeles is tied for the NL lead with 206 base on balls.
May 25 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Gio Gonzalez allowed two runs on three hits and four walks in 5.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-2 on Thursday. Gonzalez struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.90 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Control issues plagued Gonzalez again. He's walked 32 in 62 innings so far and has pitched less than six innings in three of his last five starts.
May 19 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Gio Gonzalez allowed four runs on nine hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-4 on Friday. Gonzalez struck out five, ending the game with a 2.86 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 14 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Gio Gonzalez allowed one run on four hits and three walks in 6.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Sunday. Gonzalez struck out five, ending the game with a 2.47 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gonzalez, who bounced back after being tagged for six runs at Baltimore on May 8, next takes the ball Friday in Atlanta. The lefty hasn't faced the Braves since last September, when he was knocked around for 12 runs and 17 hits in 7.1 innings in a pair of starts.
May 8 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Gio Gonzalez fell to 3-1, allowing six runs on seven hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Monday. Gonzalez struck out two, ending the game with a 2.64 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gonzalez failed to record a quality start in his second straight outing. He gave up a season-high six earned runs after allowing seven in his first six starts, spanning 38 1/3 innings.
May 3 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Gio Gonzalez allowed one run on three hits and seven walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-1 on Wednesday. Gonzalez struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Gio Gonzalez improved to 3-0, allowing two runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 16-5 on Thursday. Gonzalez struck out five, ending the game with a 1.62 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gonzalez had his fifth quality start in as many outing this season and is 3-0 with a 1.62 ERA after five starts.
Apr. 22 5:55 PM PT6:55 PM MT7:55 PM CT8:55 PM ET20:55 ET0:55 GMT8:55 5:55 PM MST7:55 PM EST8:25 PM VEN4:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-Gonzalez was very good again Saturday in a win over the Mets, allowing one run and two hits over 6 1/3 innings.
Analysis: Gonzalez improved to 9-1 with a 1.62 ERA in 14 career starts at Citi Field. Overall, he's 12-5 against the Mets.
Apr. 12 10:51 AM PT11:51 AM MT12:51 PM CT1:51 PM ET13:51 ET17:51 GMT1:51 10:51 AM MST12:51 PM EST1:21 PM VEN21:51 UAE12:51 PM CT-Gonzalez allowed two runs - one earned - over seven innings and retired his last 11 batters he faced in Tuesday's 8-3 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: He has an 0.69 ERA through two starts.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.