MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#45
Gerrit Cole
ERA W-L K
3.88 7-10 98
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-4 / 230 NFBC ADP: 36.01
Position: SPBorn: 9/8/1990 Birthplace: Newport Beach, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Pirates (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 13 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-The Pirates have shut down Cole for the rest of the season due to discomfort and inflammation in his right elbow.
Analysis: It's been a rocky season for Cole, who has made DL stints due to his right elbow and right triceps. He posted an 8.37 ERA over his final five starts and one has to wonder about his long-term health heading into 2017.
Sep. 12 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Cole allowed five runs in two innings in his first start off the disabled list Monday against the Phillies.
Analysis: He was sidelined with elbow inflammation and hoped his return could boost a Pirates team that is all but out of the NL wild-card race. He'll make his next start Saturday in Cincinnati. He has a 6.12 ERA in losing his last five starts to the Reds.
Aug. 30 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Cole (elbow inflammation) threw a 32-pitch bullpen session before the game and said he is ready to be activated from the DL on Monday night and start at Philadelphia.
Analysis: Cole, who has been out since Aug. 25, had a 6.08 ERA in five starts last month.
Aug. 29 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-Cole was placed on the 15-day disabled list Monday with right elbow inflammation.
Analysis: An MRI has ruled out structural damage in Cole's elbow, but he was scheduled to get a second opinion in Los Angeles. There should be more clarity on his status in the next couple of days. Cole is 7-9 with a 3.55 ERA in 20 starts this season.
Aug. 24 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Cole's recent struggles continued Wednesday as he allowed five runs over five innings of a loss to the Astros.
Analysis: The right-hander is 0-3 with a 7.06 ERA in his last four starts, allowing 34 hits over 21 2/3 innings during that span.
Aug. 14 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET16:18 GMT0:18 9:18 AM MST11:18 AM EST11:48 AM VEN20:18 UAE11:18 AM CT-Cole had an outing to forget in Saturday's loss to the Dodgers, where the Southern California native permitted a career-high 12 hits and six runs - five earned - over 4 1/3 innings.
Analysis: Cole's performances have been up and down since he came back from a triceps injury, as he's now 2-4 with a 4.24 ERA in six starts following his return from the DL. He also wasn't great in his previous start, surrendering four runs and issuing three walks in 5 2/3 innings in a loss to Cincinnati.
Aug. 2 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)10:43 PM CT-Cole struck out four and allowed seven hits, two walks and two runs - one earned - in five innings of the Pirates' 5-3 win over the Braves on Tuesday.
Analysis: Cole is now 2-1 with a 1.35 ERA in his last three starts.
July 28 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Cole pitched a three-hitter Wednesday for his first career complete game, allowing one run and striking out six with no walks to beat the Mariners.
Analysis: The right-hander won for the first time in seven starts since May 26. He spent time on the disabled list with a strained right triceps from June 14-July 16. Cole has a 2.25 ERA in his past 10 outings.
July 22 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Cole yielded one run and six hits in six innings, with seven strikeouts and one walk, in the Pirates' 4-0 loss to the Phillies on Friday.
Analysis: Cole was much better than in his first start off the DL, when he gave up five runs in four innings in a loss to the Nationals. He has a 2.47 ERA over his last nine starts.
June 14 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Cole's return to the mound didn't go well, as the Pittsburgh ace was tagged for five runs (four earned) and seven hits over four innings in Saturday's loss at Washington.
Analysis: Cole was making his first major league start since exiting a June 10 outing against St. Louis with a strained right biceps. The 2015 All-Star, who was 3-1 with a 1.98 ERA in his previous seven starts, should fare better against light-hitting Philadelphia on Friday.
June 10 5:08 PM PT6:08 PM MT7:08 PM CT8:08 PM ET20:08 ET0:08 GMT8:08 5:08 PM MST7:08 PM EST7:38 PM VEN4:08 UAE (+1)7:08 PM CT-Cole left Friday's game against the Cardinals in the third inning with right triceps tightness.
Analysis: Cole allowed a single to Matt Carpenter to lead off the third and then summoned a trainer and manager Clint Hurdle to the mound. After a few minutes of consultation, Cole walked to the dugout. He struck out three and walked two.
May 27 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Cole turned in a strange fantasy effort Thursday.
Analysis: Cole did not have his best stuff - at least on the mound and threw 106 pitches to get through five innings, yielding an unearned run. His bat was much sharper. In the third inning, Cole helped his own cause with a 409-foot, three-run home run to left-center field that scored Francisco Cervelli and Gregory Polanco. He added a double in the fourth inning to finish 2 for 2 to raise his batting average to .200 on the season.
May 21 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE2:37 PM CT-Cole threw seven effective innings Friday against Colorado to win his third straight start.
Analysis: The Pittsburgh ace held the Rockies to one run despite allowing 10 hits and failing to record a strikeout. He's now 5-1 with a 2.39 ERA over his last six starts.
May 16 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Cole pitched eight scoreless innings and fanned seven in a 2-1 win over the Chicago Cubs on Sunday.
Analysis: Cole (4-3, 3.05 ERA) has given up two runs over 14 innings in back-to-back victories.
May 3 12:08 PM PT1:08 PM MT2:08 PM CT3:08 PM ET15:08 ET19:08 GMT3:08 12:08 PM MST2:08 PM EST2:38 PM VEN23:08 UAE2:08 PM CT-Cole was awful Monday.
Analysis: Cole was roughed up for six runs and six hits in 4 2/3 innings after winning his previous two starts. He struck out six but walked four in losing to the Cubs for just the second time in nine regular-season decisions.
Apr. 22 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Cole picked up his first win on Thursday, shutting out the Padres over six innings.
Analysis: He held San Diego to four hits while striking out seven.
Feb. 28 4:59 PM PT5:59 PM MT6:59 PM CT7:59 PM ET19:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)6:59 PM CT-Pittsburgh Pirates general manager Neal Huntington has acknowledged the team errantly computed Gerrit Cole's salary offer for 2016, which led to a public spat with their ace pitcher.
Analysis: The Pirates initially offered Cole a $538,000 contract, which was a $7,000 increase over his base salary last year. According to Huntington, that was a franchise-record pay hike for a player with only two-plus years of big league service time. However, Cole's total earnings last season were $541,000 because he got a $10,000 bonus for making the National League All-Star team. Huntington said on Sunday the team ''made a mistake."
Feb. 19 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Cole is already behind schedule on the first day of spring training.
Analysis: Cole was limited to flat-ground throwing on Friday when pitchers and catchers held their first mandatory workout because of inflammation in his right ribcage. Cole is expected to throw from the slope of the mound on Monday. Cole says he feels fine and that he's ''not too far behind'' the rest of his teammates.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Pit 10 7 0 - 0 19 19 0 117.1 109 43 42 7 28 0 100 1.17 3.22
2014 Pit 11 5 0 - 0 22 22 0 138.0 127 58 56 11 40 1 138 1.21 3.65
2015 Pit 19 8 0 - 0 32 32 0 208.0 183 71 60 11 44 1 202 1.09 2.60
2016 Pit 7 10 0 - 0 21 21 1 116.0 131 57 50 7 36 3 98 1.44 3.88
Career 47 30 0 - 0 94 94 1 579.1 550 229 208 36 148 5 538 1.20 3.23

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit 19 34 3 7 0 0 0 5 1 14 0 0 .206 .229 .206
2014 Pit 23 46 3 8 0 0 1 2 2 17 0 0 .174 .208 .239
2015 Pit 33 60 5 9 0 0 0 2 2 28 0 0 .150 .177 .150
2016 Pit 21 40 3 8 1 0 1 3 0 19 0 0 .200 .220 .300
Career 96 180 14 32 1 0 2 12 5 78 0 0 .178 .204 .217

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 5 3 3 2 2 0 10 2.45
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 5 3 3 2 2 0 10 2.45
2015 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 4 4 2 1 0 4 7.20
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 4 4 2 1 0 4 7.20
Career 1 2 0 - 0 3 3 0 16.0 11 7 7 4 3 0 14 3.94

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 5 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .200


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1288 99 90 95.2 66.84
Curveball 194 85 75 81.1 10.07
Slider 342 92 83 87.7 17.75
Changeup 103 91 85 88.1 5.35

w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.