MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#30
Chris Tillman
ERA W-L K
3.84 16-6 138
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-5 / 200 NFBC ADP: 426.60
Position: SPBorn: 4/15/1988 Birthplace: Anaheim, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Mariners (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 22 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Tillman was pulled after a season-low 1 2/3 innings Thursday, allowing three runs and five hits with three walks.
Analysis: With the Orioles chasing the playoffs, their ace picked a bad time to have his shorest outing since June 2015. He's among the AL leaders with 16 wins despite going 2-4 with a 6.00 ERA in his last eight starts.
Sep. 11 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Tillman made an impressive return Sunday at Detroit, allowing one run and four hits over six innings in a 3-1 victory. It was his first appearance Aug. 20 due to a shoulder problem.
Analysis: Tillman matched his career high with his 16th win and improved to 6-3 with a 3.62 ERA in his last 10 starts. He's pitched at least six innings in seven of those outings.
Aug. 23 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Tillman, who has missed three starts with right shoulder bursitis, will start Sunday's game at Detroit.
Analysis: Manager Buck Showalter said he would forego a decision on any rotation changes until he was satisfied the 15-game winner is both healthy and effective.
Aug. 20 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Tillman's scheduled start was pushed back three days due to a sore shoulder and he looked very much like an injured pitcher Saturday in a 12-2 loss to Houston. He allowed six runs and six hits with five walks over two-plus innings.
Analysis: Since allowing one run over seven innings in four straight starts, Tillman is 1-3 with a 6.66 ERA in his last five starts.
Aug. 16 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Tillman was scheduled to start Wednesday against the Red Sox but has been pushed back to Saturday vs. Houston due to a sore right shoulder. Dylan Bundy will start in his place.
Analysis: The discomfort wasn’t an issue in Tillman’s last start, when he held the Athletics to two runs in seven innings on Aug. 11 and improved to 15-4 with a 3.46 ERA in 25 starts. Needless to say, any kind of injury to Tillman would be a major blow to an Orioles team that has struggled lately.
Aug. 10 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Tillman (14-4, 3.50) tries to end his longest winless streak so far this season - a whopping three games - against Oakland on Thursday.
Analysis: Tillman is closing in on his career high of 16 victories, set in 2013.
Aug. 6 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Tillman failed a third time to win his 15th game, allowing three runs and seven hits over six-plus innings in Saturday's 4-2 loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Tillman is 0-2 with a 5.94 ERA in three starts since winning four in a row.
July 21 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Tillman allowed a run and struck out seven in seven innings of Thursday's 4-1 win over the Yankees.
Analysis: Sitting 14-2, this marks the fourh consecutive start that Tillman allowed one run while completeling at least seven innings.
July 16 6:07 PM PT7:07 PM MT8:07 PM CT9:07 PM ET21:07 ET1:07 GMT9:07 6:07 PM MST8:07 PM EST8:37 PM VEN5:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Tillman became the American League's second 13-game winner, lasting seven innings and allowing a run in Saturday's 2-1 victory over Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Tillman has a 1.29 ERA while winning three straight starts.
July 11 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Tillman held the Angels to one run and three hits over seven strong innings Sunday to earn his 12th win.
Analysis: After ending June with three consecutive shaky starts, Tillman (12-2, 3.41 ERA) has allowed just two runs and eight hits through 14 innings in winning his first two of July. The Orioles are now 16-3 when he's taken the mound this season.
July 6 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Tillman bounced back from three straight poor starts with a strong performance Tuesday in a 4-1 victory over the Dodgers. He allowed one run and five hits over seven innings.
Analysis: Tillman, who ranks among the AL leaders with 11 wins, entered Tuesday with an 8.59 ERA in his three previous starts.
July 1 10:32 PM PT11:32 PM MT12:32 AM CT1:32 AM ET1:32 ET5:32 GMT13:32 10:32 PM MST12:32 AM EST1:02 AM VEN9:32 UAE12:32 AM CT-Tillman was dealt his first loss since April 14 after allowing four runs in 4 2/3 innings Thursday at Seattle.
Analysis: Tillman (10-2, 3.71) had won nine consecutive decisions and was unbeaten in 13 starts prior to Thursday's defeat. He hasn't been pitching well of late, however, logging an 8.59 ERA over his last three outings.
June 25 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Seeking his 10th straight win in the second game of Saturday's doubleheader, Tillman gave up six runs and 10 hits in five innings and did not factor in the decision.
Analysis: Though Tillman last lost April 14, he's yielded 10 runs in 10 innings of his last two starts.
June 19 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Tillman's stellar season continued Sunday even if he was far from his best. He won his ninth straight decision and improved to 10-1 despite allowing four runs and five hits over five innings in an 11-6 victory over the Blue Jays.
Analysis: Unbeaten since April 14, Tillman is 9-0 with a 2.79 ERA in his last 12 starts. He's allowed 59 hits and struck out 75 over 77 1/3 innings during that span.
June 15 10:21 AM PT11:21 AM MT12:21 PM CT1:21 PM ET13:21 ET17:21 GMT1:21 10:21 AM MST12:21 PM EST12:51 PM VEN21:21 UAE12:21 PM CT-Tillman outdueled David Price in Tuesday's 3-2 win over Boston. He allowed one run and five hits while striking out seven over seven innings.
Analysis: Tillman has risen to ace status, going 8-0 with a 2.49 ERA with 71 strikeouts over his last 11 outings.
June 9 9:34 AM PT10:34 AM MT11:34 AM CT12:34 PM ET12:34 ET16:34 GMT0:34 9:34 AM MST11:34 AM EST12:04 PM VEN20:34 UAE11:34 AM CT-Tillman shined again in Wednesday's 8-1 home win over Kansas City. He struck out nine and scattered eight hits over 7 1/3 innings.
Analysis: Tillman is finally pitching like the ace Baltimore hoped he'd become, going 7-0 with a 2.58 ERA over his last nine starts. The Orioles are 11-2 in his starts this season.
June 4 5:58 PM PT6:58 PM MT7:58 PM CT8:58 PM ET20:58 ET0:58 GMT8:58 5:58 PM MST7:58 PM EST8:28 PM VEN4:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Tillman again struggled with the long ball in Friday's start against the Yankees.
Analysis: The right-hander served up three homers while allowing five runs in 5 2/3 innings and not receiving a decision. Tillman also gave up three homers in his previous start at Cleveland, though he's still 6-0 with a 2.95 ERA over his last nine.
May 30 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Tillman pitched well enough to improve to 7-1 with Sunday's win at Cleveland.
Analysis: It wasn't his best effort, as he surrendered three homers and allowed four runs in six innings of a 6-4 victory. Still, owners can't complain about Tillman's seven-start stretch in which he's gone 6-0 with a 2.33 ERA.
May 14 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Tillman tossed seven scoreless innings Friday against Detroit to win his fourth consecutive start.
Analysis: The right-hander, who struck out seven while yielding five hits in the 1-0 victory, has allowed just four runs in 27 innings during the winning streak. Tillman is now 5-1 with a 2.58 ERA through eight starts in his strong bounce-back season.
May 4 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-Tillman cruised through an awful Yankee lineup Tuesday.
Analysis: Tillman limited the punchless Yanks to one run in seven innings in an easy win.
Apr. 28 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Tillman gave up two hits in 6 2/3 innings Wednesday night.
Analysis: Tillman moved to 2-1 as he tied a career high with nine strikeouts.
Apr. 9 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Tillman picked up his first win of the season on Friday.
Analysis: He held Tampa Bay to one run on four hits through five innings while walking two and striking out five.
Mar. 28 8:13 AM PT9:13 AM MT10:13 AM CT11:13 AM ET11:13 ET15:13 GMT23:13 8:13 AM MST10:13 AM EST10:43 AM VEN19:13 UAE10:13 AM CT-Tillman will be the Baltimore Orioles' opening day starter for the third consecutive season. Manager Buck Showalter said he considered Yovani Gallardo and Ubaldo Jimenez, but Tillman's experience was a factor.
Analysis: Tillman was 11-11 with a 4.99 ERA last year. In the April 4 opener, the right-hander will oppose Ervin Santana of the Minnesota Twins. The last Baltimore pitcher to start three straight openers was Mike Mussina from 1998 to 2000.
Mar. 15 5:15 AM PT6:15 AM MT7:15 AM CT8:15 AM ET8:15 ET12:15 GMT20:15 5:15 AM MST7:15 AM EST7:45 AM VEN16:15 UAE6:15 AM CT-Tillman makes his Grapefruit League debut against an AL East rival, the hard-hitting Toronto Blue Jays on Tuesday.
Analysis: Tillman missed his first start with a strained right hip flexor and pitched in a ''B'' game last week. He went 29-13 from 2013-14, surpassing 205 innings in each season, but dropped off to 11-11 with a 4.99 ERA in 173 innings last year.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Bal 2 5 0 - 0 12 12 0 65.0 77 40 39 15 24 1 39 1.55 5.40
2010 Bal 2 5 0 - 0 11 11 0 53.2 51 37 35 9 31 1 31 1.53 5.87
2011 Bal 3 5 0 - 0 13 13 0 62.0 77 41 38 5 25 0 46 1.65 5.52
2012 Bal 9 3 0 - 0 15 15 0 86.0 66 38 28 12 24 0 66 1.05 2.93
2013 Bal 16 7 0 - 0 33 33 1 206.1 184 87 85 33 68 2 179 1.22 3.71
2014 Bal 13 6 0 - 0 34 34 1 207.1 189 83 77 21 66 1 150 1.23 3.34
2015 Bal 11 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 173.0 176 97 96 20 64 1 120 1.39 4.99
2016 Bal 16 6 0 - 0 29 29 0 166.1 149 71 71 19 63 1 138 1.27 3.84
Career 72 48 0 - 0 178 178 2 1019.2 969 494 469 134 365 7 769 1.31 4.14

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bal 11 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bal 33 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bal 34 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Bal 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Bal 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 178 14 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 Bal Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.1 11 7 7 3 3 0 9 6.75
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 2 1 0 6 3.60
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 7 5 5 1 2 0 3 10.38
Career 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.1 11 7 7 3 3 0 9 6.75


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1623 96 86 91.7 57.17
Curveball 357 80 70 75.4 12.57
Slider 437 90 81 85.8 15.39
Changeup 422 88 79 83.8 14.86

w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.