MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#54
Roberto Osuna
ERA S K
2.57 18 31
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 230
Position: RPBorn: 2/7/1995 Birthplace: Juan Jose Rios, Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Blue Jays (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 22 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 10-5 on Saturday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST3:22 PM CST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 18th save, allowing one run on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4 on Sunday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 17th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Tuesday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET20:54 ET0:54 GMT8:54 5:54 PM MST7:54 PM EST6:54 PM CST8:24 PM VEN4:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 16th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Monday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.51 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST5:48 PM CST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 15th save, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Saturday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.59 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 14th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Boston Red Sox 6-3 on Friday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Minnesota Twins 5-2 on Tuesday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST9:51 PM CST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-2 on Sunday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.54 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-3 on Saturday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST3:40 PM CST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Roberto Osuna improved to 2-2, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Wednesday. Osuna struck out three, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Roberto Osuna fell to 1-2, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Tuesday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 3-1 on Sunday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.59 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 9:36 PM PT10:36 PM MT11:36 PM CT12:36 AM ET0:36 ET4:36 GMT12:36 9:36 PM MST11:36 PM EST10:36 PM CST12:06 AM VEN8:36 UAE11:36 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 8-3 on Saturday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST5:31 PM CST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Seattle Mariners 10-7 on Wednesday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST11:10 PM CST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE12:10 AM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Seattle Mariners 3-2 on Tuesday. Osuna struck out three, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 10:44 PM PT11:44 PM MT12:44 AM CT1:44 AM ET1:44 ET5:44 GMT13:44 10:44 PM MST12:44 AM EST11:44 PM CST1:14 AM VEN9:44 UAE12:44 AM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Friday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST3:24 PM CST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Roberto Osuna fell to 1-1, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Sunday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-2 on Saturday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros lost to the Seattle Mariners 8-6 on Thursday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST10:44 PM CST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE11:44 PM CT-Roberto Osuna improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Monday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 30 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST4:12 PM CST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Osuna, who's still serving a suspension for a domestic violence incident, has been traded to the Astros for reliever Ken Giles, pitcher David Paulino and minor league hurler Hector Perez.
Analysis: Osuna presumably will take over as the Astros' closer once his 75-game suspension ends Thursday, and he will be eligible for the postseason. Though the 2017 All-Star does carry some risk due to his legal situation, he should give Houston an upgrade in the ninth inning if he pitches to his past form. For his career, he's recorded 104 saves in 124 chances while posting a 2.87 ERA, 0.92 WHIP and 10.2 strikeouts per nine innings over four seasons.
May 8 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST12:47 PM CST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Baseball does not have a problem with Toronto Blue Jays closer Roberto Osuna returning from a domestic violence suspension while a legal charge could remain pending. Osuna agreed to a suspension through Aug. 4 under baseball's domestic violence policy. He has not pitched since May 6, two days before he was put on administrative leave when he was charged with one count of assault in Toronto.
Analysis: Osuna will wind up missing 89 days, which will cost him about $2.54 million of his $5.3 million salary. He will participate in a confidential and comprehensive evaluation and treatment program supervised by the joint policy board of MLB and the players' association. He made his second minor league appearance Tuesday, striking out one in a scoreless inning for Class A Dunedin against Florida in the Florida State League.
May 6 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST2:10 PM CST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Sunday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.93 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 3 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST5:53 PM CST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cleveland Indians 13-11 on Thursday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Minnesota Twins 7-4 on Tuesday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.03 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Minnesota Twins 7-5 on Monday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.19 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 7-4 on Saturday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Roberto Osuna blew his first save, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Tuesday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 8-5 on Friday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.43 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-4 on Tuesday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.36 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cleveland Indians 8-4 on Friday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 2-1 on Tuesday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST4:31 PM CST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Texas Rangers 7-4 on Sunday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST9:53 PM CST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his third save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Texas Rangers 8-5 on Friday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-2 on Monday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 5-3 on Saturday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 4-2 on Friday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 1 6 20 - 23 68 0 0 69.2 48 21 20 7 16 2 75 0.92 2.58
2016 Tor 4 3 36 - 42 72 0 0 74.0 55 23 22 9 14 4 82 0.93 2.68
2017 Tor 3 4 39 - 49 66 0 0 64.0 46 26 24 3 9 0 83 0.86 3.38
2018 Tor 0 0 9 - 10 15 0 0 15.1 16 5 5 0 1 0 13 1.11 2.93
2018 Hou 2 2 9 - 9 20 0 0 19.2 15 5 5 1 3 0 18 0.92 2.29
2018 Tot 2 2 18 - 19 35 0 0 35.0 31 10 10 1 4 0 31 1.00 2.57
Career 10 15 113 - 133 241 0 0 242.2 180 80 76 20 43 6 271 0.92 2.82


Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 Tor Total 0 1 1 - 1 7 0 0 8.1 3 2 2 1 1 0 6 2.16
    LDS 0 0 1 - 1 4 0 0 5.2 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 6.75
2016 Tor Total 1 0 1 - 1 7 0 0 9.0 4 0 0 0 0 0 10 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 1 0 1 - 1 2 0 0 3.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 3 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
Career 1 1 2 - 2 14 0 0 17.1 7 2 2 1 1 0 16 1.04


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 274 98 92 95.2 56.49
Slider 63 90 82 86.4 12.99
Changeup 48 85 80 83.1 9.9
Cut Fastball 100 93 88 90.5 20.62

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.