MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#53
Zack Britton
ERA S K
5.89 1 16
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-1 / 200
Position: RPBorn: 12/22/1987 Birthplace: Panorama City, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 3rd Round by Orioles (2006)


Latest News
Aug. 19 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Zack Britton allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 7-5 on Thursday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 5.89 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Zack Britton did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-2 on Wednesday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 5.71 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Zack Britton did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 2-1 on Monday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 6.06 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Zack Britton allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit and two walks in 0.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-5 on Saturday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.19 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Zack Britton fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on one hit and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 9-8 on Thursday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.32 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Zack Britton recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Wednesday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Zack Britton blew his second save, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-6 on Monday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 5.65 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST9:31 PM CST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Zack Britton did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 3-2 on Friday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Zack Britton allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-3 on Thursday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 5.84 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST2:19 PM CST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)2:19 PM CT-Zack Britton walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Sunday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.35 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Zack Britton allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Friday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 6.97 ERA and 1.84 WHIP on the season.
July 28 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Zack Britton walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Wednesday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Zack Britton allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Tuesday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 7.56 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
July 25 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST2:11 PM CST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)2:11 PM CT-Zack Britton blew his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4 on Sunday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.36 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
July 21 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Zack Britton allowed three runs - two earned - on zero hits and two walks in 0.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Wednesday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.53 ERA and 2.05 WHIP on the season.
July 20 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Zack Britton allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-4 on Tuesday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
July 19 1:08 AM PT2:08 AM MT3:08 AM CT4:08 AM ET4:08 ET8:08 GMT16:08 1:08 AM MST3:08 AM EST2:08 AM CST3:38 AM VEN12:08 UAE2:08 AM CT-Zack Britton allowed one run on zero hits and two walks in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 9-1 on Sunday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
June 25 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Zack Britton walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Friday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 23 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Zack Britton allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Wednesday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 17 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Zack Britton did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Thursday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 15 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Zack Britton allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Tuesday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 12 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST6:17 PM CST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Zack Britton did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-7 on Saturday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 9 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST10:11 PM CST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE10:11 PM CT-Britton (bone spur in left elbow) came off the 60-day injured list before Saturday's game against the Phillies.
Analysis: A two-time All-Star, Britton was 1-2 with a 1.89 ERA and eight saves in 20 appearances during the pandemic-shortened 2020 season. He filled in as closer for the first 3 1/2 weeks while Aroldis Chapman missed 21 games recovering from COVID-19.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Bal 11 11 0 - 0 28 28 0 154.1 162 93 79 12 62 3 97 1.45 4.61
2012 Bal 5 3 0 - 0 12 11 0 60.1 61 37 34 6 32 3 53 1.54 5.07
2013 Bal 2 3 0 - 0 8 7 0 40.0 52 23 22 4 17 1 18 1.73 4.95
2014 Bal 3 2 37 - 41 71 0 0 76.1 46 17 14 4 23 0 62 0.90 1.65
2015 Bal 4 1 36 - 40 64 0 0 65.2 51 16 14 3 14 1 79 0.99 1.92
2016 Bal 2 1 47 - 47 69 0 0 67.0 38 7 4 1 18 3 74 0.84 0.54
2017 Bal 2 1 15 - 17 38 0 0 37.1 39 12 12 1 18 1 29 1.53 2.89
2018 Bal 1 0 4 - 5 16 0 0 15.2 11 6 6 1 10 0 13 1.34 3.45
2018 NYY 1 0 3 - 5 25 0 0 25.0 18 10 8 2 11 0 21 1.16 2.88
2018 Tot 2 0 7 - 10 41 0 0 40.2 29 16 14 3 21 0 34 1.23 3.10
2019 NYY 3 1 3 - 7 66 0 0 61.1 38 13 13 3 32 1 53 1.14 1.91
2020 NYY 1 2 8 - 8 20 0 0 19.0 12 6 4 0 7 0 16 1.00 1.89
2021 NYY 0 1 1 - 4 22 0 0 18.1 17 14 12 2 14 0 16 1.69 5.89
Career 35 26 154 - 174 439 46 0 640.1 545 254 222 39 258 13 531 1.25 3.12

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Bal 28 8 3 5 1 0 1 2 0 1 0 0 .625 .625 1.125
Career 439 8 3 5 1 0 1 2 0 1 0 0 .625 .625 1.125

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 Bal Total 0 0 2 - 2 6 0 0 4.2 5 2 2 0 5 2 5 3.86
    LDS 0 0 2 - 2 3 0 0 2.1 2 1 1 0 1 1 2 3.86
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.1 3 1 1 0 4 1 3 3.86
2018 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 5.0 5 3 3 2 2 0 4 5.40
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 2 2 1 1 0 0 18.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 4.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 4 2.25
2019 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 8.0 2 1 1 1 6 1 6 1.13
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 1 1 1 1 1 0 1 3.86
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 5.2 1 0 0 0 5 1 5 0.00
2020 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 5.1 1 2 2 0 4 0 7 3.38
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 0 2 2 0 2 0 1 13.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 4.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 6 0.00
Career 0 0 2 - 2 21 0 0 23.0 13 8 8 3 17 3 22 3.13


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 283 96 89 92.6 83.98
Slider 54 82 77 80.3 16.02

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.