MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#49
Jake Arrieta
ERA W-L K
7.39 5-14 83
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-4 / 230
Position: SPBorn: 3/6/1986 Birthplace: Farmington, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by Orioles (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 19 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-14, allowing five runs - four earned - on three hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 8-7 on Sunday. Arrieta did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.39 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-13, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-1 on Tuesday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 7.05 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 10:53 PM PT11:53 PM MT12:53 AM CT1:53 AM ET1:53 ET5:53 GMT13:53 10:53 PM MST12:53 AM EST11:53 PM CST1:23 AM VEN9:53 UAE11:53 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Houston Astros 6-3 on Friday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST4:26 PM CST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-12, allowing five runs on seven hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Colorado Rockies 7-5 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 7.13 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-11, allowing eight runs on 11 hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 10-0 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 6.88 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST4:30 PM CST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed four runs on nine hits in 4.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-5 on Thursday. Arrieta struck out two, ending the game with a 6.34 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
July 30 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-10, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 4-3 on Friday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 6.20 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
July 7 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST4:25 PM CST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Arrieta has been placed on the injured with right hamstring tightness.
Analysis: This seems to be a phantom injury for the struggling Arrieta, as the Cubs didn't mention anything when he left Tuesday's 15-10 loss to the Phillies. This is the time to drop Arrieta, who is 0-4 with a 10.41 ERA in seven outings since the start of June.
July 7 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST10:10 PM CST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE10:10 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-9, allowing seven runs on six hits and two walks in 1.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 15-10 on Tuesday. Arrieta struck out four, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
June 30 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST4:00 PM CST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed six runs - three earned - on four hits and four walks in 1.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 15-7 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out two, ending the game with a 5.57 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
June 26 10:56 PM PT11:56 PM MT12:56 AM CT1:56 AM ET1:56 ET5:56 GMT13:56 10:56 PM MST12:56 AM EST11:56 PM CST1:26 AM VEN9:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-2 on Friday. Arrieta struck out four, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
June 19 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-8, allowing six runs - four earned - on six hits in 3.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 11-1 on Saturday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 5.45 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 9 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST5:15 PM CST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Diego Padres 3-1 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out six, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 5 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-6, allowing six runs on six hits and two walks in 2.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Francisco Giants 8-5 on Friday. Arrieta struck out one, ending the game with a 5.26 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
May 30 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-5, allowing five runs - two earned - on six hits and four walks in 3.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-1 on Sunday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 30 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-5, allowing five runs - two earned - on six hits and four walks in 3.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-1 on Sunday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 25 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST7:41 PM CST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)7:41 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 5-4, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Tuesday. Arrieta struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 19 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 4-4, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 4-3 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out two, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 4-3, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-2 on Friday. Arrieta struck out one, ending the game with a 4.10 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 4 9:45 AM PT10:45 AM MT11:45 AM CT12:45 PM ET12:45 ET16:45 GMT0:45 9:45 AM MST11:45 AM EST10:45 AM CST12:15 PM VEN20:45 UAE10:45 AM CT-Arrieta (right thumb abrasion) will come off the 10-day injured list Friday and start at Detroit.
Analysis: Arrieta (3-3) allowed seven runs in 3 1/3 innings in his last start April 30 at Cincinnati. He posted a 2.57 ERA in his first five outings of the season.
Apr. 30 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 3-3, allowing seven runs on seven hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 8-6 on Friday. Arrieta struck out two, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST3:47 PM CST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 3-2, allowing one run on two hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-0 on Sunday. Arrieta struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 3-1, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the New York Mets 3-1 on Tuesday. Arrieta struck out four, ending the game with a 2.86 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST2:51 PM CST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)2:51 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 2-1, allowing three runs on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-0 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST2:56 PM CST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)2:56 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2 on Thursday. Arrieta struck out four, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 1-0, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-1 on Saturday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Bal 6 6 0 - 0 18 18 0 100.1 106 57 52 9 48 3 52 1.53 4.66
2011 Bal 10 8 0 - 0 22 22 0 119.1 115 70 67 21 59 2 93 1.46 5.05
2012 Bal 3 9 0 - 0 24 18 0 114.2 122 82 79 16 35 3 109 1.37 6.20
2013 Bal 1 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 23.2 25 19 19 2 17 1 23 1.77 7.23
2013 ChC 4 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 51.2 34 22 21 7 24 0 37 1.12 3.66
2013 Tot 5 4 0 - 0 14 14 0 75.1 59 41 40 9 41 1 60 1.33 4.78
2014 ChC 10 5 0 - 0 25 25 1 156.2 114 46 44 5 41 2 167 0.99 2.53
2015 ChC 22 6 0 - 0 33 33 4 229.0 150 52 45 10 48 2 236 0.86 1.77
2016 ChC 18 8 0 - 0 31 31 1 197.1 138 72 68 16 76 1 190 1.08 3.10
2017 ChC 14 10 0 - 0 30 30 0 168.1 150 82 66 23 55 3 163 1.22 3.53
2018 Phi 10 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 172.2 165 93 76 21 57 0 138 1.29 3.96
2019 Phi 8 8 0 - 0 24 24 0 135.2 149 76 70 21 51 3 110 1.47 4.64
2020 Phi 4 4 0 - 0 9 9 0 44.1 51 25 25 6 16 0 32 1.51 5.08
2021 ChC 5 11 0 - 0 20 20 0 86.1 113 75 66 21 39 3 74 1.76 6.88
2021 SD 0 3 0 - 0 4 4 0 12.1 18 16 15 3 5 0 9 1.86 10.95
2021 Tot 5 14 0 - 0 24 24 0 98.2 131 91 81 24 44 3 83 1.77 7.39
Career 115 93 0 - 0 285 279 6 1612.1 1450 787 713 181 571 23 1433 1.25 3.98

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bal 18 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2011 Bal 22 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2012 Bal 24 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2013 ChC 9 15 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 10 0 0 .133 .133 .133
2013 Tot 14 15 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 10 0 0 .133 .133 .133
2014 ChC 26 39 3 7 2 1 0 3 2 16 0 0 .179 .220 .282
2015 ChC 33 79 5 12 1 1 2 2 1 45 0 0 .152 .163 .266
2016 ChC 31 65 7 17 2 1 2 7 4 28 0 0 .262 .304 .415
2017 ChC 32 61 2 8 0 1 1 5 1 32 0 0 .131 .145 .213
2018 Phi 31 45 3 6 0 0 1 3 3 27 0 0 .133 .188 .200
2019 Phi 24 45 2 7 1 0 0 4 1 19 0 0 .156 .174 .178
2021 ChC 21 21 2 2 0 0 0 0 2 16 0 0 .095 .208 .095
2021 SD 4 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2021 Tot 25 23 3 3 0 0 0 0 2 16 0 0 .130 .231 .130
Career 289 382 25 63 6 4 6 27 16 197 0 0 .165 .201 .249

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 ChC Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 1 19.2 14 8 8 2 4 1 28 3.66
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 1 9.0 5 0 0 0 0 0 11 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 4 4 1 2 0 9 6.35
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 4 4 1 2 1 8 7.20
2016 ChC Total 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 22.1 17 9 9 3 7 0 25 3.63
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 6 2 2 0 1 0 5 3.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 4 4 2 0 0 5 7.20
    WS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 5 3 3 1 6 0 15 2.38
2017 ChC Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.2 5 2 1 1 10 0 13 0.84
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 2 1 0 0 5 0 4 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 3 1 1 1 5 0 9 1.35
Career 5 3 0 - 0 9 9 1 52.2 36 19 18 6 21 1 66 3.08

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 ChC Total 3 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 1 0 .000 .167 .000
    WC 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 1 0 .000 .333 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 ChC Total 4 5 1 1 0 0 1 3 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .800
    LDS 1 3 1 1 0 0 1 3 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 1.333
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 ChC Total 2 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .333 .333 .333
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 9 13 1 2 0 0 1 3 0 10 1 0 .154 .214 .385


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 977 95 86 91.4 53.56
Curveball 279 84 77 80.5 15.3
Slider 445 92 84 88.3 24.4
Changeup 123 90 82 86.8 6.74

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.