MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#39
Kevin Gausman
ERA W-L K
6.47 3-7 63
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-3 / 190 NFBC ADP: 142.32
Position: SPBorn: 1/6/1991 Birthplace: Centennial, Colorado
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 1st Round by Orioles (2012)


Latest News
June 22 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 3-7, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-1 on Wednesday. Gausman struck out nine, ending the game with a 6.47 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gausman's strikeout total was a season high but he has an 8.02 ERA in four June starts.
June 16 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 3-6, allowing five runs on nine hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 11-2 on Friday. Gausman struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.60 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gausman allowed five runs or more for the sixth time in 15 starts. In his last four starts, Guasman has allowed 35 hits with 10 walks in 23 2/3 innings.
June 11 5:07 PM PT6:07 PM MT7:07 PM CT8:07 PM ET20:07 ET0:07 GMT8:07 5:07 PM MST7:07 PM EST7:37 PM VEN4:07 UAE (+1)7:07 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 3-5, allowing seven runs on eight hits and six walks in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 14-3 on Sunday. Gausman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.49 ERA and 1.90 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The Yankees have had Gausman's number, as he's posted an 8.38 ERA in four starts against New York this season while allowing 32 hits and a troubling 16 walks in 19 1/3 innings. The struggling right-hander's problems haven't been limited to one team, though, as opponents are hitting .332 off him for the year.
June 6 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed four runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Tuesday. Gausman struck out five, ending the game with a 5.86 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
May 31 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Kevin Gausman improved to 3-4, allowing three runs - two earned - on eight hits and five walks in 5.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 10-4 on Wednesday. Gausman struck out four, ending the game with a 5.92 ERA and 1.84 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gausman has been much better lately, posting a 3.00 ERA in his last three starts after he had a 7.19 ERA in his first nine this season. He's completed six innings in only five of his 12 outings.
May 27 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE11:15 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 2-4, allowing two runs on eight hits in 6.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Houston Astros 2-0 on Friday. Gausman struck out two, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gausman has notched consecutive quality starts for the first time this season, showing signs that he's potentially ready to turn around a dreadful season.
May 20 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed two runs on a season-high 10 hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5 on Saturday. Gausman struck out five, ending the game with a 6.65 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gausman gave up a season-high 10 hits but improved upon his last start and completed six innings for just the fourth time in 10 outings.
May 14 5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed five runs on nine hits and two walks in 3.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Kansas City Royals 9-8 on Sunday. Gausman struck out three, ending the game with a 7.19 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After defeating the Nationals with seven innings of two-run ball on Monday, Gausman reverted back to the poor form he's displayed for much of this season. The struggling right-hander has permitted five or more runs in four of his past six starts, a stretch in which he's posted an ugly 9.24 ERA and allowed seven home runs in 25 1/3 innings.
May 8 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Kevin Gausman improved to 2-3, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Washington Nationals 6-4 on Monday. Gausman struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.63 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
May 3 5:21 PM PT6:21 PM MT7:21 PM CT8:21 PM ET20:21 ET0:21 GMT8:21 5:21 PM MST7:21 PM EST7:51 PM VEN4:21 UAE (+1)7:21 PM CT-Gausman was ejected in the second inning of Wednesday night's game against the Red Sox after he hit Boston batter Xander Bogaerts with a pitch. Orioles manager Buck Showalter sprinted out of the dugout to complain, and Gausman remained on the field for several minutes for the lengthy argument. The pitch appeared to be a breaking ball that hit Bogaerts on the hip.
Analysis: Gausman has been terrible this season, entering the day 1-2 with a 7.50 ERA in six starts.
Apr. 29 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed five runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 14-11 on Friday in 10 innings. Gausman struck out three, ending the game with a 7.50 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He's 0-2 with an 11.57 ERA in his last three starts while allowing 24 hits - including six homers - and eight walks over 14 innings.
Apr. 23 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Gausman was hit hard again Sunday in a 6-2 loss to Boston, allowing five runs and eight hits over 5 1/3 innings.
Analysis: After a very strong second half in 2016, Gausman has struggled mightily this season. He has a 7.50 ERA and a 2.04 WHIP in five starts, completing six innings just once.
Apr. 18 6:03 PM PT7:03 PM MT8:03 PM CT9:03 PM ET21:03 ET1:03 GMT9:03 6:03 PM MST8:03 PM EST8:33 PM VEN5:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Gausman was sent to the showers very early Tuesday in Cincinnati, allowing eight runs and eight hits with three walks in 2 2/3 innings.
Analysis: It marked Gausman’s shortest outing since he lasted 2 1/3 innings on Sept. 2, 2015 against the Rays. He's walked 12 and surrendered 26 hits in just 18 2/3 innings this season.
Apr. 14 9:59 AM PT10:59 AM MT11:59 AM CT12:59 PM ET12:59 ET16:59 GMT0:59 9:59 AM MST11:59 AM EST12:29 PM VEN20:59 UAE11:59 AM CT-Gausman kept Toronto's struggling offense in check Thursday to pick up his first win of 2017. The Baltimore right-hander yielded just one run and five hits while striking out three over six solid innings.
Analysis: Gausman bounced back nicely from Saturday's no-decision against the Yankees, in which he was roughed up for four runs and eight hits over 4 2/3 innings. He's had some control issues thus far, having issued nine walks in 16 innings, but enters Wednesday's assignment at Cincinnati's Great American Ball Park having yet to allow a home run in three starts.
Apr. 4 7:31 AM PT8:31 AM MT9:31 AM CT10:31 AM ET10:31 ET14:31 GMT22:31 7:31 AM MST9:31 AM EST10:01 AM VEN18:31 UAE9:31 AM CT-Gausman gave up two runs over 5 1/3 innings in the Orioles' 3-2, 11-inning win over the Blue Jays on Monday.
Analysis: Gausman lowered his ERA by more than a run in the second half (3.10) last season, so his owners have to hope he's headed for a solid start to this season.
Mar. 27 12:20 PM PT1:20 PM MT2:20 PM CT3:20 PM ET15:20 ET19:20 GMT3:20 12:20 PM MST2:20 PM EST2:50 PM VEN23:20 UAE2:20 PM CT-Manager Buck Showalter said Monday that Gausman will start against Toronto.
Analysis: The move to start the 26-year-old Gausman wasn't unexpected. Showalter had ruled right-hander Chris Tillman out of the opener when spring training began last month because of a sore right shoulder. Gausman, who was 9-12 with a 3.61 ERA last season, wasn't surprised by the announcement.
Feb. 5 12:09 PM PT1:09 PM MT2:09 PM CT3:09 PM ET15:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)2:09 PM CT-The Orioles and Gausman have agreed on a $3.45 million salary for 2018 to avoid an arbitration hearing.
Analysis: Gausman came close to receiving the $3.55 million he had requested. The 26-year-old will hold down one of the top spots in Baltimore's projected rotation after posting a 3.61 ERA and recording 18 quality starts in 30 outings a season ago.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Bal 3 5 0 - 2 20 5 0 47.2 51 30 30 8 13 2 49 1.34 5.66
2014 Bal 7 7 0 - 0 20 20 1 113.1 111 48 45 7 38 0 88 1.31 3.57
2015 Bal 4 7 0 - 0 25 17 0 112.1 109 56 53 17 29 1 103 1.23 4.25
2016 Bal 9 12 0 - 0 30 30 0 179.2 183 76 72 28 47 1 174 1.28 3.61
2017 Bal 3 7 0 - 0 16 16 0 80.2 113 59 58 14 39 0 63 1.88 6.47
Career 26 38 0 - 2 111 88 1 533.2 567 269 258 74 166 4 477 1.37 4.35

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Bal 20 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bal 20 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Bal 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .333 .000
2017 Bal 16 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 111 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .000 .125 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 Bal Total 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 8.0 4 1 1 0 2 0 7 1.04
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.2 3 1 1 0 1 0 5 2.45
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 8.0 4 1 1 0 2 0 7 1.13


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1029 99 90 95.1 66.52
Curveball 52 83 76 79.5 3.36
Slider 235 88 80 84.4 15.19
Changeup 29 88 81 84.9 1.87
Split-Finger 202 89 83 85.8 13.06

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.