MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#20
Steven Souza Jr.
AVG HR RBI
.247 17 49
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225 NFBC ADP: 267.80
Position: RFBorn: 4/24/1989 Birthplace: Everett, Washington
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Nationals (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 18 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Souza had season-ending surgery on his left hip Tuesday. He missed a month earlier in the season with the injury.
Analysis: Souza hit .247 with 17 homers and 49 RBIs in 120 games this year.
Sep. 16 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE12:18 AM CT-Souza stayed hot by going 3 for 4 with an RBI in Thursday's win at Baltimore.
Analysis: The outfielder has had quite a week, as he's batting .393 with four homers and six RBIs over his past eight games.
Sep. 13 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Souza had an interesting game Tuesday in a 6-2 win in Toronto, going 1 for 1 with a homer, three walks and three runs.
Analysis: Souza is 7 for 19 with four homers, five RBIs and six walks in his last six games.
Sep. 10 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Souza has had a good couple of days in the Bronx, homering for the second straight game Friday in a 7-5 loss.
Analysis: Souza is 5 for 8 with three homers, four RBIs and four runs in the first two games of the four-game series. He has six home runs in 13 career games at Yankee Stadium.
Sep. 8 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Souza went deep twice for his third multi-homer game this season and had three RBIs Thursday in a 5-4 loss to the Yankees.
Analysis: That must've felt good for Souza, who entered the day in a 2-for-21 slide with nine strikeouts.
Sep. 3 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Souza Jr., who has struck out 144 times in 105 games, was out of the Rays' lineup for the fourth time in five games Saturday. "We have an opportunity here this last month to see some guys play," manager Kevin Cash said.
Analysis: Souza is in a 3-for-27 skid with 13 strikeouts and is batting .235.
Aug. 9 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Souza had two hits, drove in a run and scored Tuesday.
Analysis: He's batting .370 with a homer and four RBIs in his last seven games.
Aug. 3 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Souza shined in Wednesday's rout of the Royals as he went 3 for 5 with his 11th home run and three RBIs.
Analysis: Souza, however, has been a disappointment for the most part. He was hitting .198 without a home run in his previous 23 games since coming off the disabled list July 2.
July 31 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Souza got back on track Sunday when he had two doubles in a 5-3 win over the Yankees.
Analysis: Souza had been in a slump with just two hits in 22 at-bats while striking out 10 times over his previous seven contests.
July 16 5:56 PM PT6:56 PM MT7:56 PM CT8:56 PM ET20:56 ET0:56 GMT8:56 5:56 PM MST7:56 PM EST8:26 PM VEN4:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Souza had two hits and drove in the Rays' lone run in Saturday's 2-1 loss to Baltimore.
Analysis: He was 0 for 16 with eight strikeouts in his previous four contests.
July 6 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Souza was in the starting lineup one day after being pulled Tuesday night for not running hard out of the batter's box in what turned into a triple after his routine fly ball dropped between two Los Angeles outfielders.
Analysis: "It was over the second the game was over," Rays manager Kevin Cash said. Souza admitted his mistake. "I was really impressed with the way he handled it," Cash said. "He owned it. He had a lapse. We all have lapses. We'll look to move past it now."
July 6 10:20 AM PT11:20 AM MT12:20 PM CT1:20 PM ET13:20 ET17:20 GMT1:20 10:20 AM MST12:20 PM EST12:50 PM VEN21:20 UAE12:20 PM CT-Souza went 2 for 2 with an RBI and a steal Tuesday, but he was pulled from the game shortly after he tripled and scored in the fourth inning.
Analysis: Souza says he was removed by manager Kevin Cash for not running hard the whole play, saying "it's a bit embarrassing." Souza is 5 for 12 in four games since being sidelined by a strained hip.
July 4 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Souza went 2 for 4 with an RBI on Monday.
Analysis: Souza may be getting his timing back after missing 17 games with a hip injury. He went 1 for 7 with three strikeouts in his first two games back before Monday's performance.
June 14 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Souza Jr. returned Saturday after missing 17 games due to a strained left hip and went 1 for 3.
Analysis: Souza was picked off first base by Verlander after a second-inning infield single.
May 24 10:29 AM PT11:29 AM MT12:29 PM CT1:29 PM ET13:29 ET17:29 GMT1:29 10:29 AM MST12:29 PM EST12:59 PM VEN21:29 UAE12:29 PM CT-Souza had three hits and drove in a run in a 7-6 loss to Miami on Monday.
Analysis: Souza is batting .350 in his last 10 games and has raised his average to .279.
May 17 8:16 AM PT9:16 AM MT10:16 AM CT11:16 AM ET11:16 ET15:16 GMT23:16 8:16 AM MST10:16 AM EST10:46 AM VEN19:16 UAE10:16 AM CT-Souza had three hits, including an RBI single, in Monday's 13-2 win at Toronto.
Analysis: The Tampa outfielder has been swinging the bat well of late, registering a .317 average with three home runs over an 11-game stretch.
Apr. 25 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Souza had a two-run homer and a solo shot in Sunday's win over the Yankees.
Analysis: Souza's five home runs are tied for the team lead and he's 5 for 12 with five RBIs over a three-game tear.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Was 21 23 2 3 0 0 2 2 3 7 0 0 .130 .231 .391
2015 TB 110 373 59 84 15 1 16 40 46 144 12 6 .225 .318 .399
2016 TB 120 430 58 106 17 1 17 49 31 159 7 6 .247 .303 .409
Career 251 826 119 193 32 2 35 91 80 310 19 12 .234 .308 .404


w10 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.