MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#44
Kyle Gibson
ERA W-L K
6.05 6-10 75
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-6 / 216 NFBC ADP: 514.03
Position: SPBorn: 10/23/1987 Birthplace: Greenfield, Indiana
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Twins (2009)


Latest News
Aug. 17 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Kyle Gibson fell to 6-10, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Cleveland Indians 9-3 on Thursday. Gibson struck out three, ending the game with a 6.05 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson has allowed nine runs and 19 hits in 14 innings over three starts since getting his spot in the rotation back when Jamie Garcia was traded to New York. He's failed to make it through six innings in 15 of his 21 starts.
Aug. 12 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Kyle Gibson allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Detroit Tigers 9-4 on Friday. Gibson struck out six, ending the game with a 6.02 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson got plenty of run support but still couldn't last long enough to earn his second win since July 4th. The right-hander is 1-3 with a 6.59 ERA over his last five starts, numbers that hardly merit a fantasy look.
Aug. 6 8:43 AM PT9:43 AM MT10:43 AM CT11:43 AM ET11:43 ET15:43 GMT23:43 8:43 AM MST10:43 AM EST11:13 AM VEN19:43 UAE10:43 AM CT-Kyle Gibson fell to 6-9, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Texas Rangers 4-1 on Saturday. Gibson struck out four, ending the game with a 6.03 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson has a 6.55 ERA at Target Field, where opponents have compiled a ridiculous .943 OPS against him.
Aug. 4 7:44 AM PT8:44 AM MT9:44 AM CT10:44 AM ET10:44 ET14:44 GMT22:44 7:44 AM MST9:44 AM EST10:14 AM VEN18:44 UAE9:44 AM CT-Twins manager Paul Molitor announced that Gibson would be recalled to fill in the open rotation spot after LHP Jaime Garcia was traded this week.
Analysis: The right-hander will start Saturday.
July 22 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Gibson improved to 6-8, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 7.1 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Detroit Tigers 6-5 on Saturday. Gibson struck out five, ending the game with a 6.08 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson had his longest outing of the season.
July 16 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Gibson fell to 5-8, allowing four runs on six hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Houston Astros 5-3 on Sunday.
Analysis: Gibson struck out six, ending the game with a 6.29 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
July 9 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Kyle Gibson fell to 5-7, allowing seven runs on nine hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Baltimore Orioles 11-5 on Sunday. Gibson struck out one, ending the game with a 6.31 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson had turned around his season in recent outings with a 3.98 ERA in his last seven starts, in which he was 4-2. Gibson also entered the game with 6.6 runs of support per start, the second-highest mark in the American League for pitchers with at least 15 starts.
July 4 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-Gibson improved to 5-6, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-4 on Tuesday. Gibson struck out four, ending the game with a 5.82 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson turned in his longest outing of the season.
June 30 8:51 AM PT9:51 AM MT10:51 AM CT11:51 AM ET11:51 ET15:51 GMT23:51 8:51 AM MST10:51 AM EST11:21 AM VEN19:51 UAE10:51 AM CT-Kyle Gibson fell to 4-6, allowing five runs - three earned - on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-3 on Thursday. Gibson struck out two, ending the game with a 6.11 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson has been somewhat serviceable since returning from a brief banishment from the minors, compiling a 3-2 record and a 4.12 ERA over his last seven starts. The former first-round pick still isn't much more than a desperation play in most fantasy formats.
June 24 6:07 PM PT7:07 PM MT8:07 PM CT9:07 PM ET21:07 ET1:07 GMT9:07 6:07 PM MST8:07 PM EST8:37 PM VEN5:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Kyle Gibson allowed one run on four hits and four walks in 4.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-2 on Saturday. Gibson struck out one, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
June 18 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Kyle Gibson fell to 4-5, allowing three runs on eight hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-2 on Sunday. Gibson struck out four, ending the game with a 6.56 ERA and 1.84 WHIP on the season.
June 14 9:58 AM PT10:58 AM MT11:58 AM CT12:58 PM ET12:58 ET16:58 GMT0:58 9:58 AM MST11:58 AM EST12:28 PM VEN20:58 UAE11:58 AM CT-Kyle Gibson improved to 4-4, allowing six runs on 12 hits in 6.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Seattle Mariners 20-7 on Tuesday. Gibson struck out four, ending the game with a 6.79 ERA and 1.84 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson won his third straight start despite yielding a career high in hits and tying a season high for runs allowed. He's 4-0 in his last five outings, backed by a whopping 34 runs of support.
June 9 9:39 AM PT10:39 AM MT11:39 AM CT12:39 PM ET12:39 ET16:39 GMT0:39 9:39 AM MST11:39 AM EST12:09 PM VEN20:39 UAE11:39 AM CT-Kyle Gibson improved to 3-4, allowing one run on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Seattle Mariners 2-1 on Thursday. Gibson struck out four, ending the game with a 6.52 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson has won all three of his decisions since his May 22 recall. "You never want to get sent down, but it's tough to be able to work on things up here," Gibson said. "I've just been able to execute a little better and keep my mind in a better spot."
June 3 10:23 AM PT11:23 AM MT12:23 PM CT1:23 PM ET13:23 ET17:23 GMT1:23 10:23 AM MST12:23 PM EST12:53 PM VEN21:23 UAE12:23 PM CT-Kyle Gibson improved to 2-4, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 11-5 on Friday. Gibson struck out six, ending the game with a 7.23 ERA and 1.89 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson's 98 pitches and 5.2 innings were both season highs. "That's what we think he can be, it's not like he hasn't done it at times," Molitor said. "He's just gotten away from some of those things. We all know he's thinker on the mound, sometimes to a fault.
May 28 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Kyle Gibson allowed three runs - two earned - on five hits and four walks in 5.1 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-6 on Sunday. Gibson struck out four, ending the game with a 7.85 ERA and 1.96 WHIP on the season.
May 23 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Kyle Gibson improved to 1-4, allowing six runs on seven hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Baltimore Orioles 14-7 on Monday. Gibson struck out five, ending the game with an 8.62 ERA and 2.01 WHIP on the season.
May 4 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Kyle Gibson fell to 0-4, allowing four runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-5 on Thursday. Gibson struck out three, ending the game with an 8.20 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gibson has no business being in a major league rotation.
Apr. 29 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Kyle Gibson allowed three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-4 on Friday. Gibson struck out one, ending the game with an 8.06 ERA and 1.84 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: This was a slight improvement after Gibson had lost his last three starts, but he remains a bad fantasy option. Gibson has given up at least one homer in all five of his outings and has failed to get through six innings in any of them, totaling 10 walks with just 13 strikeouts.
Apr. 23 5:52 PM PT6:52 PM MT7:52 PM CT8:52 PM ET20:52 ET0:52 GMT8:52 5:52 PM MST7:52 PM EST8:22 PM VEN4:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Gibson struggled again Sunday against Detroit, allowing seven runs and eight hits in 2 2/3 innings of a 13-4 loss.
Analysis: Gibson's ERA ballooned to 9.00 and he hasn't completed six innings in any of his four starts this season. He's 0-5 with a 7.02 ERA in his last seven starts dating to last season.
Apr. 12 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Gibson gave up five runs and four hits, including a grand slam to light-hitting Andrew Romine, in four innings of a 5-3 loss to the Tigers.
Analysis: Gibson was pulled after throwing only 62 pitches and may be starting to question himself. ''That was obviously the wrong pitch at the wrong time, because he was waiting for it,'' Gibson said of Romine's slam. ''I don't think I'm tipping pitches, but maybe I'm getting into a pattern."
Apr. 6 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-Gibson allowed three runs on five hits and two walks Thursday while not receiving a decision against the Royals. He struck out five but left after allowing a home run and single to start the fifth inning.
Analysis: Gibson went 6-11 with a 5.07 ERA in 25 starts last season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Min 2 4 0 - 0 10 10 0 51.0 69 38 37 7 20 0 29 1.75 6.53
2014 Min 13 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 179.1 178 91 89 12 57 0 107 1.31 4.47
2015 Min 11 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 194.2 186 88 83 18 65 6 145 1.29 3.84
2016 Min 6 11 0 - 0 25 25 1 147.1 175 89 83 20 55 3 104 1.56 5.07
2017 Min 6 10 0 - 0 21 21 0 108.2 136 77 73 18 50 0 75 1.71 6.05
Career 38 48 0 - 0 119 119 2 681.0 744 383 365 75 247 9 460 1.46 4.82

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Min 31 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 Min 32 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2016 Min 25 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .000 .125 .000
Career 119 16 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 9 0 0 .125 .176 .125


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1078 96 86 92 57.13
Curveball 214 82 76 79.5 11.34
Slider 315 87 79 83.8 16.69
Changeup 280 87 79 83.9 14.84

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.