MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#44
Anthony Rizzo
AVG HR RBI
.287 24 76
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 240 NFBC ADP: 9.96
Position: 1BBorn: 8/8/1989 Birthplace: Parkland, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Red Sox (2007)


Latest News
July 26 7:32 AM PT8:32 AM MT9:32 AM CT10:32 AM ET10:32 ET14:32 GMT22:32 7:32 AM MST9:32 AM EST10:02 AM VEN18:32 UAE9:32 AM CT-Rizzo drove in another run Monday.
Analysis: The All-Star first baseman, third in the NL with 76 RBIs, has driven in 13 runs in his last nine games but is batting just .189 in that span.
July 25 9:12 AM PT10:12 AM MT11:12 AM CT12:12 PM ET12:12 ET16:12 GMT0:12 9:12 AM MST11:12 AM EST11:42 AM VEN20:12 UAE11:12 AM CT-Rizzo's three-run double in the seventh inning put the Cubs ahead in Sunday's 6-5 win at Milwaukee.
Analysis: The All-Star first baseman's 75 RBIs are one off the NL lead and he's knocked in 12 runs over his last eight games. Rizzo is hitting .319 over his last 11.
July 20 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Rizzo homered twice off Bartolo Colon and the Chicago Cubs beat the Mets 6-2 Wednesday to take two of three in the rematch of last year's NL Championship Series.
Analysis: Rizzo had three RBIs on the day, and is batting .365 with nine home runs and 22 RBIs in his last 27 games.
July 18 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Rizzo hit a three-run homer Monday.
Analysis: Rizzo is hitting .414 with two homers, six doubles, a triple and seven RBIs in his last seven games.
July 16 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Rizzo delivered a go-ahead two-run doulbe off Yu Darvish in Saturday's 3-1 win over Texas.
Analysis: In the midst of an 11-game winning streak, Rizzo is batting .398 with 16 RBIs in his last 23 games.
July 15 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Rizzo extended his hitting streak to 10 games Friday.
Analysis: Rizzo is batting .425 over that 10-game stretch and .405 with six homers, 10 doubles and 14 RBIs over his past 22 contests.
July 10 5:53 PM PT6:53 PM MT7:53 PM CT8:53 PM ET20:53 ET0:53 GMT8:53 5:53 PM MST7:53 PM EST8:23 PM VEN4:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Rizzo went 4 for 5 with a pair of doubles in Sunday's 6-5 win over the Pirates.
Analysis: Rizzo was 8 for 10 with five extra-base hits in his final two games before the All-Star break to raise his batting average to .299 - the highest it's been since the fifth game of the season. He was batting .236 at the end of May, but is since hitting an MLB-best .385 to go with an NL-leading 1.201 OPS.
July 9 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Rizzo had four hits with a RBI on Saturday.
Analysis: Rizzo is batting .387 with 14 home runs in his last 20 games.
July 5 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)6:32 PM CT-Rizzo is one of five Cubs to be voted a starter for this year's All-Star Game. He led NL players with 3.2 million votes.
Analysis: Rizzo ranks among the major league leaders with 20 home runs and 61 RBIs.
July 3 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Rizzo clubbed his 20th homer Saturday.
Analysis: He is batting .396 with five home runs and 11 RBIs in his last 13 games.
June 29 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Rizzo legged out his first inside-the-park homer on Wednesday as the Cubs beat the Reds 9-2 to complete a three-game sweep.
Analysis: Rizzo's homer was his 19th and gave him a 10-game hitting streak, during which he's gone 16 for 36 with seven walks.
June 26 5:01 PM PT6:01 PM MT7:01 PM CT8:01 PM ET20:01 ET0:01 GMT8:01 5:01 PM MST7:01 PM EST7:31 PM VEN4:01 UAE (+1)7:01 PM CT-Rizzo went 2 for 4 in Sunday's 6-1 loss to Miami.
Analysis: Rizzo, who had missed two games earlier this week due to back stiffness, is batting .522 in his last seven contests. He leads the majors with a 1.210 OPS in June.
June 25 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Rizzo (back stiffness) returned to the lineup in Saturday's loss to Miami after missing the last two games.
Analysis: Rizzo didn't skip a beat in his return, doubling twice to extend his hitting streak to six games. He is batting .375 with four homers, six doubles and 14 RBIs in his last 15 contests.
June 24 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Rizzo (stiff back) was held out of the starting lineup Friday for the second game in a row but was feeling better, manager Joe Maddon said.
Analysis: Rizzo has been dealing with discomfort in his back throughout the season.
June 22 5:01 PM PT6:01 PM MT7:01 PM CT8:01 PM ET20:01 ET0:01 GMT8:01 5:01 PM MST7:01 PM EST7:31 PM VEN4:01 UAE (+1)7:01 PM CT-Rizzo exited Wednesday's loss to St. Louis in the sixth inning with tightness in his lower back.
Analysis: Rizzo has been dealing with discomfort in his back throughout the season, so his departure was likely precautionary. He could be rested when the Cubs open a series Thursday in Miami with the Marlins slated to start left-hander Wei-Yin Chen.
June 20 9:03 AM PT10:03 AM MT11:03 AM CT12:03 PM ET12:03 ET16:03 GMT0:03 9:03 AM MST11:03 AM EST11:33 AM VEN20:03 UAE11:03 AM CT-Rizzo went 3 for 4 with a homer and three RBIs in the Cubs' 10-5 rout of the Pirates on Sunday night.
Analysis: To say Rizzo is a Pirates killer would be an understatement. He's 16 for 34 against Pittsburgh this season with four homers, seven doubles, 12 RBIs and an otherworldly 1.566 OPS.
June 16 11:24 AM PT12:24 PM MT1:24 PM CT2:24 PM ET14:24 ET18:24 GMT2:24 11:24 AM MST1:24 PM EST1:54 PM VEN22:24 UAE1:24 PM CT-Rizzo tied Kris Bryant for the team lead with his 15th home run of the season Wednesday.
Analysis: The slugging first baseman has found his power stroke with four homers and 12 RBIs in his past 12 games. He had gone 16 straight without a homer while driving in just four runs.
June 13 8:14 AM PT9:14 AM MT10:14 AM CT11:14 AM ET11:14 ET15:14 GMT23:14 8:14 AM MST10:14 AM EST10:44 AM VEN19:14 UAE10:14 AM CT-Rizzo continued to inch up his batting average Sunday, going 3 for 6 with a double and three RBIs in a 13-2 win at Atlanta.
Analysis: Rizzo is batting .391 with three home runs, four doubles and 12 RBIs in his last 13 games. He needs to be in your lineup.
June 10 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Rizzo was a late scratch from the Cubs' lineup against the Braves due to back tightness.
Analysis: Rizzo, who started 56 of the team's first 58 games at first base, is listed as day to day.
June 7 9:50 PM PT10:50 PM MT11:50 PM CT12:50 AM ET0:50 ET4:50 GMT12:50 9:50 PM MST11:50 PM EST12:20 AM VEN8:50 UAE11:50 PM CT-Rizzo had three hits Monday.
Analysis: He's 12 for 26 with seven RBIs in nine games after going 3 for 41 in his previous 12.
June 5 10:45 AM PT11:45 AM MT12:45 PM CT1:45 PM ET13:45 ET17:45 GMT1:45 10:45 AM MST12:45 PM EST1:15 PM VEN21:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-Rizzo contributed two hits - including a solo home run - to Saturday's victory over Arizona.
Analysis: Rizzo appears to be breaking out of a recent slump. He's now homered in two of the last three games after going 16 straight without one and is 9 for 21 with five RBIs over his last seven.
May 15 10:08 AM PT11:08 AM MT12:08 PM CT1:08 PM ET13:08 ET17:08 GMT1:08 10:08 AM MST12:08 PM EST12:38 PM VEN21:08 UAE12:08 PM CT-Rizzo rocked the fantasy world Saturday.
Analysis: Rizzo hit a three-run jack and drove in four.
May 5 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Rizzo rocked the fantasy world Wednesday.
Analysis: Rizzo connected and was 3 for 5 with three runs scored.
Apr. 25 12:10 PM PT1:10 PM MT2:10 PM CT3:10 PM ET15:10 ET19:10 GMT3:10 12:10 PM MST2:10 PM EST2:40 PM VEN23:10 UAE2:10 PM CT-Rizzo rocked the fantasy world Sunday.
Analysis: Rizzo drove in four runs with his 10th career two-homer game. "It's just baseball," said Rizzo, who has eight home runs this season. "I opened my stance a little bit but nothing major. You stay with the process."
Apr. 23 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Rizzo homered on Friday for the third straight game.
Analysis: He is hitting only .194 but has six home runs and 17 RBIs in 17 games.
Apr. 22 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Rizzo went 1 for 6 but he launched a three-run home run in Thursday's 16-0 rout of the Reds.
Analysis: His average is still only .186, but Rizzo is showing signs of breaking out with homers in back-to-back games. He has 16 RBIs in as many games.
Apr. 8 12:50 AM PT1:50 AM MT2:50 AM CT3:50 AM ET3:50 ET7:50 GMT15:50 12:50 AM MST2:50 AM EST3:20 AM VEN11:50 UAE2:50 AM CT-Rizzo matched his career high with six RBIs as the Chicago Cubs beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 14-6 on Thursday night.
Analysis: Rizzo had a three-run homer, two-run triple and an RBI single. He had six RBIs in a game twice before, the last time on the same field on May 23, 2015. Rizzo has two homers and nine RBIs during the Cubs' 3-0 start.
Apr. 6 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Rizzo hit a two-run homer in Tuesday's win over the Angels.
Analysis: He finished the two-game sweep with three RBIs and also walked twice.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 SD 49 128 9 18 8 1 1 9 21 46 2 1 .141 .281 .242
2012 ChC 87 337 44 96 15 0 15 48 27 62 3 2 .285 .342 .463
2013 ChC 160 606 71 141 40 2 23 80 76 127 6 5 .233 .323 .419
2014 ChC 140 524 89 150 28 1 32 78 73 116 5 4 .286 .386 .527
2015 ChC 160 586 94 163 38 3 31 101 78 105 17 6 .278 .387 .512
2016 ChC 96 352 59 101 27 2 24 76 52 68 2 3 .287 .395 .580
Career 692 2533 366 669 156 9 126 392 327 524 35 21 .264 .362 .482

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 ChC Total 9 32 4 6 0 0 2 2 2 8 0 0 .188 .257 .375
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 4 14 3 3 0 0 2 2 1 4 0 0 .214 .267 .643
    LCS 4 14 1 3 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .214 .313 .214
Career 9 32 4 6 0 0 2 2 2 8 0 0 .188 .257 .375


w11 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.