MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#49
Jeff Locke
ERA W-L K
4.49 8-11 129
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-0 / 185 NFBC ADP: 629.75
Position: SPBorn: 11/20/1987 Birthplace: North Conway, New Hampshire
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Braves (2006)


Latest News
Jan. 14 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Locke and the Pittsburgh Pirates agreed to a one-year contract worth $3,025,000, a raise from $531,000.
Analysis: The 28-year-old, eligible for arbitration for the first time, was 8-11 with a 4.49 ERA in 30 starts last year.
Sep. 13 10:54 AM PT11:54 AM MT12:54 PM CT1:54 PM ET13:54 ET17:54 GMT1:54 10:54 AM MST12:54 PM EST1:24 PM VEN21:54 UAE12:54 PM CT-Locke struck out seven and allowed a run on three hits over 6 1-3 sharp innings in Saturday's win over Milwaukee.
Analysis: The lefty had lost his previous two starts and posted a 6.27 ERA over those outings. Locke has been inconsistent throughout the season, as evidenced by his 8-10 record and 4.43 ERA.
Aug. 27 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Locke earned his first win in five starts this month with a 7-2 victory in Miami on Wednesday.
Analysis: Locke (7-8, 4.46 ERA) gave up two runs in seven innings after going 0-2 with a 6.43 ERA in his previous four outings. He was 1-4 with a 5.40 ERA in his prior eight.
Aug. 22 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Locke gave up a career-worst 11 hits along with six runs over five innings in Friday's 6-4 loss to San Francisco.
Analysis: Locke is 1-2 with a 6.39 ERA over his last six starts, failing to complete more than 5 2-3 innings a single time.
June 29 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Locke yielded one run in five innings Sunday against Atlanta, but Alex Wood outdueled him in a 2-1 loss, his first in five starts.
Analysis: Locke (4-4, 4.55 ERA) has a 2.14 ERA in his last four outings.
June 18 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE2:33 PM CT-Locke gave up two runs in six innings, three hits and had a season-high eight strikeouts Wednesday.
Analysis: Locke will have a tougher time next week against the Reds. You can bank on that.
June 13 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Locke tossed six scoreless innings Friday but the Pirates needed 13 for a 1-0 win over Philadelphia.
Analysis: Locke (3-3, 4.90 ERA) allowed 11 runs in 10 1-3 innings in his prior two starts.
May 27 9:10 AM PT10:10 AM MT11:10 AM CT12:10 PM ET12:10 ET16:10 GMT0:10 9:10 AM MST11:10 AM EST11:40 AM VEN20:10 UAE11:10 AM CT-Locke worked into the sixth inning in his first win in more than a month, and the Pittsburgh Pirates dropped the reeling Miami Marlins 5-1 on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Locke (3-2, 4.70 ERA) struck out six and walked four in 5 2-3 scoreless innings for his first victory this season against a team other than last-place Milwaukee. It was his first win since April 18, and he was 0-2 with a 6.75 ERA in his prior six outings.
Apr. 11 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Locke won his first start of the season, giving up two runs and seven hits over six innings in a 6-2 victory at Milwaukee on Friday.
Analysis: It took Locke five starts to earn his first win last season, and he was only 2-3 through his first 11 outings.
Mar. 17 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Locke was roughed up for six runs and seven hits in three innings, leaving him with a 9.00 ERA Tuesday.
Analysis: Locke is competing for a rotation spot with right-hander Vance Worley, who pitched four scoreless innings Sunday. Locke said the Pirates have given no indication regarding when a fifth starter could be announced.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Pit 0 3 0 - 0 4 4 0 16.2 21 12 12 3 10 0 5 1.86 6.48
2012 Pit 1 3 0 - 0 8 6 0 34.1 36 21 21 6 11 0 34 1.37 5.50
2013 Pit 10 7 0 - 0 30 30 0 166.1 146 69 65 11 84 4 125 1.38 3.52
2014 Pit 7 6 0 - 0 21 21 0 131.1 127 63 57 16 40 2 89 1.27 3.91
2015 Pit 8 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 168.1 179 95 84 15 60 4 129 1.42 4.49
Career 26 30 0 - 0 93 91 0 517.0 509 260 239 51 205 10 382 1.38 4.16

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Pit 4 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Pit 8 11 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .091 .091 .091
2013 Pit 30 47 3 5 0 0 0 0 2 19 0 0 .106 .143 .106
2014 Pit 21 45 3 5 0 0 0 0 2 30 0 0 .111 .149 .111
2015 Pit 30 45 1 3 1 0 0 2 2 18 0 0 .067 .106 .089
Career 93 153 7 14 1 0 0 2 6 78 0 0 .092 .126 .098


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1697 95 87 91.3 61.4
Curveball 439 84 72 79.5 15.88
Changeup 628 86 76 81.1 22.72

w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.