MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#16
José Fernández
ERA W-L K
2.86 16-8 253
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-3 / 243 NFBC ADP: 33.33
Position: SPBorn: 7/31/1992 Birthplace: Santa Clara, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Marlins (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 25 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-Fernandez, an All-Star starting pitcher who escaped Cuba to become one of the best young arms in baseball, was killed in a boating accident early Sunday morning at the age of 24.
Analysis: The Marlins canceled their scheduled game Sunday afternoon against the Atlanta Braves.
Sep. 20 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Fernandez (16-8, 2.86 ERA) pitched eight innings Tuesday for the first time since having right elbow surgery in 2014, allowing three hits and striking out 12 without a walk to beat the Nationals 1-0.
Analysis: He improved to 29-2 with a 1.49 ERA in 42 career starts at home and his next outing is scheduled for Sunday at Marlins Park against the Braves, but Tuesday may have been his final start of the season as Miami wants to limit his innings. He's thrown 182 1/3 innings while striking out 253, second-most in the majors behind Washington's Max Scherzer (259).
Sep. 19 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Fernandez likely will pitch just two more games this year, Tuesday against the Nationals and Sunday against the Braves.
Analysis: Fernandez (15-8, 2.99 ERA with 241 strikeouts) enters Tuesday's start with 174 1/3 innings with the goal of keeping him in the 180-inning range.
Sep. 15 8:51 AM PT9:51 AM MT10:51 AM CT11:51 AM ET11:51 ET15:51 GMT23:51 8:51 AM MST10:51 AM EST11:21 AM VEN19:51 UAE10:51 AM CT-In an eventful Wednesday night, Fernandez emerged with his 15th victory after giving up four runs and six hits in seven innings against Atlanta.
Analysis: Fernandez was upset about having two pitches thrown near his hand, with the last time coming in the seventh inning and resulting in both benches emptying. Fernandez had hit Nick Markakis with a pitch in the sixth, and Markakis had homered in the second. Fernandez is scheduled to pitch against Washington on Tuesday before facing the Braves again next Sunday. Both starts come at home, where he's 11-2 with a 1.77 ERA.
Sep. 9 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Fernandez tied a career high with 14 strikeouts, improved to 28-2 at home and outpitched Clayton Kershaw as the Marlins defeated the Dodgers 4-1 on Friday night at Marlins Park.
Analysis: Fernandez (14-8) gave up three hits and three walks in seven shutout innings. It was the fifth time he's struck out 14 in a game, and third this season. He was coming off a disastrous outing, when he gave up a career-high 12 hits and seven runs in 5 2/3 innings in the Marlins' 8-3 loss in Cleveland last Saturday. His next outing will be Wednesday at Atlanta, where he permitted nine runs in 5 2/3 innings in his last start there on July 2.
Sep. 4 10:33 AM PT11:33 AM MT12:33 PM CT1:33 PM ET13:33 ET17:33 GMT1:33 10:33 AM MST12:33 PM EST1:03 PM VEN21:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Fernandez gave up a career-high 12 hits and seven runs in 5 2/3 innings in the Marlins' 8-3 loss in Cleveland on Saturday.
Analysis: Fernandez, who also allowed a career-high six extra base hits, fell to 3-6 on the road. ''I was thinking about rolling the ball to the plate and seeing maybe who they were going to hit it to,'' he said. ''I got hit. I got hit really hard, but you learn from it.''
Aug. 30 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Fernandez struck out six over six effective innings Monday against the Mets, but left with the game scoreless and the Marlins went on to lose 2-1 in 10 innings.
Analysis: Fernandez now hasn't allowed a run in 13 innings over his past two starts, a streak he'll carry into an interleague start at Cleveland on Saturday. The Miami ace is just 3-5 with a 4.02 ERA on the road.
Aug. 25 8:28 AM PT9:28 AM MT10:28 AM CT11:28 AM ET11:28 ET15:28 GMT23:28 8:28 AM MST10:28 AM EST10:58 AM VEN19:28 UAE10:28 AM CT-Fernandez bounced back from a subpar previous start to struck out nine over seven scoreless innings Wednesday and end Kansas City's nine-game winning streak.
Analysis: After surrendering five runs over four innings in a loss at Cincinnati last week, Fernandez rebounded to display his usual dominance at Marlins Park. The Miami ace returns to the road, where he's just 3-5 with a 4.42 ERA in 10 starts, to face the Mets Monday.
Aug. 18 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Fernandez started Thursday for the first time since Aug. 8 as the Marlins attempt to limit his workload, and he had his shortest outing of the season. Fernandez allowed five runs and seven hits in four innings of a loss to the Reds.
Analysis: The right-hander suffered his career-worst third consecutive loss while seeing his ERA in his last four outings rise to 6.00. He did strike out six to give him 204 on the season, the first time he's gone over the 200 mark.
Aug. 11 11:53 AM PT12:53 PM MT1:53 PM CT2:53 PM ET14:53 ET18:53 GMT2:53 11:53 AM MST1:53 PM EST2:23 PM VEN22:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-The Marlins will skip Fernandez's next start in an effort to limit his innings. The ace right-hander had been slated to pitch Sunday against the White Sox.
Analysis: Fernandez has thrown 137 2/3 innings in his first full season back from Tommy John surgery and the Marlins went him as fresh as possible for a playoff run. Tom Koehler will instead start Sunday on regular rest, with the team yet to announce when Fernandez will take his next turn.
Aug. 9 9:57 PM PT10:57 PM MT11:57 PM CT12:57 AM ET0:57 ET4:57 GMT12:57 9:57 PM MST11:57 PM EST12:27 AM VEN8:57 UAE11:57 PM CT-Fernandez surrendered one run while striking out six over six innings in Monday's 8-7, 14-inning loss to the Giants.
Analysis: Fernandez bounced back from a rare poor showing at home against St. Louis on July 28. He's gone 9-2 with a 2.07 ERA in 13 starts at Marlins Park.
Aug. 2 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Fernandez allowed three runs while striking out eight over six innings in Tuesday's 3-2 loss to the Cubs.
Analysis: Fernandez has posted a 6.55 ERA in dropping his last two starts after going 11-2 with a 2.11 mark over his previous 15.
July 28 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Fernandez allowed five runs and six hits in five innings of Thursday's 5-4 loss to St. Louis.
Analysis: He yielded four runs over 20 1/3 innings of his previous three starts.
July 24 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-Fernandez allowed allowed two runs and struck out seven in seven innings of Saturday's 7-2 win over the Mets.
Analysis: Fernandez improved his Marlins Park record to 26-1, and remains a top tier fantasy performer.
July 18 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Fernandez allowed two runs and four hits while striking out 14 over 6 1/3 innings in Monday's 3-2, 11-inning win over the Phillies.
Analysis: Since a rare horrendous start against the Braves on July 2, Fernandez has gone 1-0 with a 1.35 ERA with 22 strikeouts over 13 1/3 innings in his last two outings.
July 8 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Fernandez bounced back Friday, allowing an unearned run and striking out eight over seven innings to beat the visiting Reds. It came after the right-hander gave up a career high-tying six earned runs in a loss at Atlanta in his previous outing.
Analysis: Fernandez has been a lock at home in his career, going 25-1 with a 1.43 ERA in 36 starts at Marlins Park.
July 5 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Fernandez was named to his second All-Star team.
Analysis: Heading into Tuesday's schedule, Fernandez was 10-4 with a 2.69 ERA. He's fanned 146 and walked 31.
July 3 10:20 AM PT11:20 AM MT12:20 PM CT1:20 PM ET13:20 ET17:20 GMT1:20 10:20 AM MST12:20 PM EST12:50 PM VEN21:20 UAE12:20 PM CT-Fernandez had a rare rough outing Saturday, giving up a career-high nine runs - six earned - and eight hits over 5 2/3 innings in a 9-1 loss to Atlanta.
Analysis: Fernandez had been 7-1 with a 1.18 ERA over his previous nine starts. We expect him to bounce back quickly in his next outing.
July 2 5:21 PM PT6:21 PM MT7:21 PM CT8:21 PM ET20:21 ET0:21 GMT8:21 5:21 PM MST7:21 PM EST7:51 PM VEN4:21 UAE (+1)7:21 PM CT-Fernandez gave up two homers and a career-high nine runs and the Atlanta Braves beat the Miami Marlins 9-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: Fernandez (10-4) drove in the decisive runs as a pinch-hitter in Miami's 7-5 12-inning win over Atlanta on Friday night. Manager Don Mattingly thought about sending Fernandez home early during the extra-inning game - a common practice in the majors for pitchers before scheduled starts - but kept him around for his bat. The lopsided loss put a quick end to the feel-good victory from the night before.
June 26 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Fernandez allowed one run in seven innings and struck out 13 in Sunday's 6-1 win over the Cubs.
Analysis: Fernandez improved his career record at Marlins Park to 24-1 with a 1.48 ERA. The right-hander has been pretty good everywhere else, too. This year he has a 2.28 ERA and 138 strikeouts in 94 2/3 innings. He is next slated to take the ball Saturday in Atlanta. In his lone start of the season against the Braves on June 21, he struck out seven over seven scoreless innings of one-hit ball.
June 25 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Fernandez faces the Cubs in Sunday's finale.
Analysis: Fernandez (9-3, 2.36 ERA) is 23-1 all-time at home and has never faced Chicago. He briefly left the Marlins' dugout in the first inning Saturday after a foul ball bounced off his right hand, but returned not long afterward.
June 15 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-The Marlins spoiled an impressive start by Fernandez in Tuesday's 3-2 loss in 10 innings to the Braves. He left with a 2-0 lead after allowing one hit through seven innings while striking out seven and walking two.
Analysis: Fernandez returned to the mound after being skipped in the rotation for rest.
June 12 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Fernandez retired the first 17 batters he faced but ran into trouble in the sixth inning of the Marlins' 5-3 loss to the Diamondbacks on Saturday.
Analysis: Fernandez gave up five straight hits and lost for the first time since April 23. The four runs were the most Fernandez has allowed in a game since that loss, a 7-2 defeat at San Francisco. He struck out eight with no walks but the four runs were one more than he'd given up over his previous six starts combined.
June 1 10:45 AM PT11:45 AM MT12:45 PM CT1:45 PM ET13:45 ET17:45 GMT1:45 10:45 AM MST12:45 PM EST1:15 PM VEN21:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-Fernandez won his seventh consecutive start Tuesday by tossing seven scoreless innings in a 3-1 win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Fernandez (8-2, 2.53 ERA) yielded three hits, walked none and struck out six while improving to 22-1 all-time in Miami. He is 5-0 with a 1.45 ERA in his last five starts there and has a 1.60 ERA during his overall win streak. Fernandez has also fanned 64 in 45 innings.
May 27 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Fernandez won his sixth consecutive start with yet another dominant outing Thursday at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: The Miami ace racked up 12 strikeouts while holding the Rays to one run over seven innings. Second in the majors with 90 strikeouts in 60 2/3 innings, Fernandez has amassed 58 K's and a 1.89 ERA over his winning streak.
May 22 9:30 AM PT10:30 AM MT11:30 AM CT12:30 PM ET12:30 ET16:30 GMT0:30 9:30 AM MST11:30 AM EST12:00 PM VEN20:30 UAE11:30 AM CT-Fernandez won his fifth straight start by tossing six strong innings Saturday against Washington.
Analysis: The Miami ace held the Nationals to one run on four hits and racked up nine strikeouts in another superb effort. Fernandez's 78 strikeouts trails only Clayton Kershaw for tops in the majors and he's posted a 2.03 ERA over the winning streak.
May 16 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Fernandez struck out 11 over seven innings and drove in two runs during a three-run sixth to help the Miami Marlins defeat the Washington Nationals 5-1 on Sunday.
Analysis: Fernandez (5-2, 3.21 ERA) is 4-0 with a 2.16 ERA in his last four starts. He tossed seven scoreless innings and fanned 11 in a 4-1 win over Milwaukee on May 9.
May 10 11:57 AM PT12:57 PM MT1:57 PM CT2:57 PM ET14:57 ET18:57 GMT2:57 11:57 AM MST1:57 PM EST2:27 PM VEN22:57 UAE1:57 PM CT-Fernandez dominated Milwaukee on Monday, striking out 11 over seven scoreless innings in Miami's 4-1 win.
Analysis: The Miami ace has won three straight starts but had been a bit shaky of late, posting a 4.76 ERA over his previous three assignments.
Apr. 29 8:20 AM PT9:20 AM MT10:20 AM CT11:20 AM ET11:20 ET15:20 GMT23:20 8:20 AM MST10:20 AM EST10:50 AM VEN19:20 UAE10:20 AM CT-Fernandez allowed two runs and five hits in six innings Thursday, striking out eight and walking three.
Analysis: Fernandez next starts against a powerful Arizona team.
Apr. 19 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Fernandez looked sharp on Monday, holding the Nationals to one run and three hits in six innings of a 6-1 win.
Analysis: He did walk four but also struck out nine.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Mia 12 6 0 - 0 28 28 0 172.2 111 47 42 10 58 5 187 0.98 2.19
2014 Mia 4 2 0 - 0 8 8 0 51.2 36 19 14 4 13 1 70 0.95 2.44
2015 Mia 6 1 0 - 0 11 11 0 64.2 61 21 21 4 14 0 79 1.16 2.92
2016 Mia 16 8 0 - 0 29 29 0 182.1 149 63 58 13 55 6 253 1.12 2.86
Career 38 17 0 - 0 76 76 0 471.1 357 150 135 31 140 12 589 1.05 2.58

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Mia 28 50 5 11 1 1 1 5 0 20 0 0 .220 .216 .340
2014 Mia 8 16 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2015 Mia 11 18 2 3 1 0 1 2 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .389
2016 Mia 30 52 3 13 2 0 0 6 1 13 0 0 .250 .264 .288
Career 77 136 11 29 4 1 2 14 1 43 0 0 .213 .217 .301


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1566 100 89 94.9 53.67
Curveball 1 73 73 73 .03
Slider 984 89 76 83.7 33.72
Changeup 367 92 83 88.3 12.58

w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.