MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#40
Shelby Miller
ERA W-L K
3.75 10-9 115
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-3 / 195 NFBC ADP: 117.89
Position: SPBorn: 10/10/1990 Birthplace: Houston, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Cardinals (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 9 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Miller allowed just three hits over seven innings, picking up his first victory since July 31 in Monday's 5-0 win at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Miller has given up three hits over seven shutout innings in his last two outings. He's posted four consecutive quality starts.
Aug. 1 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Miller and three relievers combined on a three-hitter Thursday.
Analysis: Miller did well on an emotional day as he teared up afterward while talking about former teammate Joe Kelly, who was traded away. He held San Diego to two runs and three hits in six innings
July 27 12:13 PM PT1:13 PM MT2:13 PM CT3:13 PM ET15:13 ET19:13 GMT3:13 12:13 PM MST2:13 PM EST2:43 PM VEN23:13 UAE2:13 PM CT-Miller's winless stretch extended to seven starts Saturday, though he limited the Cubs to two runs and three hits over 5 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Miller is 0-3 with a 5.59 ERA in seven starts since his last victory, a complete-game effort at Toronto on June 7.
July 6 10:48 AM PT11:48 AM MT12:48 PM CT1:48 PM ET13:48 ET17:48 GMT1:48 10:48 AM MST12:48 PM EST1:18 PM VEN21:48 UAE12:48 PM CT-Miller did not get a decision in Saturday's loss to Miami.
Analysis: Miller needed 107 pitches to work 5 1-3 innings and was charged with three runs on nine hits. He figures to make his next start against the Bucs.
June 30 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Miller was knocked around for six runs and seven hits over five innings of Sunday's 6-0 road loss to the Dodgers.
Analysis: Miller is 1-5 with a 5.55 ERA over his last eight games after starting the season 6-2 with a 2.79 ERA.
June 24 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Miller left the game in the third inning with back tightness Tuesday night against the Colorado Rockies.
Analysis: The Cardinals put starters Michael Wacha and Jaime Garcia on the 15-day disabled list Sunday. Miller arched his back after delivering a pitch to Jorge De La Rosa, clearly in some discomfort. Cardinals manager Mike Matheny and the trainer instantly trotted out to check on the right-hander.
May 18 12:19 PM PT1:19 PM MT2:19 PM CT3:19 PM ET15:19 ET19:19 GMT3:19 12:19 PM MST2:19 PM EST2:49 PM VEN23:19 UAE2:19 PM CT-Miller gave up five hits and one unearned run over seven innings in a 4-1 win over Atlanta on Saturday.
Analysis: Miller is 5-0 with a 2.17 ERA in his last five starts.
May 6 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Miller improved to 4-2 on Monday against the Braves.
Analysis: Miller got a shaky win, giving up six hits and two runs in five-plus innings. He faces the Bucs next.
May 1 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Miller improved to 3-2 on Wednesday against the Brewers.
Analysis: The right-hander limited Milwaukee to three runs and six hits over six innings. Walks still appear to be an issue, as he issued three free passes and has walked 21 over 34 1-3 innings on the season.
Apr. 26 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Miller recorded his second win in three starts Friday against Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Miller gave up three hits over 5 2-3 shutout innings, though he issued four walks. Walks have been a problem all season as he's averaging 5.72 free passes per nine innings after averaging a 2.94 rate through his first two years in the bigs.
Apr. 16 8:56 AM PT9:56 AM MT10:56 AM CT11:56 AM ET11:56 ET15:56 GMT23:56 8:56 AM MST10:56 AM EST11:26 AM VEN19:56 UAE10:56 AM CT-Miller earned his first fantasy win Tuesday. He struck out seven and allowed three hits over six innings.
Analysis: Miller routinely fired fastballs clocked into the mid-90s past hitters before turning the game over to the bullpen in the seventh. He bounced back after starting the year with two losses and a 6.35 ERA in his first two starts. He should face the Nats in his next one.
Apr. 5 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Miller took the loss in his season debut, surrendering five runs and six hits - including three homers - in 5 1-3 innings of Friday's defeat to the Pirates.
Analysis: Owners shouldn't panic, but Miller did allow 1.04 homers per nine innings last season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 StL 1 0 0 - 0 6 1 0 13.2 9 2 2 0 4 0 16 0.95 1.32
2013 StL 15 9 0 - 0 31 31 1 173.1 152 65 59 20 57 0 169 1.21 3.06
2014 StL 10 9 0 - 0 30 29 1 172.2 150 73 72 20 71 4 115 1.28 3.75
Career 26 18 0 - 0 67 61 2 359.2 311 140 133 40 132 4 300 1.23 3.33

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 StL 6 3 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .667 .667 1.000
2013 StL 31 53 3 4 1 0 1 2 1 29 0 0 .075 .109 .151
2014 StL 30 47 6 9 5 0 0 4 2 24 0 0 .191 .224 .298
Career 67 103 9 15 7 0 1 6 3 53 0 0 .146 .178 .243

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 4 2 2 0 1 0 4 5.40
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 4 2 2 0 1 0 4 5.40
2013 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 9.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 9.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 4.1 5 3 3 1 1 0 5 6.23


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1925 97 89 92 71.96
Curveball 517 82 73 77 19.33
Changeup 67 89 83 85.9 2.5
Cut Fastball 166 90 84 85 6.21

127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.