MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Masahiro Tanaka
3.51 12-7 139
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-2 / 210 NFBC ADP: 129.38
Position: SPBorn: 11/1/1988 Birthplace: Itami, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2014)

Latest News
Sep. 25 4:00 PM PT5:00 PM MT6:00 PM CT7:00 PM ET19:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 PM MST6:00 PM EST6:30 PM VEN3:00 UAE (+1)6:00 PM CT-Tanaka threw 31 pitches in a bullpen session Friday, and the New York Yankees right-hander said he thinks he can return to the rotation this season despite a strained right hamstring. Speaking through a translator, Tanaka said he was able to throw all his pitches with force and his hamstring is getting better each day - though he has not attempted any fielding drills yet.
Analysis: Tanaka and manager Joe Girardi both said they must wait to see how the pitcher feels Saturday before determining when he might start again. Girardi said he would like to slot in Tanaka against Boston early next week. New York scratched Tanaka from his scheduled start Wednesday in Toronto. He got hurt running to first base after bunting last Friday in an interleague game against the Mets at Citi Field.
Sep. 21 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Tanaka, who has a strained right hamstring, did conditioning drills and played catch at Yankee Stadium on Monday.
Analysis: New York hopes he can return next week after missing Wednesday's scheduled start against the AL East-leading Blue Jays. Ivan Nova will start in Tanaka's place against Toronto.
Sep. 19 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Tanaka lost to the hated Mets on Friday.
Analysis: Tanaka gave up two runs and five hits in six innings, and left after throwing only 82 pitches. He should be good to go in Canada against the Blue Jays next.
Sep. 16 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Tanaka will start for the New York Yankees on Friday night in the opener of a three-game series at the crosstown Mets. Yankees manager Joe Girardi announced his rotation before Wednesday night's game at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Tanaka will start opposite Steven Matz. Saturday's game features the Yankees' Michael Pineda and Noah Syndergaard, and Sunday's finale has CC Sabathia going against Mets ace Matt Harveyl.
Sep. 14 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Tanaka had a second straight dominant start Sunday, yielding four hits across seven scoreless innings to lead the Yankees to a crucial win over Toronto.
Analysis: Tanaka's now 3-0 over his last four starts and allowed one run in 15 innings in his last two. He struck out 10 in a no decision Tuesday against Baltimore.
Sep. 3 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Tanaka pitched into the seventh inning on Wednesday.
Analysis: Tanaka was charged with four runs and also mixed in a wild pitch in his third straight road win.
Aug. 29 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Tanaka moved to 10-6 on Friday.
Analysis: Tanaka allowed three runs and five hits in seven innings as the Yanks put up 15 runs to support him.
July 13 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Tanaka will get the start for the Yankees in Friday's home matchup with Seattle in the first game after the All-Star break.
Analysis: Tanaka is 3-2 with a 3.83 ERA in seven starts after returning from a strained right forearm. He's won both of his starts against the Mariners, allowing three runs with 20 strikeouts in 16 innings.
July 4 11:46 AM PT12:46 PM MT1:46 PM CT2:46 PM ET14:46 ET18:46 GMT2:46 11:46 AM MST1:46 PM EST2:16 PM VEN22:46 UAE1:46 PM CT-Tanaka did not surrender a jack Friday.
Analysis: Tanaka allowed three runs and six hits in six innings and no homers after allowing six homers in his previous two outings.
June 28 10:58 AM PT11:58 AM MT12:58 PM CT1:58 PM ET13:58 ET17:58 GMT1:58 10:58 AM MST12:58 PM EST1:28 PM VEN21:58 UAE12:58 PM CT-Tanaka had more gopher-ball issues Saturday.
Analysis: Tanaka served up three homers for the second straight outing and allowed six runs in five innings. You don't need to be a Japanese translator to know that the right-hander is enduring some struggles.
June 22 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Tanaka was rocked by Detroit on Sunday.
Analysis: Tanaka gave up a career high-tying 10 hits and seven runs in five innings in his second straight loss. He fell to 2-2 since his return from the disabled list on June 3.
June 16 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Tanaka was outdueled by the Miami Marlins' Tom Koehler in a 2-1 loss Monday night.
Analysis: Tanaka (4-2, 2.49 ERA) gave up two runs in seven innings while ending a string of four winning decisions. He allowed two runs in 14 innings in his first two starts back from the disabled list.
June 10 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Tanaka won his second straight start Tuesday, limiting Washington to one run on a homer over seven innings in a 6-1 victory.
Analysis: Tanaka has been excellent when he's been on the field this year, going 4-1 with a 2.48 ERA.
Apr. 28 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Tanaka gave up one run over seven innings in his return from the disabled list and the New York Yankees completed a three-game sweep of Seattle Mariners with a 3-1 victory Wednesday. He also struck out a season-high nine and had zero walks, going to a three-ball count against only two batters.
Analysis: Tanaka (3-1, 2.76 ERA) had not pitched in the majors since April 23 when he went 6 1-3 innings against Detroit and allowed one earned run in a no-decision. He went to the disabled list five days later with wrist tendinitis and a forearm strain.
Apr. 19 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Tanaka was excellent Saturday in his win over Tampa Bay.
Analysis: He pitched seven scoreless innings - with just 85 pitches - while allowing only two hits and striking out eight.
Apr. 13 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Tanaka got the win Sunday against Boston, though he labored at times, needing 97 piches to get through five innings while giving up three earned runs and four hits.
Analysis: Tanaka has used 179 pitches to throw nine innings in two starts.
Apr. 7 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Tanaka was beaten Monday by the Jays.
Analysis: The Japanese sensation made Toronto look silly with a heavy mix of sliders and splitters for the first two innings, striking out three, before the Blue Jays solved him. He gave up five runs in the third and was yanked after the fourth.
Mar. 27 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)2:33 PM CT-Tanaka will start New York's opener April 6 against Toronto. Manager Joe Girardi made the expected announcement on Friday.
Analysis: Tanaka was an All-Star last year during his first season in the majors, but the Japanese right-hander missed 2 1/2 months while rehabilitating a partially torn ligament in his elbow. He returned for two starts in late September.
Mar. 24 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Tanaka is lined up to start the Yankees' opener against Toronto on April 6, which would end CC Sabathia's streak of six straight opening-day starts for New York.
Analysis: Yankees manager Joe Girardi says Sabathia's next exhibition start is Saturday, which lines up the 34-year old left-hander to face the Blue Jays on April 8. Sabathia is coming back from season-ending knee surgery in July. He has 11 opening-days starts overall. Tanaka is starting his second season with New York.
Feb. 22 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)2:43 PM CT-Tanaka looked sharp in his first simulated game. The right-hander threw 23 of 29 pitches for strikes Saturday in the session broken down into two innings. The Japanese ace faced nine batters, giving up one single and striking out one. Tanaka could be ready to make his first exhibition start within a week.
Analysis: Tanaka missed 2 1/2 months last season with a partially torn ulnar collateral ligament in his right elbow. He returned for two starts in late September, and Boston chased him with an eight-run second inning in his final outing.
Feb. 18 12:44 PM PT1:44 PM MT2:44 PM CT3:44 PM ET15:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)2:44 PM CT-Tanaka says his elbow injury from last season is behind him and expects to pitch this year problem free.
Analysis: Tanaka missed 2 1/2 months last year while rehabilitating a partially torn ulnar collateral ligament in his right elbow. He returned for two late-September starts. Tanaka threw 21 pitches in his first bullpen session Thursday and plans to be back on a mound Sunday.
Feb. 16 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Tanaka is set to start workouts ahead of spring training.
Analysis: Yankees pitching coach Larry Rothschild said Tanaka was scheduled to arrive in Florida on Monday night from Japan. Tanaka missed 2 1/2 months last year while rehabilitating a partially torn ulnar collateral ligament in his right elbow. He returned for two late-September starts.
Feb. 9 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Yankees pitching coach Larry Rothschild says offseason reports on Masahiro Tanaka's right elbow have been positive.
Analysis: Tanaka is throwing and doing his normal conditioning program in Japan. Signed to a $155 million, seven-year contract in January 2014, Tanaka went 13-5 with a .277 ERA over 20 starts. He missed 2 1/2 months while rehabilitating a partially torn ulnar collateral ligament in the elbow and returned for two late September starts. Boston chased him with an eight-run second inning in his finale on Sept. 27.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
2014 NYY 13 5 0 - 0 20 20 3 136.1 123 47 42 15 21 0 141 1.06 2.77
2015 NYY 12 7 0 - 0 24 24 1 154.0 126 66 60 25 27 0 139 0.99 3.51
Career 25 12 0 - 0 44 44 4 290.1 249 113 102 40 48 0 280 1.02 3.16

Hitting Statistics
2014 NYY 20 9 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2015 NYY 24 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .125 .000
Career 44 16 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 7 0 0 .063 .118 .063

Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 700 96 87 91.9 30.58
Curveball 168 81 72 76.7 7.34
Slider 529 90 79 84 23.11
Changeup 34 88 83 84.6 1.49
Split-Finger 615 92 84 87.9 26.87
Cut Fastball 243 92 85 89.4 10.62

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.