MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#46
Tyler Matzek
ERA W-L K
4.05 6-11 91
Team: ColoradoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 557.40
Position: SPBorn: 10/19/1990 Birthplace: Mission Viejo, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Rockies (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 23 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Matzek gave up one run in six innings and fanned eight, but took a 1-0 defeat in San Diego on Monday night.
Analysis: Matzek (6-11, 4.05 ERA) is 4-2 with a 1.55 ERA in his last six starts. He's received zero runs of support in the two losses.
Sep. 6 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Matzek put together another strong outing Friday, allowing three hits in a complete-game 3-0 win over San Diego.
Analysis: The left-hander is 3-0 with an 0.78 ERA in his last three starts.
Aug. 31 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE2:33 PM CT-Matzek appears to have turned things around. He allowed three hits over seven innings in a 2-0 win at Arizona on Saturday.
Analysis: The left-hander has won his last two starts after losing five in a row.
Aug. 26 10:34 AM PT11:34 AM MT12:34 PM CT1:34 PM ET13:34 ET17:34 GMT1:34 10:34 AM MST12:34 PM EST1:04 PM VEN21:34 UAE12:34 PM CT-Matzek ended his lengthy losing streak Monday, allowing two runs with seven strikeouts over seven innings in a 3-2 win over San Francisco.
Analysis: The left-hander had been 0-5 with an 8.06 ERA over his previous five starts.
Aug. 3 10:06 AM PT11:06 AM MT12:06 PM CT1:06 PM ET13:06 ET17:06 GMT1:06 10:06 AM MST12:06 PM EST12:36 PM VEN21:06 UAE12:06 PM CT-Matzek gave up a career-high eight runs in Saturday night's 11-5 loss to Detroit.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander was also charged with 10 hits and two walks in his four-plus innings. Matzek (2-6, 5.31 ERA) was 1-2 with a 3.86 ERA in his prior six starts.
July 21 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Matzek did not get a decision Sunday.
Analysis: Matzek allowed three runs, seven hits and three walks in six innings. The rookie struck out a career-high eight. "Tyler did a great job," manager Walt Weiss said. He faces the Bucs again next weekend.
June 23 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Matzek was roughed up in the second before setting down 11 straight Sunday. He gave up five runs over five innings.
Analysis: Matzek will get a chance to watch the film and make adjustments before he faces the Brewers again next weekend.
June 11 4:20 PM PT5:20 PM MT6:20 PM CT7:20 PM ET19:20 ET23:20 GMT7:20 4:20 PM MST6:20 PM EST6:50 PM VEN3:20 UAE (+1)6:20 PM CT-The Colorado Rockies have recalled left-hander Tyler Matzek from Triple-A Colorado Springs and optioned right-hander Chad Bettis to the Sky Sox. Matzek will start Wednesday's game against Atlanta in his major league debut.
Analysis: Matzek is the fifth Rockies pitcher to make his major league debut this season and the third in a six-day span. Eddie Butler started Friday's game against the Dodgers and Christian Bergman made his debut in Monday's series opener against the Braves. Matzek, the 11th pick in the 2009 draft, was 5-4 with a 4.05 ERA in 12 starts for Colorado Springs this year.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Col 6 11 0 - 0 20 19 1 117.2 120 53 53 9 44 1 91 1.39 4.05
Career 6 11 0 - 0 20 19 1 117.2 120 53 53 9 44 1 91 1.39 4.05

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Col 21 38 2 7 1 0 0 0 2 13 0 0 .184 .225 .211
Career 21 38 2 7 1 0 0 0 2 13 0 0 .184 .225 .211

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 974 96 87 92.7 55.34
Curveball 94 83 74 79.6 5.34
Slider 501 87 81 83.4 28.47
Changeup 191 91 85 88.6 10.85

w10 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.