MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#20
Josh Donaldson
AVG HR RBI
.286 8 17
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-1 / 210 NFBC ADP: 12.41
Position: 3BBorn: 12/8/1985 Birthplace: Pensacola, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Cubs (2007)


Latest News
June 22 10:25 AM PT11:25 AM MT12:25 PM CT1:25 PM ET13:25 ET17:25 GMT1:25 10:25 AM MST12:25 PM EST12:55 PM VEN21:25 UAE12:25 PM CT-Donaldson was scratched from the Blue Jays' lineup for Thursday's game at Texas due to a sore left knee.
Analysis: The Blue Jays may just be opting to give Donaldson a little rest with a day game following a night game, though it's unclear if the injury is more significant. The 2015 AL MVP has been struggling of late, having gone 4 for 26 with only one RBI over his last seven games.
June 22 9:19 PM PT10:19 PM MT11:19 PM CT12:19 AM ET0:19 ET4:19 GMT12:19 9:19 PM MST11:19 PM EST11:49 PM VEN8:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Toronto Blue Jays topped the Texas Rangers 7-5. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
June 21 8:07 AM PT9:07 AM MT10:07 AM CT11:07 AM ET11:07 ET15:07 GMT23:07 8:07 AM MST10:07 AM EST10:37 AM VEN19:07 UAE10:07 AM CT-Josh Donaldson went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 6-1. He ended the game with a .296 batting average.
June 20 9:41 PM PT10:41 PM MT11:41 PM CT12:41 AM ET0:41 ET4:41 GMT12:41 9:41 PM MST11:41 PM EST12:11 AM VEN8:41 UAE11:41 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 1 for 4 with an RBI Monday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the Texas Rangers 7-6. Donaldson scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .298 batting average.
June 18 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Toronto Blue Jays topped the Chicago White Sox 7-3. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
June 17 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2. He ended the game with a .305 batting average.
June 16 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 1 for 2 Friday as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Chicago White Sox 11-4. He ended the game with a .319 batting average.
June 14 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the Tampa Bay Rays 7-6. He ended the game with a .315 batting average.
June 13 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 2 for 4 Tuesday as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-1. He ended the game with a .326 batting average.
Analysis: Donaldson is batting .333 with six homers and 12 RBIs in 15 games since returning from a lengthy stay on the DL.
June 11 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 3 for 5 with a home run and three RBIs Sunday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the Seattle Mariners 4-0. The homer was his eighth of the season. Donaldson scored twice. He ended the game with a .317 batting average.
Analysis: Donaldson is 16 for 45 (.356) with six homers and 12 RBIs in his last 12 games.
June 11 9:49 AM PT10:49 AM MT11:49 AM CT12:49 PM ET12:49 ET16:49 GMT0:49 9:49 AM MST11:49 AM EST12:19 PM VEN20:49 UAE11:49 AM CT-Josh Donaldson went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the Seattle Mariners 4-2. He ended the game with a .299 batting average.
June 10 9:58 AM PT10:58 AM MT11:58 AM CT12:58 PM ET12:58 ET16:58 GMT0:58 9:58 AM MST11:58 AM EST12:28 PM VEN20:58 UAE11:58 AM CT-Josh Donaldson went 2 for 4 with a double Friday as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-2. He ended the game with a .311 batting average.
Analysis: Donaldson has reached base safely in 10 consecutive games, recording a .351/.455/.838 slash line.
June 7 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Donaldson went 1 for 2 with a home run and two RBIs Wednesday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the Oakland Athletics 7-5. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
Analysis: Donaldson's homer broke a 4-4 tie in the 10th.
June 7 11:29 PM PT12:29 AM MT1:29 AM CT2:29 AM ET2:29 ET6:29 GMT14:29 11:29 PM MST1:29 AM EST1:59 AM VEN10:29 UAE1:29 AM CT-Donaldson went 2 for 3 Tuesday as the Toronto Blue Jays fell to the Oakland Athletics 4-1. He ended the game with a .294 batting average.
Analysis: He's batting .367 in eight road games.
June 6 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET15:55 GMT23:55 8:55 AM MST10:55 AM EST11:25 AM VEN19:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Josh Donaldson went 1 for 4 with a double and an RBI Monday as the Toronto Blue Jays fell to the Oakland Athletics 5-3. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
June 4 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Toronto Blue Jays topped the New York Yankees 3-2. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
Analysis: Donaldson's third homer of the series was a big one, as it snapped a 2-all tie in the eighth inning. The 2015 AL MVP has now gone deep four times during a five-game stretch in which he's 6 for 20.
June 3 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Toronto Blue Jays fell to the New York Yankees 7-0. He ended the game with a .281 batting average.
June 2 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 2 for 5 with two home runs and two RBIs Friday as the Toronto Blue Jays topped the New York Yankees 7-5. The homers were his fourth and fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .296 batting average.
Analysis: Donaldson is 5 for 13 with three homers, a double and four RBIs in his last three games.
June 2 8:28 AM PT9:28 AM MT10:28 AM CT11:28 AM ET11:28 ET15:28 GMT23:28 8:28 AM MST10:28 AM EST10:58 AM VEN19:28 UAE10:28 AM CT-Josh Donaldson went 1 for 4 with a double Thursday as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 12-2. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Analysis: Donaldson, who is 5 for 20 with a homer and two doubles in five games since coming off the DL, has a tough mathcup Friday. The 2015 AL MVP is just 1 for 18 without a walk lifetime against Yankees scheduled starter Michael Pineda. That .056 batting average is his lowest among the 38 pitchers he has faced at least 18 times.
May 30 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the Cincinnati Reds 6-4. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .289 batting average.
Analysis: It was Donaldson's first homer in four games since being activated off the DL on Friday.
May 30 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Josh Donaldson went 1 for 4 with an RBI Monday as the Toronto Blue Jays topped the Cincinnati Reds 17-2. Donaldson scored once. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
May 28 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 3-1. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
May 26 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)10:31 PM CT-Josh Donaldson went 1 for 4 with a double Friday as the Toronto Blue Jays beat the Texas Rangers 7-6. He ended the game with a .303 batting average.
Analysis: Donaldson (right calf) was activated before the game. The 2015 AL MVP last played on April 13.
Apr. 13 6:01 PM PT7:01 PM MT8:01 PM CT9:01 PM ET21:01 ET1:01 GMT9:01 6:01 PM MST8:01 PM EST8:31 PM VEN5:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Like teammate Troy Tulowitzki, Donaldson (right calf) was activated from the DL and is in Friday's lineup against the Rangers.
Analysis: The 2015 AL MVP hasn't played since April 13. He is hitting .310 with two homers and four RBIs in nine games.
Apr. 12 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Donaldson is in Toronto's starting lineup as the designated hitter for Wednesday's game against Milwaukee.
Analysis: The slugger did not start Tuesday's series opener but struck out as a pinch-hitter in the ninth inning. Donaldson was held out after exiting Sunday's loss at Tampa Bay with a right calf injury he sustained while running out an at-bat in the sixth inning.
Apr. 9 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Donaldson (calf) was not in the starting lineup for Tuesday's home opener but did pinch hit off the bench. He exited Sunday's game at Tampa Bay in the sixth inning due to tightness in his right calf.
Analysis: The 2015 AL MVP did miss a good part of spring training with an injury to the same area, so he may not be fully in the clear just yet.
Apr. 8 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Donaldson hit his first home run of the season and ended 2 for 4 with two runs scored in Friday's loss at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: The standout third baseman also recorded his first RBI of the young campaign. Donaldson is batting .375 through the first four games despite striking out seven times in 16 at-bats.
Apr. 4 7:32 AM PT8:32 AM MT9:32 AM CT10:32 AM ET10:32 ET14:32 GMT22:32 7:32 AM MST9:32 AM EST10:02 AM VEN18:32 UAE9:32 AM CT-Donaldson went 3 for 5 in the Jays' 3-2, 11-inning loss to the Orioles on Monday.
Analysis: The 2015 MVP looked more than recovered from a spring calf injury in his 2017 debut.
Mar. 20 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Donaldson made his spring training debut Monday, going 0 for 2 with a walk in his first game since injuring his right calf more than a month ago.
Analysis: The 2015 AL MVP hurt himself Feb. 17 while running sprints. He was the designated hitter in an 8-2 loss to Minnesota, and is scheduled to play at his normal third base spot Wednesday. ''A really big day for him and the ballclub,'' Toronto manager John Gibbons said. ''We've been waiting for this day. It's a big step forward.''
Mar. 12 11:25 AM PT12:25 PM MT1:25 PM CT2:25 PM ET14:25 ET18:25 GMT2:25 11:25 AM MST1:25 PM EST1:55 PM VEN22:25 UAE12:25 PM CT-Donaldson said he expects to begin playing in spring training games later this week. Donaldson has been sidelined with a right calf injury suffered the day before the Blue Jays opened camp three weeks ago.
Analysis: The 2015 American League MVP went through his full pregame routing prior to Saturday's game. His running needs to improve before he can be cleared to play.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Oak 14 32 1 5 1 0 1 4 2 12 0 0 .156 .206 .281
2012 Oak 75 274 34 66 16 0 9 33 14 61 4 1 .241 .289 .398
2013 Oak 158 579 89 174 37 3 24 93 76 110 5 2 .301 .384 .499
2014 Oak 158 608 93 155 31 2 29 98 76 130 8 0 .255 .342 .456
2015 Tor 158 620 122 184 41 2 41 123 73 133 6 0 .297 .371 .568
2016 Tor 155 577 122 164 32 5 37 99 109 119 7 1 .284 .404 .549
2017 Tor 31 112 14 32 6 0 8 17 19 29 1 0 .286 .389 .554
Career 749 2802 475 780 164 12 149 467 369 594 31 4 .278 .366 .505

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Oak Total 5 17 1 5 1 0 0 0 1 4 0 0 .294 .333 .353
    LDS 5 17 1 5 1 0 0 0 1 4 0 0 .294 .333 .353
2013 Oak Total 5 21 0 3 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .143 .182 .143
    LDS 5 21 0 3 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .143 .182 .143
2014 Oak Total 1 5 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .400 .500 .400
    WC 1 5 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .400 .500 .400
2015 Tor Total 11 41 9 10 3 0 3 8 6 10 1 0 .244 .354 .537
    LDS 5 18 5 4 1 0 2 4 3 4 0 0 .222 .333 .611
    LCS 6 23 4 6 2 0 1 4 3 6 1 0 .261 .370 .478
2016 Tor Total 9 36 6 15 6 0 1 5 3 7 0 0 .417 .462 .667
    WC 1 5 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .400 .400 .600
    LDS 3 13 4 7 4 0 0 3 1 3 0 0 .538 .571 .846
    LCS 5 18 1 6 1 0 1 2 2 3 0 0 .333 .400 .556
Career 31 120 17 35 10 0 4 13 12 31 1 0 .292 .361 .475


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.