MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#66
Yasiel Puig
AVG HR RBI
.263 11 44
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 6-2 / 240 NFBC ADP: 79.11
Position: RFBorn: 12/7/1990 Birthplace: Cienfuegos, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Dodgers (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 22 9:32 AM PT10:32 AM MT11:32 AM CT12:32 PM ET12:32 ET16:32 GMT0:32 9:32 AM MST11:32 AM EST12:02 PM VEN20:32 UAE11:32 AM CT-Puig's three-run homer highlighted a five-run first inning in a 9-3 rout of the San Francisco Giants on Wednesday night, extending the Dodgers' NL West lead to six games with 10 remaining.
Analysis: Puig has four home runs and two walks against them since returning from the minor leagues earlier this month. He's started all six games in September against lefties, who have given the Dodgers fits this season. Puig is batting .333 (6 for 16) with eight RBI in seven games at home since being recalled on Sept. 2.
Sep. 8 9:23 AM PT10:23 AM MT11:23 AM CT12:23 PM ET12:23 ET16:23 GMT0:23 9:23 AM MST11:23 AM EST11:53 AM VEN20:23 UAE11:23 AM CT-Puig hit another home run in Wednesday's 3-1 win over the D-backs.
Analysis: Puig seems to be a different player since getting recalled from the minors. He's gone 4 for 9 with two homers and five RBIs in four games.
Sep. 5 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET19:11 GMT3:11 12:11 PM MST2:11 PM EST2:41 PM VEN23:11 UAE2:11 PM CT-Puig hit a three-run shot Sunday in his second game since being recalled from the minors, also walking twice and scoring three runs.
Analysis: Puig, who didn't play Saturday, is 3 for 6 in two games since his demotion.
Sep. 2 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-Puig started in right field and went 2 for 4 in his return to the Dodgers after a month-long demotion to the minors.
Analysis: The Cuban star, who grounded out with the bases loaded and failed to record an RBI, was called up earlier in the day from Triple-A Oklahoma City. In 24 games there, Puig hit .358 with five home runs and 14 RBIs. He was optioned on Aug. 2 after hitting just .260 with seven homers and 34 RBIs in 81 games with Los Angeles.
Aug. 28 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Multiple reports are stating that Puig has been claimed off revocable waivers by an unknown team.
Analysis: The move allows the Dodgers to work out a trade with the mystery team if they so choose, and they can pull him back off waivers if a deal isn't worked out. Los Angeles also has the option of simply letting the team take the remaining two years and $14 million left on the outfielder's contract. Puig, an All-Star in 2015, has spent the past month playing for the Dodgers' Triple A affiliate in Oklahoma City after the club acquired Josh Reddick from Oakland on Aug. 1.
Aug. 1 5:31 PM PT6:31 PM MT7:31 PM CT8:31 PM ET20:31 ET0:31 GMT8:31 5:31 PM MST7:31 PM EST8:01 PM VEN4:31 UAE (+1)7:31 PM CT-The Los Angeles Dodgers have optioned Puig and Ross Stripling to the minors to make room for their new additions, outfielder Josh Reddick and reliever Jesse Chavez.
Analysis: Los Angeles told Puig not to come to Dodger Stadium on Monday ahead of the team's departure to Colorado for a series against the Rockies. The Dodgers were trying to trade Puig before the non-waiver trading deadline Monday but couldn't find a deal.
Aug. 1 9:56 AM PT10:56 AM MT11:56 AM CT12:56 PM ET12:56 ET16:56 GMT0:56 9:56 AM MST11:56 AM EST12:26 PM VEN20:56 UAE11:56 AM CT-Puig went 3 for 5 with two doubles, two RBIs and two runs scored Sunday.
Analysis: He entered in a 3-for-20 slump in his previous seven contests.
July 30 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Puig is expected back in the Los Angeles Dodgers' starting lineup Sunday against the Arizona Diamondbacks. Puig has been limited to three pinch-hitting appearances over Los Angeles' last seven games due to tightness in his right hamstring.
Analysis: Puig is hitting .255 with seven homers and 32 RBIs in 272 at-bats. He flew out to center field as a pinch hitter in the seventh inning of the Dodgers' 9-7 victory over Arizona on Friday night. He remained in right field for the last two innings, making one putout.
July 25 7:47 AM PT8:47 AM MT9:47 AM CT10:47 AM ET10:47 ET14:47 GMT22:47 7:47 AM MST9:47 AM EST10:17 AM VEN18:47 UAE9:47 AM CT-Puig (right hamstring) did not start for the fifth straight game Tuesday due to a hamstring strain.
Analysis: Puig is getting closer to returning after manager Dave Roberts said he was available off the bench Tuesday.
July 23 9:30 AM PT10:30 AM MT11:30 AM CT12:30 PM ET12:30 ET16:30 GMT0:30 9:30 AM MST11:30 AM EST12:00 PM VEN20:30 UAE11:30 AM CT-Puig (hamstring) wasn't in the starting lineup Friday, fouling out as a pinch hitter in the 13th of a 16-inning loss to the Cardinals.
Analysis: Dodgers manager Dave Roberts said Puig is 85 percent and expects him to start on Sunday. He's batting .158 in his last six games.
July 21 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Puig left the game with right hamstring tightness Thursday.
Analysis: His status going forward is uncertain.
July 16 9:35 AM PT10:35 AM MT11:35 AM CT12:35 PM ET12:35 ET16:35 GMT0:35 9:35 AM MST11:35 AM EST12:05 PM VEN20:35 UAE11:35 AM CT-Puig had three hits - all singles - and three RBIs in Friday's win over the Diamondbacks.
Analysis: Puig is 6 for 14 with three walks in his last four games, but he has just five extra-base hits in his last 31.
July 9 12:05 PM PT1:05 PM MT2:05 PM CT3:05 PM ET15:05 ET19:05 GMT3:05 12:05 PM MST2:05 PM EST2:35 PM VEN23:05 UAE2:05 PM CT-Puig had two hits, two RBIs and two runs scored in Friday's win over the Padres.
Analysis: Puig had gone hitless in his previous three games, but he's batting .327 in 17 games since a DL stint for a hamstring strain.
June 27 4:49 PM PT5:49 PM MT6:49 PM CT7:49 PM ET19:49 ET23:49 GMT7:49 4:49 PM MST6:49 PM EST7:19 PM VEN3:49 UAE (+1)6:49 PM CT-Puig had a two-run single in the Dodgers' 5-4 win over the Pirates on Monday.
Analysis: Puig, who had his first multi-RBI game since May 22, is 1 for 9 with a homer and six strikeouts lifetime against Chase Anderson, Milwaukee's scheduled starter for Tuesday.
June 23 8:47 AM PT9:47 AM MT10:47 AM CT11:47 AM ET11:47 ET15:47 GMT23:47 8:47 AM MST10:47 AM EST11:17 AM VEN19:47 UAE10:47 AM CT-Puig went 2 for 4 and raced all the way home for the winning run on his own single in the bottom of the ninth after center fielder Michael Taylor let the ball skip by him for a three-base error, and the Los Angeles Dodgers rallied to beat the Washington Nationals 4-3.
Analysis: Puig recently came off the disabled list due to a hamstring injury, but appeared to run just fine on the final play of the game. Puig broke into a sprint at first base after Taylor overran the rolling single to left-center field. Howie Kendrick scored easily from first base, and Puig dove home even though there was no throw to beat.
May 31 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET20:54 ET0:54 GMT8:54 5:54 PM MST7:54 PM EST8:24 PM VEN4:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-Puig (hamstring) came off the disabled list for the Los Angeles Dodgers and was in the lineup for Tuesday night's game against the Washington Nationals.
Analysis: Puig went 5 for 12 with a homer in five rehab games for Class A Rancho Cucamonga. He was 0 for 10 with four strikeouts in his previous four games for the Dodgers before going on the DL on June 3.
May 23 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Puig went 3 for 7 and recorded the tie-breaking two-run single in the Dodgers' 17-inning marathon win at San Diego.
Analysis: The enigmatic outfielder's overall numbers have been disappointing, though he's offered some hope by going 5 for 15 with a homer and four RBIs in the three-game series.
May 21 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Puig went 2 for 4 with a two-run homer in a 7-6 loss to San Diego on Friday.
Analysis: Puig, batting .242 with five homers, was 3 for 18 (.167) with no longballs in his previous six games.
May 14 8:45 AM PT9:45 AM MT10:45 AM CT11:45 AM ET11:45 ET15:45 GMT23:45 8:45 AM MST10:45 AM EST11:15 AM VEN19:45 UAE10:45 AM CT-Puig was 3 for 5 with a jack Friday.
Analysis: Puig entered in a 3-for-24 slump.
May 2 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Puig stunk yet again Sunday.
Analysis: Puig was 0 for 4 to cap a homestand in which he went 2 for 24 in an inept display of batting.
Apr. 25 8:39 AM PT9:39 AM MT10:39 AM CT11:39 AM ET11:39 ET15:39 GMT23:39 8:39 AM MST10:39 AM EST11:09 AM VEN19:39 UAE10:39 AM CT-Puig had an error but also made a leaping catch Sunday as he crashed into the right-field wall in the fourth inning.
Analysis: Puig's catch was buzzing on Twitter moments after it happened. "The wall always stops me," Puig jokingly said.
Apr. 7 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Puig was 3 for 4 with a home run in Wednesday's win in San Diego.
Analysis: Puig is 6 for 10 with two triples and a homer in his first three games.
Apr. 6 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Puig had a two-run triple - and scored on the errant throw - in Tuesday's win over San Diego.
Analysis: Puig has started hot, going 3 for 6 with two triples, four runs scored, two walks and three RBIs in his first two.
Apr. 5 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Puig had a big start to the season on Monday, going 2 for 3 with a triple and RBI.
Analysis: He also walked and scored three runs.
Mar. 16 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Major League Baseball says it will not discipline Puig for his involvement in an incident in a Miami area club last November. MLB said it investigated and did not find any witnesses who supported an assault allegation.
Analysis: MLB said video evidence did not support the allegation, and Puig and his sister denied there was an assault. MLB concluded ''barring the receipt of any new information or evidence, no discipline will be imposed.''
Feb. 26 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Puig participated in his first full spring training workout with the Los Angeles Dodgers on Friday.
Analysis: Puig missed the Dodgers' first full workout of spring Thursday after getting two wisdom teeth removed from the left side of his mouth.
Feb. 25 11:45 AM PT12:45 PM MT1:45 PM CT2:45 PM ET14:45 ET19:45 GMT3:45 12:45 PM MST2:45 PM EST3:15 PM VEN23:45 UAE1:45 PM CT-Puig, recovering from recent surgery to have his wisdom teeth removed, did not participate in the Dodgers' first full team workout on Thursday.
Analysis: Manager Dave Roberts said he expected Puig to take part in Friday's practice, so no cause for alarm here.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD 104 382 66 122 21 2 19 42 36 97 11 8 .319 .391 .534
2014 LAD 148 558 92 165 37 9 16 69 67 124 11 7 .296 .382 .480
2015 LAD 79 282 30 72 12 3 11 38 26 66 3 3 .255 .322 .436
2016 LAD 101 323 44 85 13 2 11 44 24 70 5 2 .263 .325 .418
Career 432 1545 232 444 83 16 57 193 153 357 30 20 .287 .362 .472

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD Total 10 39 6 13 1 1 0 4 1 14 0 1 .333 .366 .410
    LDS 4 17 5 8 1 0 0 2 0 4 0 1 .471 .500 .529
    LCS 6 22 1 5 0 1 0 2 1 10 0 0 .227 .261 .318
2014 LAD Total 4 12 4 3 0 1 0 1 1 8 0 0 .250 .357 .417
    LDS 4 12 4 3 0 1 0 1 1 8 0 0 .250 .357 .417
2015 LAD Total 3 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 3 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 17 57 10 16 1 2 0 5 2 25 0 1 .281 .328 .368


w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.