MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#54
Sonny Gray
ERA W-L K
2.65 12-3 121
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 5-11 / 180 NFBC ADP: 144.28
Position: SPBorn: 11/7/1989 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Athletics (2011)


Latest News
July 27 11:15 AM PT12:15 PM MT1:15 PM CT2:15 PM ET14:15 ET18:15 GMT2:15 11:15 AM MST1:15 PM EST1:45 PM VEN22:15 UAE1:15 PM CT-Gray won his sixth straight decision as the Athletics beat the Texas Rangers 5-1 Saturday night.
Analysis: Gray allowed seven hits over 6 2-3 innings to tie for the major league lead in wins. He didn't give up more than one earned run in any of his five July starts. "The numbers speak for themselves," Oakland manager Bob Melvin said. "He's tough to follow around when you're a hitter. And, on top of that, he's quite a competitor."
July 21 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Gray allowed two runs - one earned - over 6 2-3 innings to beat Baltimore 10-2 on Sunday.
Analysis: Gray is 5-0 with a 2.23 ERA in his last six starts.
July 14 11:50 AM PT12:50 PM MT1:50 PM CT2:50 PM ET14:50 ET18:50 GMT2:50 11:50 AM MST1:50 PM EST2:20 PM VEN22:50 UAE1:50 PM CT-Gray allowed an unearned run, walked two and struck out five over 7 2/3 innings for his 10th win Sunday.
Analysis: Gray has won three straight starts and the A's have won his last five outings. He faces the O's in his next outing.
July 9 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Gray won his third straight decision in Tuesday's 6-1 victory over San Francisco, limiting the Giants to a run and six hits over seven innings.
Analysis: Gray is 3-0 with a 3.12 ERA over his last four starts even despite giving up five runs in one of those outings.
July 4 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Gray allowed four hits over seven innings to bounce back from his worst start of the season and the Oakland Athletics beat the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1 on Thursday night.
Analysis: Gray (8-3, 3.08 ERA) walked three, struck out five and got some help from Oakland's defense which turned three double plays, including one in the eighth after Josh Thole's leadoff single. Gray was tagged for five runs in five innings against Miami on June 28.
May 23 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Gray did not factor in the decision Thursday, but allowed one run and five hits over eight innings in a 5-2, 11-inning loss at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Gray is 2-0 with a 1.75 ERA in his last five starts.
May 17 12:15 PM PT1:15 PM MT2:15 PM CT3:15 PM ET15:15 ET19:15 GMT3:15 12:15 PM MST2:15 PM EST2:45 PM VEN23:15 UAE2:15 PM CT-Gray allowed one run and two hits with nine strikeouts over six innings in an 11-1 win at Cleveland on Friday.
Analysis: Gray improved to 5-1 with a 2.10 ERA in nine starts this season.
May 11 9:28 AM PT10:28 AM MT11:28 AM CT12:28 PM ET12:28 ET16:28 GMT0:28 9:28 AM MST11:28 AM EST11:58 AM VEN20:28 UAE11:28 AM CT-Gray, the AL pitcher of the month in April, struck out three and walked two Saturday. He allowed six hits over seven innings and gave up all of Washington's runs in the third.
Analysis: Gray faces the Tribe in his next start.
Apr. 29 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Gray improved to 4-1 on Monday with his first career shutout against Texas.
Analysis: Gray yielded just three hits while striking out six and issuing one walk. He's thrown at least six innings in all six starts and owns a 1.76 ERA.
Apr. 24 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Gray suffered his first loss of the season on Wednesday against Texas.
Analysis: Gray was still solid, allowing three runs and five hits over seven innings while striking out eight. He owns a 2.25 ERA through five starts.
Apr. 19 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Gray won his third straight start on Friday after allowing three earned runs and nine hits over six innings against Houston.
Analysis: It wasn't a dominant outing for Gray, but it was more than serviceable for owners. The right-hander is 3-0 with a 1.80 ERA in four starts.
Apr. 13 11:00 AM PT12:00 PM MT1:00 PM CT2:00 PM ET14:00 ET18:00 GMT2:00 11:00 AM MST1:00 PM EST1:30 PM VEN22:00 UAE1:00 PM CT-Gray overcame a shaky beginning to shut down Seattle for seven innings, giving up one run and matching his career high with nine strikeouts in the Athletics' 3-1 win over the Mariners on Saturday night.
Analysis: The young right-hander has allowed only two earned runs in three starts this season and earned his second win in a week against Seattle. He is a fantasy star who is showing no signs of slowing down.
Apr. 7 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Gray picked up his first win of the season in a 6-3 victory over Seattle on Sunday.
Analysis: Gray allowed one earned run and six hits, struck out three and walked two in six innings. He's 1-0 with a 0.75 ERA in his first two starts.
Apr. 1 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Gray allowed six hits over five shutout innings but didn't record a decision Monday against Cleveland.
Analysis: Entering the season with high expectations - particularly in fantasy circles - Gray looked solid on Monday, striking out seven.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Oak 5 3 0 - 0 12 10 0 64.0 51 22 19 4 20 0 67 1.11 2.67
2014 Oak 12 3 0 - 0 21 21 1 139.0 115 45 41 7 49 2 121 1.18 2.65
Career 17 6 0 - 0 33 31 1 203.0 166 67 60 11 69 2 188 1.16 2.66

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Oak 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Oak Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1179 96 85 92.9 55.53
Curveball 596 85 74 81.2 28.07
Slider 154 89 82 86.7 7.25
Changeup 177 90 81 85.8 8.34
Cut Fastball 17 93 90 91.8 .8

126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.