MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#65
James Paxton
ERA W-L K
6.64 1-1 26
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-4 / 227
Position: SPBorn: 11/6/1988 Birthplace: Ladner, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Mariners (2010)


Latest News
Aug. 20 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-An MRI on Paxton's left arm revealed a flexor strain, according to MLB Network. The Yankees hurler exited Thursday's start against the Rays after five innings due to elbow and forearm discomfort.
Analysis: While it's good news that Paxton isn't dealing with any ligament damage, he's still likely looking at a multi-week absence. The left-hander has a 6.64 ERA so far this season but pitched pretty well Thursday, allowing three runs on just one hit while walking four and striking out eight.
Aug. 15 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 11-5 on Saturday. Paxton struck out two, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-James Paxton allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 6.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Sunday. Paxton struck out 11, ending the game with a 7.84 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
July 25 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees lost to the Washington Nationals 9-2 on Saturday. Paxton struck out one, ending the game with a 27.00 ERA and 6.00 WHIP on the season.
Feb. 5 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST4:03 PM CST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Paxton (back surgery) will start the Yankees' second game of the season.
Analysis: Paxton left his final 2019 regular-season start, at Texas on Sept. 27, after one inning with what the Yankees said was a tight left glute muscle. That ended Paxton's career-best streak of victories in 10 consecutive starts. He was 1-0 with a 3.46 ERA in three postseason starts, allowing five runs in 13 innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Sea 3 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 24.0 15 5 4 2 7 2 21 0.92 1.50
2014 Sea 6 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 74.0 60 29 25 3 29 2 59 1.20 3.04
2015 Sea 3 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 67.0 67 34 29 8 29 1 56 1.43 3.90
2016 Sea 6 7 0 - 0 20 20 0 121.0 134 62 51 9 24 3 117 1.31 3.79
2017 Sea 12 5 0 - 0 24 24 0 136.0 113 47 45 9 37 1 156 1.10 2.98
2018 Sea 11 6 0 - 0 28 28 2 160.1 134 67 67 23 42 0 208 1.10 3.76
2019 NYY 15 6 0 - 0 29 29 0 150.2 138 71 64 23 55 0 186 1.28 3.82
2020 NYY 1 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 20.1 23 17 15 4 7 0 26 1.48 6.64
Career 57 33 0 - 0 136 136 2 753.1 684 332 300 81 230 9 829 1.21 3.58

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Sea 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2014 Sea 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Sea 13 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Sea 20 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2019 NYY 29 5 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 136 12 1 0 0 0 0 1 2 12 0 0 .000 .143 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2019 NYY Total 2 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 26.0 26 10 10 4 14 0 40 3.37
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 5 3 3 2 1 0 8 5.79
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 8 2 2 0 6 0 12 2.16
Career 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 13.0 13 5 5 2 7 0 20 3.46


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 202 95 89 92.1 56.74
Curveball 56 82 76 79.8 15.73
Slider 53 88 84 85.4 14.89
Changeup 45 84 79 82.1 12.64

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.