MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#24
Gary Sánchez
AVG HR RBI
.299 12 34
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-2 / 230 NFBC ADP: 47.75
Position: CBorn: 12/2/1992 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2009)


Latest News
June 24 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 3 Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Texas Rangers 2-1. Sanchez scored once. He ended the game with a .299 batting average.
Analysis: Sanchez is 20 for 47 (.426) with six homers and 18 RBIs in his last 13 games.
June 23 8:17 AM PT9:17 AM MT10:17 AM CT11:17 AM ET11:17 ET15:17 GMT23:17 8:17 AM MST10:17 AM EST10:47 AM VEN19:17 UAE10:17 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 4 Thursday as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 10-5. He ended the game with a .292 batting average.
June 22 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Los Angeles Angels 8-4. Sanchez scored twice. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
June 21 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Los Angeles Angels 8-3. The homer was his 12th of the season. He ended the game with a .288 batting average.
Analysis: It was Sanchez's sixth homer in his last 10 games. He's batting .417 (15 for 36) with 18 RBIs and 12 runs over that stretch.
June 19 8:18 AM PT9:18 AM MT10:18 AM CT11:18 AM ET11:18 ET15:18 GMT23:18 8:18 AM MST10:18 AM EST10:48 AM VEN19:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 4 Sunday as the New York Yankees fell to the Oakland Athletics 4-3. He ended the game with a .287 batting average.
June 18 7:56 AM PT8:56 AM MT9:56 AM CT10:56 AM ET10:56 ET14:56 GMT22:56 7:56 AM MST9:56 AM EST10:26 AM VEN18:56 UAE9:56 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 1 Saturday as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-2. He ended the game with a .295 batting average.
June 16 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)7:17 PM CT-Manager Joe Girardi said before Friday night's game in Oakland that Sanchez is day to day with a groin injury and was held out of the lineup.
Analysis: Sanchez will be re-evaluated Saturday. He is batting .297 with 11 homers and 33 RBIs.
June 16 11:42 AM PT12:42 PM MT1:42 PM CT2:42 PM ET14:42 ET18:42 GMT2:42 11:42 AM MST1:42 PM EST2:12 PM VEN22:42 UAE1:42 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 3 for 3 with a double and two RBIs Thursday as the New York Yankees fell to the Oakland Athletics 8-7. Sanchez scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .297 batting average.
Analysis: Sanchez left the game for a pinch runner in the ninth after stealing a base. "When I got up, I tried to move too quickly, and that's when I felt a little tightness in the groin area," said Sanchez, who is not in Friday's lineup.
June 15 10:33 AM PT11:33 AM MT12:33 PM CT1:33 PM ET13:33 ET17:33 GMT1:33 10:33 AM MST12:33 PM EST1:03 PM VEN21:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 3 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs Wednesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 7-5. The homer was his 11th of the season. Sanchez scored twice. He ended the game with a .282 batting average.
Analysis: Sanchez's homer was his fifth in the last six games. He is batting .440 with 15 RBIs and 10 runs in those contests.
June 14 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
June 11 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 5 with a home run and three RBIs Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 14-3. The homer was his 10th of the season. He ended the game with a .276 batting average.
Analysis: The warmer weather seems to have an effect on Sanchez's bat, as he's 8 for 17 with four homers, 12 RBIs and eight runs scored over an outstanding four-game stretch. The Yankees' upcoming West Coast trip could bring more of a challenge, though, since he's 5 for 25 over his last six games away from Yankee Stadium.
June 10 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 3 for 4 with a double, a home run and four RBIs Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 16-3. The homer was his ninth of the season. Sanchez scored twice. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
Analysis: Sanchez is 11 for 34 (.324) with five home runs and 13 RBIs in his last eight games.
June 9 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 4 with a double Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 8-2. Sanchez scored twice. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
Analysis: Sanchez has been doing some damage since being moved down to sixth in the order, as he's 5 for 12 with two homers, six RBIs and six runs scored in three games at that spot. The Yankees' offense is humming right now, and the standout catcher is a big reason why.
June 8 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 4 with two home runs and five RBIs Thursday as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 9-1. The homers were his seventh and eighth of the season. Sanchez scored three times. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Analysis: The 2016 AL Rookie of the Year runner-up is getting his power stroke back. Sanchez has now posted a pair of two-homer efforts through his first six games of June, matching his entire total through his first 26 contests of 2017. He's gone deep once in seven at-bats against Baltimore's Dylan Bundy, who'll face the Yankees in Friday's opener of a three-game series.
June 7 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 4 with an RBI Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 8-0. Sanchez scored once. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Analysis: Joe Girardi dropped Sanchez from second to sixth in the order, and the young catcher responded with a key RBI single during the Yankees' four-run fourth inning. He's still hitting just .176 with 17 strikeouts in 51 at-bats over his last 14 games.
June 7 7:18 AM PT8:18 AM MT9:18 AM CT10:18 AM ET10:18 ET14:18 GMT22:18 7:18 AM MST9:18 AM EST9:48 AM VEN18:18 UAE9:18 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
June 4 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 3 Sunday as the New York Yankees fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
June 2 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 5 Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5. Sanchez scored once. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
June 2 9:03 AM PT10:03 AM MT11:03 AM CT12:03 PM ET12:03 ET16:03 GMT0:03 9:03 AM MST11:03 AM EST11:33 AM VEN20:03 UAE11:03 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 5 with two home runs and three RBIs Thursday as the New York Yankees beat the Toronto Blue Jays 12-2. The homers were his fifth and sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
Analysis: Sanchez is now 6 for 18 in his last four games after going 1 for 16 with eight strikeouts in his previous six. He is batting .391 with five homers, seven walks, 11 RBIs and nine runs in his last 12 road games but is just 3 for 19 against left-handers this season. The Blue Jays send lefty Francisco Liriano to the mound on Friday.
May 30 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 8-3. Sanchez scored once. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
May 29 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 4 Monday as the New York Yankees fell to the Baltimore Orioles 3-2. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 28 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 5 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the New York Yankees topped the Oakland Athletics 9-5. Sanchez scored once. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 27 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 2 Saturday as the New York Yankees topped the Oakland Athletics 3-2. Sanchez scored twice. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
May 26 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 1 Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-1. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
May 24 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Yankees topped the Kansas City Royals 3-0. Sanchez scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
May 23 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-2. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
May 22 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 4 Monday as the New York Yankees topped the Kansas City Royals 4-2. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
May 21 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 4 Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 20 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-5. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .303 batting average.
Analysis: It's the second homer in four games for the young star, who's hitting a scorching .405 (17 for 42) with three long balls and nine RBIs over an 11-game stretch.
May 19 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 4 Thursday as the New York Yankees lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-1. He ended the game with a .290 batting average.
May 18 8:43 AM PT9:43 AM MT10:43 AM CT11:43 AM ET11:43 ET15:43 GMT23:43 8:43 AM MST10:43 AM EST11:13 AM VEN19:43 UAE10:43 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Kansas City Royals 11-7. Sanchez scored once. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
Analysis: It was the third straight game in which Sanchez has had two hits, drawn a walk and scored at least once.
May 17 9:32 AM PT10:32 AM MT11:32 AM CT12:32 PM ET12:32 ET16:32 GMT0:32 9:32 AM MST11:32 AM EST12:02 PM VEN20:32 UAE11:32 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs Tuesday as the New York Yankees beat the Kansas City Royals 7-1. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .278 batting average.
Analysis: Sanchez has hit all three of his homers on the road this season.
May 15 6:54 AM PT7:54 AM MT8:54 AM CT9:54 AM ET9:54 ET13:54 GMT21:54 6:54 AM MST8:54 AM EST9:24 AM VEN17:54 UAE8:54 AM CT-Sanchez went 2 for 4 with a double in Sunday's nightcap as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 10-7. Sanchez scored twice. He ended the game with a .260 batting average.
Analysis: He was two for 14 in his previous three games.
May 12 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees fell to the Houston Astros 5-1. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
May 11 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 5 with an RBI Thursday as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 3-2. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
Analysis: The Yankee catcher knocked in a run for a third straight game and has five RBIs during a five-game hitting streak in which he's 8 for 18 with a home run.
May 9 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
May 8 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 3 for 3 with two RBIs Monday as the New York Yankees topped the Cincinnati Reds 10-4. He ended the game with a .281 batting average.
Analysis: After going 0 for 4 in Friday's return from the DL, Sanchez is 6 for 8 with four walks and three RBIs in three games since. The 2016 AL Rookie of the Year runner-up may finally be ready to justify his high selection in many fantasy drafts.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Gary Sanchez went 1 for 1 Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Chicago Cubs 5-4. He ended the game with a .207 batting average.
May 6 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Gary Sanchez went 2 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Chicago Cubs 11-6. Sanchez scored twice.
Analysis: It was Sanchez's second game back since straining his right biceps at Baltimore on April 8. The 2016 AL Rookie of the Year runner-up improved to 5 for 28 (.179) with a homer and three RBIs in seven games this season.
Apr. 8 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Sanchez was activated from the disabled list and made his return in Friday's series opener against the Cubs. He went 0 for 4 as the Yankees won 3-2, ending the game with a .125 batting average.
Analysis: Sanchez made his first major league appearance since straining his right biceps at Baltimore on April 8. The 2016 AL Rookie of the Year runner-up was cleared after going 5 for 13 with a home run and two doubles in three rehab games with Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes Barre.
Apr. 8 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Sanchez departed Saturday's game at Baltimore after straining his right biceps during an at-bat in the fifth inning.
Analysis: The Yankees' rising star will be further evaluated, though he'll likely sit out Sunday's series finale at the least. Sanchez finished second in last year's AL Rookie of the Year voting after hitting .299 with 20 homers and 42 RBIs in only 53 games, though he's started this season in a 3-for-20 slump.
Apr. 5 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Sanchez, off to a 1-for-14 start, singled off Alex Cobb in the third inning in Wednesday's loss for his first hit.
Analysis: After last year's finish, fantasy owners are expecting big things from Sanchez. We believe he'll be just fine in the long run.
Apr. 5 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Sanchez went hitless for the second straight game Tuesday at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Sanchez is 0 for 8 with three strikeouts in his first two games of the season. Dating to last season, Sanchez is 2 for 39 with 15 strikeouts in his last 10 games.
Mar. 9 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)2:41 PM CT-Sanchez and Greg Bird are providing hope that the New York Yankees can compete for the playoffs even during a season in which they're leaning toward a youth movement. The pair of 24-year old sluggers is putting up big numbers in exhibition games, both hitting well over .300 with three homers apiece.
Analysis: Sanchez was called up Aug. 3 last season to catch and put together a spectacular final two months. Despite playing in just 53 games, he ended up tied for the fourth-most homers ever by a Yankees rookie with 20 and was second in the AL Rookie of the Year voting.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYY 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 NYY 53 201 34 60 12 0 20 42 24 57 1 0 .299 .376 .657
2017 NYY 44 164 33 49 5 0 12 34 18 42 2 1 .299 .382 .549
Career 99 367 67 109 17 0 32 76 42 100 3 1 .297 .376 .605


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.