MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#17
Alex Cobb
ERA W-L K
5.31 3-15 85
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-3 / 205
Position: SPBorn: 10/7/1987 Birthplace: Boston, Massachusetts
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Devil Rays (2006)


Latest News
Aug. 12 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 3-15, allowing two runs - one earned - on six hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Sunday. Cobb struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.31 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Alex Cobb allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Tuesday. Cobb struck out three, ending the game with a 5.55 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST3:01 PM CST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Alex Cobb improved to 3-14, allowing one run on seven hits in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 7-5 on Wednesday. Cobb struck out six, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
July 26 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 2-14, allowing four runs - three earned - on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Thursday. Cobb struck out two, ending the game with a 6.08 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
July 21 12:40 PM PT1:40 PM MT2:40 PM CT3:40 PM ET15:40 ET19:40 GMT3:40 12:40 PM MST2:40 PM EST1:40 PM CST3:10 PM VEN23:40 UAE2:40 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 2-13, allowing four runs - one earned - on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1 on Saturday. Cobb struck out four, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
July 13 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 2-12, allowing two runs on six hits in 6.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Texas Rangers 5-4 on Friday. Cobb struck out three, ending the game with a 6.41 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
July 8 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 2-11, allowing five runs - four earned - on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Minnesota Twins 10-1 on Sunday. Cobb struck out five, ending the game with a 6.57 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Cobb came out of the game with a blister.
July 3 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 2-10, allowing three runs on four hits and three walks in 6.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Tuesday. Cobb struck out five, ending the game with a 6.53 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 27 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Alex Cobb allowed five runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Seattle Mariners 8-7 on Wednesday. Cobb struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
June 23 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Alex Cobb allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Atlanta Braves 10-7 on Friday. Cobb struck out six, ending the game with a 6.56 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
June 16 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 2-9, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Saturday. Cobb struck out six, ending the game with a 7.14 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 2-8, allowing nine runs on 11 hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 13-3 on Sunday. Cobb struck out five, ending the game with a 7.23 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
June 5 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Alex Cobb improved to 2-7, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Mets 2-1 on Tuesday. Cobb struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.19 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
May 28 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 1-7, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Washington Nationals 6-0 on Monday. Cobb struck out three, ending the game with a 6.80 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
May 23 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 1-6, allowing six runs on eight hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 11-1 on Wednesday. Cobb struck out three, ending the game with a 7.32 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Alex Cobb improved to 1-5, allowing three runs on 10 hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Friday. Cobb struck out three, ending the game with a 6.56 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-5, allowing four runs - three earned - on seven hits in 5.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-3 on Saturday. Cobb struck out five, ending the game with a 7.06 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 6 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST4:36 PM CST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-4, allowing two runs - one earned - on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Oakland Athletics 2-1 on Sunday. Cobb struck out five, ending the game with a 7.61 ERA and 2.03 WHIP on the season.
May 2 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST11:14 PM CST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE12:14 AM CT-Alex Cobb allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2 on Tuesday. Cobb struck out two, ending the game with a 9.68 ERA and 2.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-3, allowing five runs on 10 hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-4 on Wednesday. Cobb did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 13.11 ERA and 2.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-2, allowing seven runs - five earned - on 10 hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 13-8 on Thursday. Cobb struck out four, ending the game with a 15.43 ERA and 3.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Cobb made his second start after signing a $57 million, four-year contract in spring training.
Apr. 14 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-1, allowing eight runs - seven earned - on 10 hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 10-3 on Saturday. Cobb did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 17.18 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 11:19 AM PT12:19 PM MT1:19 PM CT2:19 PM ET14:19 ET18:19 GMT2:19 11:19 AM MST1:19 PM EST12:19 PM CST1:49 PM VEN22:19 UAE1:19 PM CT-Cobb remains on course to make his Orioles debut Saturday in Boston.
Analysis: Manager Buck Showalter said the team will ''be cautious'' about Cobb's pitch count.
Mar. 21 10:21 AM PT11:21 AM MT12:21 PM CT1:21 PM ET13:21 ET17:21 GMT1:21 10:21 AM MST12:21 PM EST11:21 AM CST12:51 PM VEN21:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-The Orioles and Cobb have finalized a four-year contract that will pay the free-agent hurler $57 million.
Analysis: After having to wait out this offseason's slow market, Cobb lands himself in a very good spot with the Orioles in great need of another proven rotation arm. The former Tampa Bay Ray returned from Tommy John surgery to win a career-high 12 games and post a solid 3.66 ERA in 29 starts last season. He'll need some time to get stretched out but figures to be ready to contribute sometime in April.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.