MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#45
Zack Wheeler
ERA W-L K
-
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 196 NFBC ADP: 403.23
Position: SPBorn: 5/30/1990 Birthplace: Smyrna, Georgia
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 1st Round by Giants (2009)


Latest News
Mar. 22 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Wheeler took a step back Wednesday in the Mets' 15-9 loss to the Miami Marlins, allowing four runs in three innings - including three in his last.
Analysis: ''His arm strength is there, and he feels good,'' Mets manager Terry Collins said. ''He got a little fatigued in that last inning. He's got to build that endurance up.''
Mar. 10 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-In his first appearance for the Mets in two years following his recovery from Tommy John surgery, Zack Wheeler reached 94 mph and allowed one run - Matt Tuiasosopo's third spring training homer - in two innings Friday. Wheeler gave up two hits and a walk.
Analysis: Wheeler was 7-5 as a rookie in 2013 and 11-11 the following year. He had Tommy John surgery on March 25, 2015.
Mar. 1 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Wheeler, who had Tommy John surgery two year ago, has been gradually working his way back up to speed in an attempt to return to the starting rotation. He is competing with fellow right-handers Robert Gsellman and Seth Lugo, who pitched well last season as the rotation broke down, for the final starting spot.
Analysis: ''It felt good getting back out there facing batters. It's another step closer,'' Wheeler said Wednesday after a live batting practice that featured approximately 20-25 pitches. ''(I didn't throw) 100 percent, but the feel was good, pitches were good. Still a little fine-tuning on the curveball, but that will come. I'm happy where I'm at right now.'' Manager Terry Collins said earlier in the week that the next step was for Wheeler to pitch in a simulated game.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 NYM 7 5 0 - 0 17 17 0 100.0 90 42 38 10 46 2 84 1.36 3.42
2014 NYM 11 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 185.1 167 84 73 14 79 3 187 1.33 3.54
Career 18 16 0 - 0 49 49 1 285.1 257 126 111 24 125 5 271 1.34 3.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 NYM 18 30 1 4 1 0 0 2 1 13 0 0 .133 .161 .167
2014 NYM 34 50 1 4 1 0 0 3 1 24 0 0 .080 .098 .100
Career 52 80 2 8 2 0 0 5 2 37 0 0 .100 .122 .125


Sports Data Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.