MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#61
Shane Greene
ERA S K
2.44 3 56
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-4 / 210 NFBC ADP: 677.04
Position: RPBorn: 11/17/1988 Birthplace: Clermont, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 15th Round by Yankees (2009)


Latest News
Aug. 12 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Shane Greene improved to 3-2, allowing two hits and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 12-11 on Saturday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 2.44 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)10:43 PM CT-Shane Greene allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-0 on Wednesday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 2.49 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 7:21 AM PT8:21 AM MT9:21 AM CT10:21 AM ET10:21 ET14:21 GMT22:21 7:21 AM MST9:21 AM EST9:51 AM VEN18:21 UAE9:21 AM CT-Shane Greene recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-5 on Thursday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.54 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 6:07 PM PT7:07 PM MT8:07 PM CT9:07 PM ET21:07 ET1:07 GMT9:07 6:07 PM MST8:07 PM EST8:37 PM VEN5:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Shane Greene recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 2-0 on Wednesday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 2.59 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Greene pitched a perfect ninth for his second save in two nights since taking over as the Tigers' closer following the trade of Justin Wilson to the Chicago Cubs.
Aug. 1 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Shane Greene recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits and two walks in 1.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 4-3 on Tuesday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 2.64 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Greene has pitched 12 1/3 scoreless innings over his last 14 appearances, allowing just five hits with 13 strikeouts.
July 29 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Houston Astros 5-3 on Saturday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 29 9:28 PM PT10:28 PM MT11:28 PM CT12:28 AM ET0:28 ET4:28 GMT12:28 9:28 PM MST11:28 PM EST11:58 PM VEN8:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 6-5 on Friday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 23 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 9-6 on Sunday. Greene struck out three, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 22 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Friday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 19 9:14 AM PT10:14 AM MT11:14 AM CT12:14 PM ET12:14 ET16:14 GMT0:14 9:14 AM MST11:14 AM EST11:44 AM VEN20:14 UAE11:14 AM CT-Shane Greene walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 9-3 on Tuesday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 2.93 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 17 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Sunday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 14 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-2 on Friday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 10 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Shane Greene walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-3 on Sunday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Greene has inherited 34 baserunners, and only four have scored. He entered with two on and no outs in the seventh inning Sunday and didn't let a runner come home. Greene's 12.5 percent inherited-runners-scored percentage leads the American League.
July 8 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-0 on Saturday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 6 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-2 on Thursday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 5 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Wednesday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 2 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 11-8 on Sunday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 25 8:30 AM PT9:30 AM MT10:30 AM CT11:30 AM ET11:30 ET15:30 GMT23:30 8:30 AM MST10:30 AM EST11:00 AM VEN19:30 UAE10:30 AM CT-Shane Greene fell to 1-2, allowing four runs on two hits and two walks in 0.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the San Diego Padres 7-3 on Saturday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Shane Greene fell to 1-1, allowing four runs on three hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-5 on Wednesday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Greene entered Wednesday's matchup having allowed four runs total over his previous 26 appearances, a span of 27 innings. This outing aside, the right-hander has generally been a reliable performer out of the Tigers' bullpen.
June 21 8:14 AM PT9:14 AM MT10:14 AM CT11:14 AM ET11:14 ET15:14 GMT23:14 8:14 AM MST10:14 AM EST10:44 AM VEN19:14 UAE10:14 AM CT-Shane Greene walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Tuesday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
June 15 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Shane Greene walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-1 on Wednesday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 1.76 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 12 9:04 AM PT10:04 AM MT11:04 AM CT12:04 PM ET12:04 ET16:04 GMT0:04 9:04 AM MST11:04 AM EST11:34 AM VEN20:04 UAE11:04 AM CT-Shane Greene allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-3 on Sunday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 1.82 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 8 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 11-4 on Thursday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.63 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Wednesday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 1.82 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 30 9:15 AM PT10:15 AM MT11:15 AM CT12:15 PM ET12:15 ET16:15 GMT0:15 9:15 AM MST11:15 AM EST11:45 AM VEN20:15 UAE11:15 AM CT-Shane Greene allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-7 on Monday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.85 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:06 AM PT8:06 AM MT9:06 AM CT10:06 AM ET10:06 ET14:06 GMT22:06 7:06 AM MST9:06 AM EST9:36 AM VEN18:06 UAE9:06 AM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Saturday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 25 9:55 AM PT10:55 AM MT11:55 AM CT12:55 PM ET12:55 ET16:55 GMT0:55 9:55 AM MST11:55 AM EST12:25 PM VEN20:55 UAE11:55 AM CT-Shane Greene improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Houston Astros 6-3 on Wednesday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 1.19 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 23 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 1-0 on Monday. Greene struck out three, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 22 6:58 AM PT7:58 AM MT8:58 AM CT9:58 AM ET9:58 ET13:58 GMT21:58 6:58 AM MST8:58 AM EST9:28 AM VEN17:58 UAE8:58 AM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 5-2 on Sunday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 18 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Thursday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 1.40 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 15 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Shane Greene did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-1 on Sunday. Greene did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.72 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 14 9:57 AM PT10:57 AM MT11:57 AM CT12:57 PM ET12:57 ET16:57 GMT0:57 9:57 AM MST11:57 AM EST12:27 PM VEN20:57 UAE11:57 AM CT-Shane Greene blew his first save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Saturday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 1.76 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
May 12 6:41 AM PT7:41 AM MT8:41 AM CT9:41 AM ET9:41 ET13:41 GMT21:41 6:41 AM MST8:41 AM EST9:11 AM VEN17:41 UAE8:41 AM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-1 on Thursday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 10 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Shane Greene walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3 on Tuesday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 1.38 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:02 AM PT8:02 AM MT9:02 AM CT10:02 AM ET10:02 ET14:02 GMT22:02 7:02 AM MST9:02 AM EST9:32 AM VEN18:02 UAE9:02 AM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-6 on Sunday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 6 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Shane Greene allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-2 on Friday. Greene struck out one, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Shane Greene walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-3 on Sunday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Shane Greene allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-4 on Saturday. Greene struck out two, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 NYY 5 4 0 - 0 15 14 0 78.2 81 38 33 8 29 0 81 1.40 3.78
2015 Det 4 8 0 - 0 18 16 0 83.2 103 67 64 13 27 4 50 1.55 6.88
2016 Det 5 4 2 - 3 50 3 0 60.1 58 39 39 3 22 1 59 1.33 5.82
2017 Det 3 2 3 - 6 55 0 0 51.2 35 14 14 3 28 3 56 1.22 2.44
Career 17 18 5 - 9 138 33 0 274.1 277 158 150 27 106 8 246 1.40 4.92

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Det 18 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Det 50 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 138 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 467 98 91 95 56.33
Curveball 18 81 78 80.1 2.17
Slider 230 87 79 82.7 27.74
Cut Fastball 114 92 86 89.1 13.75

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.